We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Class Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We just spent 4 nights at this incredible boutique hotel. If you want to be treated like royalty and stay in a beautiful palace...this is the place for you. The owner Matteo and his staff make you feel like you are staying in their own home. They call you by name and make you feel so welcome. Enjoy a Spritz on the terrace. The view is to die for.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

469 - 475 of 1,320 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

We spent two amazing nights here, July 2nd & 3rd, and loved every second. The hotel is located perfectly on the Grand Canal and right next to the Rialto Bridge. The personal attention from Matteo and his staff was the best we ever experienced. They truly make you feel like part of the family. Breakfast every morning on the terrace overlooking the Grand Canal is a great start to each day. Pictures do not do the location of this hotel justice. We can't say enough about the hospitality given by Matteo and staff!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tina_BP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

What can we say... Matteo, Alex, Oliver, Tomas - thank you! Amazing hotel in the best location. On checking in, were taken to the private terrace overlooking the Grand Canal for some gorgeous local wine. We felt like royalty as people in gondalas stared up at us, wishing they were there!
Our room was stunning and huge, brilliant air con (which was very much appreciated). Breakfast was amazing, with Matteo the owner whipping up fresh eggs and pancakes each morning, along with a plentiful, local buffet.
Recommendations for restaurants were given with detailed directions and we enjoyed them thoroughly! Coming back each night, Tomas was funny and happily poured us late night drinks on the terrace while cracking jokes.

We cannot wait to come and stay here again!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kate858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We unfortunately stayed only one night (22 June; pre-cruise) and wished we had been there much longer. We booked a deluxe room which was located on the first floor (reception is on floor zero) next to the terrace. The room has two windows facing the Grand Canal, and was just as depicted in the photos on the hotel's website. The room and the entire hotel was spotlessly clean, and all furniture was in excellent condition. We found the bed to be firm but very comfortable. The air conditioning worked very well on a very hot and humid day. Although we arrived at approximately 7 PM on a Sunday, we were met by the very proud (and deservedly so) owner (Matteo), who introduced us to his friendly and helpful staff, and he personally provided a tour of the hotel and our room. The next morning Matteo made breakfast, which also included a large buffet with many different selections available. There is no better setting than breakfast and drinks on the hotel's terrace, with a spectacular view of the canal and the Rialto Bridge. This was our 5th stay in Venice, and in the past we have stayed at some of Venice's top 5-star hotels . In the future, we'll always stay here.

Room Tip: The deluxe room was exceptional with wonderful views of the grand canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ted047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Yes, the staff is wonderful, clearly proud of the boutique hotel they have created from a grand palace. It would not be as spectacular a place if it were not for the incredible location and the cozy terrace. The pictures do not do the location justice, as it is the sounds of the gondoliers, water taxis and water buses making their way down the Grand Canal that add the character a photo cannot capture. If you are lucky, you will even see an "ambulanza" speeding down the canal, leaving rocking gondolas and taxis in its wake.

Breakfast is served (weather permitting) on the terrace, with gorgeous views of the Rialto Bridge. Matteo whips up a delicious omelet (ham, cheese and tomato was our favorite) accompanied by made-to-order coffee and a buffet of fruits, juices, breads, meats and cheeses. A wonderful way to start the day.

The location is also great because there are signs everywhere guiding you back to the Rialto Bridge, so when you get lost (and you will get lost) it is easy to find your way back to the hotel. There are many shops, bakeries and restaurants right out the front door. Very easy walk to St. Mark's and the water bus stop that takes you to Murano, Burano and Torcello.

Drinks are served on the terrace any time of day, but after a long day of touring this spectacular city, a glass of vino bianco is a great way to end the day. My only suggestion for improvement might be some simple afternoon snacks of cheeses and antipasto of some sort.

As for the room, we stayed 3 nights in room 102, very comfortable and the best location in the hotel, 10 steps from the terrace. With the shutters closed, very little noise from the canal is heard. It was nice to have the extra space that the suite provides, but at 490 euros per night, I would probably not choose the room again. Most of our time was spent on the terrace so a smaller, less costly room, would have sufficed. The bed is pretty firm but we certainly were not miserable sleeping on it. There is a TV in the room but we never turned it on. Wifi worked fine. Shower is very small indeed.

I would not hesitate to stay here again. The terrace alone is worth the price.

Room Tip: If money is not a concern, go for the deluxe suites. Otherwise, so much time is spent on the terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BroncoFaninVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Number 1 for hospitality anywhere in the world!

Matteo, Alex, Tomas, Oliver, David & Rosalba were our charming hosts for three of the loveliest nights we have ever experienced
staying in a hotel. On our first trip to beautiful Venice they made us feel at home from the moment we stepped through the entrance doors, discretely located down a quiet alleyway away from the frenzied daytime tourist crowds of Rialto. Yet the Al Ponte Antico is so close to everything!

Everything about this boutique hotel came together in a harmonious blend of timeless opulence and romance.

We have travelled quite extensively and stayed in many upmarket hotels over the years, and we would rank Matteo's family-like warm but still very-professional team as number one for hospitality anywhere in the world. We definitely hope to return one day.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Brett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at the Al Ponte Antico hotel for 2 nights in April 2014. This a a very small hotel with under 10 rooms. Very intimate and personal. Its like staying at a friends house for the weekend but with all the luxuries of a hotel. we had a double room adjacent to main eating area and it was quiet and lovely. Breakfast is included and its lovely to sit on the balcony and look over the grand canal as you sip your coffee and eat a freshly cooked breakfast made by the owner...Matteo. The staff makes you feel at home here and a special thank you to Rosalba who looked after us every morning. Look...Venice is expensive ..so its not a budget stay...but you will not be disappointed if you choose this hotel...unless of course you prefer larger hotels with bars and restaurants. We felt that it was perfect. Who needs a restaurant in house when you step out on to the cobbled streets of Venice and there is an array of good places to eat all day long. We booked the Classic double room with no view of canal ...it was fine as the breakfast balcony was perfect for canal viewing! The decor is beautiful and the atmosphere is just perfect for your stay. Would we return...most definately.... YES!

Room Tip: Only 7 or 9 rooms - they are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lavitabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 385 in Venice
1,950 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#4 of 385 in Venice
803 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 385 in Venice
3,785 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $289 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing