We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“One of the Best Two Places to stay in Venice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Ranked #3 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the Best Two Places to stay in Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

The other would be Mateo's other property Locanda Orseola. This family owns two properties in Venice and we won't stay anywhere else. The owner is the kindest, most service-focused property owner we have met and all of his staff are hand selected for their service attitudes. The Al Ponte Antico is perfectly located, just north of the Rialto bridge, and has the perfect patio overlooking the Grande Canal. The rooms are luxurious and the breakfast is tremendous but the personal service (they staff always greet the guests by name) sets this hotel apart. Trust the reviews - don't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank augsbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,046
    74
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
175
834
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
506 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 545 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

I highly recommend this hotel. It is well-located, with views of the Rialto Bridge (if you pick the right room). We stayed on the ground floor overlooking the Grand Canal, and these are by far the largest and best two rooms in the hotel. The staff are extremely welcoming and treat guests with amazing respect. No staff member remained seated if we spoke to them at reception, they would always stand. Breakfast was always exceptional out on the beautiful terrace as you watch the world go by. The terrace was also a great place for a drink late (very late) at night. The hotel caters for arrivals in the wee hours of the morning as well with a welcoming drink on the terrace and dinner if required.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1800hammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in late May 2014. The greeting we received from Matteo Peruch, owner of the hotel, was fantastic and set the tone for our visit. His staff was helpful in every way and made our short stay in Venice a very memorable one. Breakfast on the terrace, cooked by Matteo, was a highlight...good food and an unsurpassed perspective on the Grand Canal and Rialto bridge. Thank you Matteo, Oliver, Rosalba, and David for a great time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Everything that everyone wrote about the Al Ponte Antico Hotel is true! From the moment I made the reservation to the moment we left, everything was utterly magical. I stayed with my two daughters in a triple luxury room with a canal view to die for! Venice is a fascinating city, full of culture, character and romance. This 500 years old palace adds with its charm and grace, to the whole atmospheric ambiance of the city. The hotel can also be spotted just under the centre span of Vittore Carpaccio's 1496 painting "The Healing of a Madman" and you don't see every day a 500 years old painting of the palace you are staying in!! As I don't want to repeat everything that has already been said, I shall just say that the Al Ponte Antico palace exceeded our expectations! A very big thank you the charming owner, Matteo and to all the staff, who went out of their way to make us feel like royalties! We shall definitely return in the near future!

Room Tip: Our triple luxury room was very spacious and the view was breathtaking! There only 9 rooms in the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rigaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Perfect location, great views of the grand canal & ponte rialto, attentive and personalized service. We were very happy with our 4 day stay here. According to the owner, Matteo, the hotel is a converted 16th century palazzo and the décor is period appropriate. Beautiful Murano glass chandeliers, high ceilings, carvings, tiles, the works. Great buffet breakfast with eggs and crepes cooked to order.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

From the very dapper and charming host Mateo and all of his staff to the wonderful view from the balcony, our visit to antico pontico was just as advised - wonderful.
Get lost on your way back from st marks knowing you have a gem of a hotel to return to.
A lovely hotel in a beautiful city.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 123sunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We spent four nights at Al Ponte Antico Hotel during May 2014. We were very pleased with the quality of our room, enjoyed our time on the terrace and thought the breakfast was delicious. The owner, Mateo, was onsite for our visit and the staff was very polite and professional. Each staff member called us by name from the time we arrived until the time we left. The location is very convenient since it is a short walk to the Rialto Bridge and St. Marks.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#5 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Property: Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing