We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty of Venice in captured in this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Al Ponte Antico sits on the grand canal with a view a 5 star view of the Rialto bridge. We were so graciously upgraded to a grand canal view room, that despite the location was quiet and peaceful. The hotel is a work of art that is as lovely as the beauty of Venice. The best expresso in Italy! Even if it was an ok lodging, I would go back just for the expresso.....but the breakfast was as good as the coffee. You are greeted by name every time by various staff members that graciously help you navigate their city. The hotel is so beautiful with huge Murano glass chandeliers, rooms are wallpapered with brocade fabric, and my husband claims they serve a 'mean' limoncello which I am sure tasted even better with a view of the Ponte Rialto

Room Tip: The rooms facing the grand canal were very romantic and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

505 - 511 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014

Our family of four recently spent two stints on two nights each at the Al Ponte Antico. It is absolutely fabulous. Staying in a palazzo that dates from the 1500s is an experience in itself. But the warmth of the hospitality from Matteo and his team will make your visit truly memorable.

Both times we stayed we had rooms overlooking the Canal Grande. The outlook provides an excellent view of the canal and its passing traffic, as well as the Rialto bridge. Even if you don't have a canal view, there is a small balcony off the first floor that provides an excellent opportunity to take in the view. We ate there every day for breakfast, and then also returned there after a day of sight-seeing for a few pre-dinner drinks as the sun went down. This is an experience not to be missed.

Being located close to the Rialto bridge, it is pretty much a short walk to anything from the hotel. Location wise, it would be difficult to be more central. And even though we got lost many times, there are invariably signs pointing you to the bridge, so it is hard to stay lost for too long.

Both rooms we had were large easily large enough for a family of four. The bathrooms, no doubt constrained by the shape of the building, were small, but otherwise perfectly fine. The decor is perfectly suited for a 16th century palazzo - no Hilton beige here!

By far the most noteworthy aspect of this hotel, however, is the hospitality. Matteo and his team are superb - you cannot be made to feel more welcome. Throughout our stays, all the staff greeted us by name, and were invariably friendly and helpful. I have stayed at many hotels, but none rate higher than the Al Ponte Antico in terms of the genuine sense of hospitality on offer.

This is a boutique hotel, so it does not have all the bells and whistles of a large international chain. But that is exactly its charm. In short, if you are looking for a unique Venetian experience, a great location, and absolutely wonderful hospitality, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 007Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I just want to reiterate the excellent comments of others, the service at this hotel is amazing, and nothing is too much trouble. Our room overlooked the Grand Canal, which was wonderful in the spring sunshine. I highly recommend this hotel and will stay there again on our return to Venice.

Room Tip: Room 109 overlooks the Grand Canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janis_OurWorldforYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We loved our stay at this charming former palazzo! The location is incredible ... every morning we had breakfast and every afternoon we had drinks on the beautiful little terrace overlooking the Grand Canal and the Rialto bridge .. cannot be beat! The hotel's beautiful heavy fabrics ooze authentic Venetian charm. The gentlemen who work there were wonderfully helpful with restaurant reservations and other advice. We can't imagine staying anywhere else when in Venice!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that opens on the grand canal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IFM5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

For me this hotel had everything I every dreamed of for a visit to Venice. Although we walked almost everywhere, it is conveniently located near the Rialto bridge and the water bus stop. The hotel, including the rooms, is beautifully decorated and there is an incredible patio over looking the Grand Canal. The only down side was my husband had difficulty with the tub and shower. The ceiling was very low and standing in the tub to shower was difficult for him. I loved the jacuzzi tub. There was a lovely buffet breakfast with eggs and crapes cooked by Mateo, the owner. We couldn't say enough about the owner and staff. Everyone went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. They offered not only tourist information but restaurants and places they personally enjoyed going to in Venice.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a window facing the canal. The patio was lovely so we chose a room without a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 5678PamS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We just spent three nights in room #108 that opens onto the Grand Canal. Really spectacular. Also, the service in this hotel is the best I have ever experienced. The personal touches make it like staying with friends. This hotel will be the standard by which all our future hotels will be judged.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Following 2 days on the Orient Express we wanted our hotel to continue the magical holiday that we were already enjoying. Antico lived up to our expectation and we had the nicest time. The hotel is just what you want in Venice. Quirky, beautiful, and perfectly located. The rooms are large and very well maintained. The balcony and bar / breakfast area is just lovely. Sitting outside watching the boats go past with a glass of bubbly in the evening, or tea and cake (local cake shops) is very special. You feel like royalty waving to the boats going passed taking photos. Matteo and his staff are perfect hosts and are the real deal. If you want Italian style and to be part of Venice then you wont be disappointed. We will be back.

Tips. Don't judge the inside by the outside. Arriving by water taxi is worth the money. The two pictures are of Rialto bridge as we arrived and then the next morning at breakfast on the terrace.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nowen66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 384 in Venice
1,947 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#4 of 384 in Venice
803 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 384 in Venice
3,783 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#12 of 384 in Venice
2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $291 - $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing