We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We spent a week with the Peruch family at Al Ponte Antico and had an amazing time. The staff is super friendly, greeted us by name, and prepared fabulous breakfasts. Our room was delightful, facing the Grand Canal. Shutters kept the room quiet at night.
We enjoyed evening cocktails on the balcony, soaking in the sights of Venice.
Cannot wait to return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vickieelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,111
    75
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
182
888
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
188 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We chose Al Ponte Antico (the old bridge) hotel for our short St. Valentines trip with friends. We arrived at the hotel by water-taxi from the airport and were greeted warmly by the staff and manager/owner as we exited the motor launch directly into the ground floor of the hotel. Everything was taken care of and we were given a delightful tour of this converted palace by the Rialto bridge. Tastefully and comfortably upgraded. A lunch reservation had been made for us in advance - a great recommendation. We were always greeted by our first names (not difficult you might say with only 18 to remember, but changing every day ....?! From the breakfast/tea room one could look down on the vaporettos, gondolas and motor launches, incredibly avoiding each other as they plotted their courses under the Rialto bridge. High tide the next morning was a spectacle, with the water of the Grand Canal invading a good 20 meters on the opposite shore. Breakfast was copious and Matteo cooked whatever you could possibly want. Service was friendly, warm and courteous, although they were a little put off by our complaint of several small packs of rancid butter and the awful design of the bathroom toiletries - almost impossible to get the foil cover off the shampoo, conditioner and shower gel with wet hands. Apart from that the rooms were fairly large, well appointed in a traditional style although lacking a little in cleanliness and maintenance. I found a ring of the previous (lady) occupant on the carpet which would surely have been vacuumed up if such an apparatus would have been used. Also, the lever which should operate the plug on the bidet didn't work so we had to leave the water in on the last day.... Ugh.
Rooms are very quiet (the hotel is at the end of an alley - the other end goes onto the Canal).
Overall the service was so nice that these little problems didn't amount to much or impact our
stay, but a little more care and attention to detail wouldn't go amiss........ But we would go back. Matteo and his staff were so helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet, and prices range from a standard double at €180 per night up to a suite loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKIClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This place is like nothing we have ever been to before. The rooms are almost over the top in size and decor, it makes you feel like you are in an old James Bond film. There is also a fantastic view of the Railto bridge which is one of the biggest attractions in Venice. Matteu the owner will personally cook you breakfast which is really first class. Ok it's not the cheapest place we have stayed in, but for a trip to Venice its simply a must! Matteu and his crew are beyond excellent with their personalised service, they are extremely well trained, well mannered, well prepared and helpful. The rooms are fantastic and the views are spectacular. You can't beat this place in Venice it even has it's own jetty for arrival by private taxi (which we did!) Go there!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are probably great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel is stunning. Only 9 rooms and superior service. What's really fabulous is their terrace right on the grand canal. Very few hotels can offer this - Most buildings use every bit of space for enclosed rooms. Sitting on the terrace, sipping Bellinis, while watching canal life float by and gazing at Il Ponte Antico is truly a highlight of my life!! I felt so lucky to be a guest in this hotel and they treated my sister and me like VIPs - always calling us by name and preparing breakfast to order and of course, wonderful cocktail service in the late afternoon! I can't wait to go back

Room Tip: We loved the big room on the canal next to the terrace. My sister and I had requested separate beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowbird320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

The close attention to customer satisfaction taken by Matteo, Romina and Alex have been completely documented by others and i will only say i totally agree. the breakfast in the salon is superb. But what makes this hotel so special is of course, the location. 2 minutes from the Rialto, 10 minutes from San Marco, right on the grand canal. We had the junior suite that opens on to the canal. The view screams Venice with the constant water traffic right outside your our window and the Rialto towering above you.

Two words of caution about this room.
Personally I would never visit Venice in the summer, but if you do then i imagine that opening the window would mean the canal room will pick up the odor of the canal. The second is that because this is a old palace the walls are very thick and therefore the enemy of wifi. however if i stepped out into the hall, the AP was right there and the connection was superb.

We will stay here again. No doubt.

Room Tip: We had the junior suite that opens on to the canal. The view screams Venice with the constant water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mukson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I don't think I can put into words how wonderful this experience was for my husband and I. We have never felt so special, taken care of and like royalty the way the staff at Al Ponte Antico made us feel. We were greeted on the water upon Arrival and every morning, by first name. It truly felt like home away from home. Matteo, Katrina, Thomas, Oliver and Romania went above and beyond and provided exceptional service . The room was quaint and cozy. The location is amazing. The breakfast was perfect and a beautiful way to begin each morning. The balcony has breath taking views. I am so thankful for the staff and beauty of this hotel. We frequented the bar with Thomas at night, and it was such a fun way to end the night! If you are ever in Venice, it would be silly not to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

From the minute we arrived, we were treated as if we were family. The staff remembered our names from the start and used them every time they greeted us. The rooms were beautifully appointed and spotless. We wished we could just sit and have Rosalba and Matteo cook us breakfast all day!! We would not consider staying anywhere else in Venice!!
Meneghello Family, Perth, Western Australia.

Room Tip: Any room is OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#3 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Property: Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing