We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel & great location. With a first class service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I booked this hotel for an wedding anniversary trip for two nights purely from recommendations on tripadvisor and everything that has already been written is so accurate. A gem of a Hotel, in a great location and run by a great team.

All the staff at Al Ponte's (from the moment we arrived to leaving) were not only personal but very professional , which made for a great stay. They also emailed me pre arrival with suggestions of restaurants to research and then took care of all reservations for us.

We stayed in the junior suite overlooking the Grand Canal. A large room with a great view. Breakfast (included) had a great selection. Please if you are undecided, book this hotel like I did and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: view from junior suite overlooking canal was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank darren c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

575 - 581 of 1,358 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our three-night stay in July of last summer was immensely pleasurable. Al Ponte's service is exceptional, personalized yet unobtrusive. With breathtaking views of the Grand Canal, the location was convenient to to the major tourist sites, shopping and restaurants--it was quite easy for us to return to the hotel multiple times daily. Our favorite part of the stay was having drinks and breakfast on the balcony that rested over the Grand Canal (see picture below) not to mention conversations with the charming and engaging owner. The breakfast menu far surpassed what one would expect from a B&B.

We hope to return to Venice again, and will definitely stay at Al Ponte.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dougle_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

The staff was amazing. The facility superb. They know your name when you arrive and great you by name the entire stay. Fantastic location. Great restaurant and sight seeing as recommended by the staff. Huge rooms - ours faced the Grand Canal. The best city hotel I have ever visited.

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing the Grand Canal - it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Benefited greatly from Tripadvisor reviews for years and finally feel motivated to write my first review of a well situated property with exceptional staff and owner. Every member of the staff was warm and friendly and made our stay memorable. The hotel has immense character, with a rich history behind it. We stayed at the suite, Room 108 and it was an unbelievable experience to open the windows and look into the Grand Canal with the gondolas and other boats sailing by.

Matteo, we look forward to staying in your other properties in Italy in our next trip to Italy, to enjoy this type of welcome and service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxPippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Al Ponte Antico lived up to expectation in every way. I'm very happy I trusted the trip advisor reviews. Ground floor deluxe room (facing the rialto bridge) must be the best room in the city. Such a beautiful room with exquisite 14th century furnishings and décor. We had romantic evening drinks overlooking the water, and morning greetings from the gondoliers.

This hotel is intimate and antique - a refreshing change to those snooty chain-hotels with expensive price tags and garish/bland decor

The service is exceptional. I have travelled all over but I can safely say that this is the friendliest hotel I have ever visited. Staff know your name, and go out of their way to help you enjoy the best of Venice.

I will certainly return some day.
Elisa

Room Tip: Room 108 - to be on ground level with a giant window that opens out straight onto the water, and fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

No one in all of Italy has staff as friendly, helpful or professional. The Hotel itself is beautifully restored from the 14th century including original floors. The rooms are extremely large, updated, and tasteful. Beautiful full breakfast and amazing coffee every morning. The view from our room and the terrace was spectacular. We would go back to Venice just to visit this hotel again and catch up with the Owner and Staff. You must experience this place for yourself. There simply aren't enough stars to give!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed in the Junior Suite at canal level which was the best located hotel room we've ever had, hence my first ever trip advisor rating. Wonderful views from the room watching the gondolas, and Venetian life in general float by. Breakfasting on the terrace, and sipping an evening drink felt like being in the middle of a film set. The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful, as other reviewers have commented. There was slight evidence of being so close to canal level - powdery plaster in a couple of places, but that was to be expected given the amazing location. The bathroom was small too, but again, to be expected given the location. Would love to go back.

Room Tip: Junior suite at canal level to really feel part of life in Venice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 387 in Venice
2,001 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Locanda Orseolo
Locanda Orseolo
#3 of 387 in Venice
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Hotel Canal Grande
#9 of 387 in Venice
2,185 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 387 in Venice
3,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $293 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing