We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very friendly, could be a bit more comfortable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great location, very friendly, could be a bit more comfortable!”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I chose this hotel based on other reviews and we were not disappointed but I can't give it a 5 for a couple of reasons. As everyone says, the location is wonderful (right by the Rialto bridge but also an easy walk to St Mark's). (Because of a water taxi strike, we had to walk in from the Vaporetto stop in the rain and we walked right past the laneway of the hotel the first time because there is no sign off the main street and it is a very discreet lane.) But definitely in the centre of things. The staff are very friendly and attentive and there are nice touches like guide books that you can borrow in the small lobby. We had one of the rooms just off the breakfast room/bar which looks out over the Grand Canal. Small details that could be improved to make the (very large) room really comfortable - proper reading lights over each side of the bed, a second luggage rack or bench, a safe with a number code rather than a very easy to lose key, softer bathrobes (the terry cloth robes must have been air dried which is ecological but makes them like sand paper), some throw cushions and perhaps a throw rug on the sofa. I also found the bed too hard. We visited in November so the weather was cool and while one or 2 brave souls had their breakfast on the wonderful terrace over the Canal, most people opted to be inside but with the doors open to the terrace all the time, the breakfast room was really uncomfortably cold.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,174
    77
    20
    9
    7
See reviews for
189
937
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This former palace is fabulously located right on the Grand Canal in the heart of it all. We enjoyed watching the world go by right in front of us while we had our delicious breakfasts or cocktails on the terrace each day. Richly decorated, as every Venetian Palace should be, just adds to the ambience. Definitely arrive and depart by water taxi, straight to the hotel's canal entrance. A stay here is more about experiencing Venice in all its glory during the days of Princes and Palaces. Matteo, the multi-lingual owner, and his staff will make you feel like a visiting Prince or Princess with their genuinely warm hospitality. Additionally, he makes the best breakfast crepes in Venice.
Our experience at this intimate little gem of a hotel greatly enhanced our trip to Venice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milli757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Sitting on the perfectly situated balcony overlooking the Realto Bridge with my last Campari Spritz before saying goodbye to this most wonderful of hotels. The staff are magnificent & pamper you from the moment you step over the threshold. Thank you to all the staff at Al Ponte Antico, it is your manners and guest relationship which leaves an indelible mark on everyone that stays.
Thank You,
Barry & Carol Moore

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BazzaofBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was our second visit to the hotel. Inevitably, after our first wonderful stay in March, we had very high expectations.
The hotel and all its staff did not disappoint: it is just a perfect way to visit Venice. Watching the sun go down (even in November!) over the Rialto Bridge from the terrace of the hotel is a wonderful way to end the day.
With all the other great reviews of this hotel, it is difficult to find anything more to say. If you are looking for a perfect stay in a truly characterful hotel, then this is your place.

Room Tip: Room 101 has a great view over the Grand Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gianlorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Pines, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My first time to Venice. Awesome old propery right on the Grand Canal. Beautifully restored and elegant. Staff is over the top polite, helpful and exude class. We loved this place. Got to visit with the owner and learn his "story" and the history of the building. Owner wears a dozen hats and is always absolutely charming. Rooms so elegant. Gondolas cruising outside your window while viewing the Rialto Bridge, are you kidding me. Breakfast buffet was lovely and then found it was only the beginning. They then come to your table for custom coffee and what ever you want cooked for breakfast. This was a total experience for us. Coming back !!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Matteo and Oliver were so gracious and accommodating. The views at breakfast and cocktail hour could not be beat! We stayed 2 nights at the beginning of a 1.5 week tour and what a way to kick it off. Breakfast was great. I do recommend arriving by private taxi as it makes the hotel all that more attractive. Small family owned property that strives to meet all of your expectations. We stayed the end of October 2013.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

What more is there to say that has not already been said by other reviewers. The friendliness and willingness of the management and staff is outstanding and Mateo and his team have created a culture which is quite unique. Out stay was split between a 2 night stay in a Superior Double Room and 4 nights a week later in the Mini Suite. The Superior Double was lovely and looked out over the terrace on to the canal. The only drawback was the piped music which you could hear in the room (even at night), but had no problem asking them to turn it down or off. Our second stay was a little like coming home with Oliver there at the dock to welcome us as our water taxi pulled up. The suite was fabulous and surprise surprise, the architectural intrusion which was there on our initial visit had been removed, so the view of the Rialto Bridge and the Grand Canal from our private indoor terrace/balcony was unobstructed and quite breathtaking. We probably spent too long in this room watching life pass us by on the canal. The only negatives concerning the rooms were that both and especially the mini suite could do with a little updating and there is what looks like water damage to the wall of the balcony facing the canal which needs repairing. Breakfast was fabulous and really set us up for the day, but it would have been nice to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

Room Tip: Room 108 which directly opens on to the canal. Noise was never a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwlid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,906 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#4 of 385 in Venice
778 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Property: Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing