We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing service and care” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Orefield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing service and care”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We just returned from our first trip to Italy. We spent the first 3 days and our last day before leaving Italy at Al Ponte Antico. It was an incredible start to a magnificant trip. As we stepped off the water taxi, onto the dock for the hotel, we were greeted by Alex by first names. After settling in our room which overlooked the canal, we went upstairs to the beautiful porch overlooking the grand canal. Just as the picture on the website shows - we were watching the spectacular show on the grand canal, as well as a perfect view of the Rialto Bridge. Every morning we had a deliious breakfast overlooking the water and the fabulous view. Breakfast was served to us by a kind and attentive Rosalba. We thank Matteo, Oliver, Thomas, David, and Alex for helping us with restaurants, directions, ideas, advice and sites to see. They made our first visit to Venice extraordinary. They were enormously kind and generous. We loved our stay at this beautiful, petite hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the huge room facing the canal on the first floor. While it was beautiful and the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,083
    74
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
177
866
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrara, Australia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is our third trip to Venice and our second time staying with Matteo at the Al Ponte and we have recommended family and friends over the years to the hotel who all have fond memories of the staff and the famous hotel balcony.
This trip was going to be a short stay as we were going to be boarding a cruise the next afternoon but we could not be in Venice without having one night with Matteo and sipping drinks on the balcony- not to mention breakfast the next morning.
The best way to arrive at the hotel is by water taxi and we got one straight from the airport to the hotel (110 euros and well worth it for the experience alone if not the convenience), Alex who we had not meet on previous stays was there to welcome us by name and they also had our old passport ids from previous trips which made check in quick.
Alex offered to store our large cases for us as the room we had booked (106) was a smaller room, but we managed and it was more than sufficient for one night. The hotel is very unique and the rooms and décor are traditional and may not be for everyones tastes, the bathrooms are clean and compact and again part of the charm in staying in this former palace.
We could not wait to head up to the balcony and while away the afternoon having a few drinks and watching the world go by on the grand canal. It was wonderful to catch up with Matteo again and hear his news as well us update him on what we have been up to. We felt like we were again staying with old friends. It was good to see that Oliver and Rosa where still with the hotel.
All the reviews will still not prepare you for the experience in staying here., you have to experience it yourself

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We are a family of 4 & had a hard time finding nice hotel room to fit all 4 of us. I also wanted to ride the private taxi right up to the hotel so we won't have to walk much with our 12 day luggages. This hotel is the perfect fit. The staff and owner are very friendly & anticipate all our needs. The cafe balcony is no doubt the best realty in Venice with a perfect view of the Rialto bridge while we watch the busy canal traffic. We splurged & got the room right on the canal & it's worth it! The room & the overall hotel has all the comfort of new technologies & historic royal opulence. It was once a palace & only renovated few years ago. You cannot hear any of the canal traffic even though the room is right on the canal. We visited in the hottest days of the year & the AC was simply awesome being colder than any place we visited in Italy. The breakfast buffet table is intimate but with grand presentation. We would definitely return some day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Wonderful small hotel, great location near to Rialto bridge and overlooking the Grand Canal. Most of all, Matteo and the other staff Oliviero, Rosalba, Thomas and David, were welcoming, kind, helpful and friendly. The room was fab, with high ceilings and fine decor. Great breakfasts and smooth evening drinks on the terrace. We would love to try some of Matteo's other hotels.

Room Tip: Check out the website and choose depending on your taste, facilities needed, view etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merv_is_Write
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I adored my stay in Venice and it was largely due to this hotel! My husband and I were greeted by name upon arrival. The hotel has its own dock so we were able to go straight from the airport to the hotel. The location of this beautiful, old palace simply can't be beat with the view of and proximity to the Rialto Bridge. We had a delicious, fresh breakfast on the terrace every morning. The staff was attentive and professional. We were so impressed with the service at the Al Ponte Antico that we will seek Matteo's other hotels outside Venice during next trip to Italy!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel is not just made by its unique location and superb terrace, it is the extraordinary charm of the entire team. I have never been anywhere, where the staff have greeted me by my first name as soon as we arrived (Thomas is amazing but perhaps we were the last room to check-in) but the same happened with every other member of the team as well.
The atmosphere was so friendly and the help to book suitable restaurants, concerts etc amazing.
We are determined to re-visit.

Room Tip: 101 ia a great room although there was some noise from the terrace on the first night. It is probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireBrodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is a real gem. The team are exceptional, the location is superb and the breakfast is freshly prepared for you. If you are looking for an intimate and truly relaxing break, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Tip: ask Matteo & his team to arrange your private water taxi transfer from the airport - totall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank a e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,387 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#4 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Property: Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing