We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed July 9, 2008

The BEST hotel we ever stayed.
Best services we aver get.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Doro01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,174
    77
    20
    9
    7
See reviews for
189
937
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2008

My wife and I were staying in a non-tourist town outside of Venice for a week (I was there for work), and we were not having a good time. The people in the town and the hotel in which we were staying were not very friendly, and we felt very uncomfortable and uneasy. Once my work was done, we stayed at the Al Ponte Antico for 3 days, and it completely changed everything. Everyone is so helpful, and Matteo and Oliver gave us great advice as to where to eat and when to go to the sights we wanted to see. We will never forget sitting on the terrace in the afternoon, having a drink, and talking with Matteo about life in Venice.
When we were looking for a hotel before we took our trip, I thought that this place was a little expensive. However, every review I read talked about how great it is, and after staying there I couldn't agree more. We will definitely return to Venice, and we could not imagine staying at any other hotel. Brian and Tina from Milwaukee

  • Liked — Location, Service
  • Disliked — That we had to leave
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lueckb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Al Ponte Antico with our two children (13 and 9) for 4 nights. We can second all the positive comments made in earlier reviews regarding the excellent staff (esp. Rosalba, Oliviero, and, of course, Matteo), great location, plentiful breakfasts, and the stellar view from the terrace. Matteo's spritzes were so good that we tracked down a local source for one of the ingredients the day after we returned home! Now we can enjoy spritzes at home, but unfortunately without the Grand Canal and Rialto Bridge in our sights.
Our room (Al Ponte Sospiro) was great, although perhaps a little tight with the sofa bed opened up. The one negative was the aforementioned elevated tub which meant crouching under the shower head. In terms of noise, we found it very quiet at all times of day.
While many honeymooners stay at Al Ponte Antico, we can say that our children felt very welcome there and the staff took excellent care of them.
When we go back to Venice, we will definitely stay at Al Ponte Antico again.

  • Liked — Location and service
  • Disliked — Low showerhead in our bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JKMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

It's hard to think of anything to add since all the other glowing reviews say it all. I can only say that yes, they are all true and yes, it really is that good! The location is fantastic and that terrace on the grand canal a real gem. People going by on the vaporetti were looking at us and pointing as it really is unique to have a terrace on the canal and right by the rialto bridge as well. It is the most fantasic spot in Venice to have breakfast, a coffee, an aperitif or nightcap. The bulding is renovated beautifully in traditional Venetian style with gorgeous fabrics, glass and frescoes. The staff are great. - more like staying with friends than hotel staff. It was fantastic to arrive by private water taxi as it drops you off right in the hotel - expensive but worth it for the experience (the alternative being to walk from the vaporetto stop with your luggage up and down bridges and through the crowds). I absolutely loved this hotel and would definitely recommend it.

  • Liked — Best location in Venice!
  • Disliked — Small shower
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2008

There have been so many superlative reviews about this hotel, this is yet another. Although our already brief stay in Venice was cut short by an emergency at home we could not have asked for a more supportive and caring staff who helped us re-arrange our return. This exquisite hotel is perfectly situated, has been beautifully renovated and above all has the most wonderful atmosphere. Matteo is the perfect host, kind and informative and his staff reflect his high standards. Prosecco on the terrace in the evening light,watching life in Venice ... wonderful.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was perfect
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2008

We were getting married in Venice and this was our honeymoon hotel for the first two nights .. what can I say ... Matteo and his staff were superb, very attentive yet not overly so ... with what must be one of the best views of the Grand Canal in Venice ..... I cannot think of a better way and a more beautiful City to start married life ! Sue and Neil Sanders

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank MontyBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2008

I took my wife for her 30th birthday to the Al Ponte Antico and have to say that our stay there made it possibly the best weekend's holiday either of us have ever had. I was initially a Venice sceptic but the magic of the place, and in particular this hotel, made it truly phenomenal.
The location is perfect. Overlooking the canal and the Rialto bridge, just 15 minutes walk from St Marks, right on the main shopping streetsbut quiet and relaxed as well.
The staff are the most attentive and friendly you could wish for. Nothing was too much trouble. Prosecco in the room (free) when we arrived for Kate's birthday (I didn't ask for this), help and tips, amazing breakfast and service, drinks until whatever time on the terrace and then a glass of wine (again free) whilst we waited for the water taxi to take us back to the airport.
And that view. Simply amazing. You can spend hours with a book, a beer or coffee and that view, Nothiing else. If you want to be in the best location, in the frienliest hotel, with the best service - this is the hotel for you.

  • Liked — everything!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank alimitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,907 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#4 of 385 in Venice
779 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Property: Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing