We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Venice in not Venice if you haven't stayed here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband booked this hotel for us when we went for our honeymoon, saying its the top rated hotel in the world by tripadvisor. And what better place to start our 24 day long honeymoon from Venice! After my stay here, I keep comparing my stay at every hotel I stay at, with Al Ponte. It was the most fascinating 4 days of my life. The rooms are tiny, but who cares when everything else is so perfect. We had the bar to ourselves at night and the balcony was our opening to Venice after 10 (as we went in the winter and it gets damn cold at night). The most wonderful thing was wen we cvisited Venice again after a year back, the hotel staff actually recognized us!! Couldn't get over the fact that someone actuaaly knows us in Venice! You have to be really lucky to have stayed here in your lifetime, so please book in advance or postpone your dates !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shreya86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

644 - 650 of 1,358 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at Al Ponte Antico from June 9 - 13. We stayed in their regular rooms, we were assigned room 104 in the second floor. The room was spacious for Europe and specially venice standards. The bathroom was also spacious. I have read that other rooms don't have spacious bathrooms but ours did. There was only one complaint about the room. The shower. There was a bathtub (i guess that the bathtub was there in order to help "hide" the plumbing system) so when you were standing in the bath tub my head was actually touching the roof. For someone taller than me that might end up being a deal breaker. I guess if they took out the bathtub and put a regular shower it would become more spacious.
Now the hotel is only 9 rooms, 3 in the first floor and 5 in the second floor. Breakfast was included and cooked to order by Mateo, the hotel owner, every morning. We were greeted by our first names as soon as we arrived, and all the hotel staff addressed us by our first names during our entire stay, which made the experience incredible.
Two years and a half ago we stayed at their other property in venice, the Locanda Orseolo. You could say both hotels are very similar, but the Al Ponte Antico hotel has a feature that sets it apart, not only from the Locanda but from any other hotel: The Balcony on the second floor overlooking the Grand Canal and the Rialto Bridge. Now the view to the Rialto on the left hand side was obstructed by a construction taking place in the next door building, but the sights were still amazing. We actually found ourselves returning to the hotel to have a drink at the balcony. Whit that view, that you are not going to find at any bar or restaurant in Venice, you will find yourself returning to the hotel to have a drink and enjoy the incredible view.
During our stay we were able to enjoy breakfast every day in the balcony (there are 9 rooms and only five tables at the balcony) which was an amazing experience. And at night there is no better place in venice to enjoy a drink and just watch life go by. You could actually se people from gondolas and Vaporettos taking pictures of us and other guests in the balcony. It is that amazing.
My only suggestion to the hotel is that with that incredible view they have at the Balcony, we would have love to have the option to enjoy our drinks with some snacks at night. That way you could arrive at night, enjoy a drink in the balcony and pick up a snack or something similar. They could even use the "honor" system were they could leave a book and you would write down what you took.
For those of us that need to be connected 24/7 the hotel had wireless wifi and also a 21" IMac in the second floor, were you could check your email.
The attention to detail in the hotel was amazing, helping us with concert tickets, reservations at restaurants and suggestions about were to have lunch or dinner. All the recommendations were on target, the restaurant A Beccafico was a very good choice and also a pizza place they recommended. They also recommended a place to buy italian wine that was just steps away from the hotel, it was called Milli Vini, and we were able to find a great selection of great italian wines to take back home.
The location of the hotel is also a great plus. You are basically steps away from the Rialto Bridge and about a 10 minute walk to St, Mark's Square, which makes the location extremely convenient.
If you are planning to go to venice, this is the place to stay. After our stay at this incredible hotel we would not consider another option.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep later, ask for a room in the second floor on the back of the property. Room 104...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Besttravel_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Al Ponte Antico. Matteo and his team deserve six stars for service. If only other hotels knew how to treat their guests like this, we would all enjoy travelling a whole lot more. I was impressed at how Oliver knew our first names as we walked through their doors the first time, before getting the chance to mutter a word. In fact, everyone went out of their way to make us feel like special guests.

Aside from the stellar service, the location can't be better. The hotel is just a few minutes from Rialto Bridge, a very central location for a tourist. Just take vaparetto # 2 (express) heading to S.Marco from either the train or the airport and get off at Rialto. Once you get off, head left and hug the water. The hotel is down an alley. Nearby is a great wine store called Vini Mille. Also, if you are reading this you probably already found out that Da Mamo, a top rated restaurant, is located nearby. I say skip Da Mamo and go to Barababao (the boogeyman) instead. It's just as close with better service, food, and prices, in my humble opinion.

Our room was tastefully decorated, plenty big, and had ample storage. While we enjoyed our room, we loved the terrace. It was great sitting out there having breakfast, drinking prosecco, and sharing stories with fellow travelers. Check out the faces of all the people sailing by. They look at you like you are a movie star. We didn't see too many other hotels that had a terrace like this on the grand canal.

I would stay here again without hesitation. Hopefully, I'll get the chance to do so in the not-so-distant future. Bravo to Al Ponte Antico and grazie mille to Matteo, Alex, Da Tomas, Oliver, Rosalba, and David!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VacationDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of May for our honeymoon and it was amazing. Our room was small but everything else was so wonderful we didnt care. The staff are so friendy - everybody knows your name, the location is so central - you can always find your way home, and the terrace is wonderful - the best place in Venice to sit with a glass of wine and watch the world go by ! I have never written a review about anywhere else before, but I just had to share my experience and say a massive 'Thankyou' to all the staff.
from Emma and Gary, Brighton, UK

Room Tip: spend a little extra and go for the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

From the moment my husband and I were met by Christiano and Alex at the hotel's private dock on the Grand Canal, we were treated like old family friends! By knowing our names, to giving us the VIP tour of the hotel we immediately felt at home.
The hotel is perfectly situated less than a block away from the Rialto Bridge, and is beautifully appointed with luxurious classic Venetian features. It is easy to see that owner, Matteo Peruch, takes great pride in exceptional customer service.
From beginning to end of our amazing stay in Venice, Matteo and his team were engaged in ensuring we had everything we needed- from dinner reservations at wonderful, neighborhood restaurants to recommending local, non-touristy points of interest.
In addition to all of the above, one of high points of our stay was the amazingly delicious breakfast buffet; and my personal recommendation to all readers of this review- be sure and ask Matteo to make one of his "special" omlettes for you. It is truly fabulous!
Bottom line, there is only ONE place to stay in Venice and this is it!!
To Matteo and all of our friends at Al Ponte Antico- keep watching that boat dock, because Don and I will be back- A presto! Ciao!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don-Deb-dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This beautiful boutique hotel- only 9 rooms - is located on the grand canal almost adjacent to the famous Rialto Bridge. The view from the hotel terrace is breathtakingly romantic.
We were greeted by the debonair and charming owner Matteo Peruch and his equally gracious staff.We had some trouble with our booking which resulted in us staying only one night and for the balance of our stay at the equally beautiful Lorando Orseolo also owned by Matteo and his wife Barbara.Our room was located on the first floor - adjacent to the beautiful terrace - it was an excellent size and exquisitely appointed with beautiful fabric on the walls ,high ceilings decorated in the Venetian style of yesteryear and comfortable period furniture and king size bed - the only oddity was the shower surround ,which appeared temporary ,but was not an issue.The breakfast room ,which also doubled as the saloon,resembled a Baroque period drawing room and was absolutely superb. The breakfast was a real delight.The hotel felt like you staying at an exclusive club and Matteo and his staff make you feel very special.This is a must return to hotel.

Room Tip: Any room if you can get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PADOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have just got back from a three day break at this extraordinary Hotel. It is everything you could want from a small boutique Hotel. Matteo and all his incredible team,Oliver,Rosalba,Tomas,Cristian,Alex,Armando knew our names as soon as we got off our water taxi. Nothing was too much trouble. The passion that Matteo has about his baby (the Hotel) has clearly rubbed off on all his staff. We are often told in life that location is everything. Well this Hotel is in the BEST location. Having the best omlette's cooked by Matteo himself whilst watching the world go by on The Grand Canal just 10 metres below us was frankly breathtaking.We could have sat on that balcony for hours just people watching.I have stayed in many Hotels around the World- but I have never written a review on Tripadvisor. That should sum it up. If you get the chance to go to Venice- save up- and stay here. Thanks Matteo- Jonathan and Claire Gooch

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 387 in Venice
2,001 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Locanda Orseolo
Locanda Orseolo
#3 of 387 in Venice
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Hotel Canal Grande
#9 of 387 in Venice
2,185 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 387 in Venice
3,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $293 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing