We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Oasis in Venice”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Arrived at private mooring via water taxi with a personal welcome from Gigi, who knew all of our names and guided us to room and first views of the city. We had booked the junior suite for family of 4. Perfect. View of Rialto bridge and grand canal. Breakfast was excellent, in lovely environment. Free Internet, and position so close to all major sites. Only down side was the bedding and bathroom had a few "loose" components. 4+ really.

Room Tip: Junior suite for view and size of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timprice_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,163
    77
    20
    9
    7
See reviews for
188
929
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Good service, spacious room, beautiful location and very near Vecchio bridge.
The neighborhood near Piazza de San Marco is plentiful of tourists and street sellers. Vechio bridge is the main entrance for a less famous Venice and much more beautiful.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Otavio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We found this charming hotel on Trip Advisor and it was betterbthan we had been led to believe. The location is perfect (right next to the Rialto Bridge), the dining area is beautiful, the food (at breakfast) is very good, and the rooms are comfortable and well-appointed. But what makes this hotel special is the staff. We had our whole family there in a couple of rooms, and they always knoew wgere everyione was. When you come to the dining room, you are greeted by name and everyone remebers when you have chosen on past mornings. In fact, everyone knows your name, and everyone does all they can to make the visit perfect. From maps and directions to reservations and recommendations,the staff made us feel like family. There are surely grander hotels in Venice, but I'm not sure there are any that are as welcoming. We'll be back.

Room Tip: The room on the Canal is really spacious and quite nice, but our family was spread across several ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful Hotel in December, 2012 for 5 nights in a Junior Suite that was right on the Canal. My husband, teenage son and I had plenty of room in this enormous room. Beds are firm, but we like it that way so we were very comfortable. Our son slept on the sofa bed so he could lie in bed and look out at the Canal and watch the world go by. It was a fantastic experience, it's in a great location as out the back door of the Hotel is the busy back streets of Venice. There are many shops and restaurants very close by, you are spoiled for choice. The shopping in Venice was fabulous also. We could not fault the staff, they always greeted you by name and were genuinely interested in what you had done that day and were also very keen to offer advice if you asked for it. The breakfasts were wonderful and everything was extremely fresh, especially the gorgeous coffees made to order! It was very cold in Venice in December, so the room was lovely and warm. I would love to return in warmer weather and sit out on the 1st floor terrace. I think this would be a fantastic place to sit and have a drink and watch all the action on the Grand Canal. Highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Junior Suite, canal level. Huge rooms and brilliant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneDearie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I had a lovely stay here on my trip to Venice. A water taxi took us right to the waterfront of the hotel near the Rialto Bridge. Mateo is a wonderful chef who cooks you any breakfast item with products from his family's farm and garden. It is exquisite. The evening receptionist David is so nice and friendly, I had a wonderful time sitting in the cafe they have chatting about Italian life. I can't wait to visit again.
p.s. I only rate the sleep quality lower because, as is common in most of Europe, the beds are terribly firm.

Room Tip: some offer a view of the canal and the Rialto bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Located on the Grand Canal you must arrive at this hotel by boat. Our first time to Venice and we wanted it to be special. You are greeted by first names and made to feel very welcome on arrival. This is not a big Hotel (circa 10 rooms) but the style of the place just makes you feel as if you really have arrived in Venice. It costs extra but if you book the suite at Grand Canal level, you have big opening doors out of your room where you can sit drinking champagne with the canal literally 2 feet below you and all the hustle and bustle of the boats going by - an absolute must! This hotel for us was the "way" to stay in Venice - superb!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teeee444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

After the wonderful Foscari Palace last trip profound disappointment at arriving here for my 50th. Very expensive to have hard bed on grand canal next to noisy Rialto water taxi platform Ground floor onto canal means cold and noisy stone floors and sound of furniture being dragged over our heads upstairs. Not like the brochure. Argument over request for tea in evening as no tea/coffee facility in room. Can hear our kids through wall to their room. Ruined planned 50th birthday.

Room Tip: Don't bother unless your idea of a luxury suite is a bathroom so narrow you have to squeeze thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lpofbrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,886 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Hotel Antiche Figure
#11 of 385 in Venice
3,638 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#4 of 385 in Venice
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Property: Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing