We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous accommodation right on the Grand Canal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Al Ponte Antico Hotel to your Saves list
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fabulous accommodation right on the Grand Canal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful Hotel in December, 2012 for 5 nights in a Junior Suite that was right on the Canal. My husband, teenage son and I had plenty of room in this enormous room. Beds are firm, but we like it that way so we were very comfortable. Our son slept on the sofa bed so he could lie in bed and look out at the Canal and watch the world go by. It was a fantastic experience, it's in a great location as out the back door of the Hotel is the busy back streets of Venice. There are many shops and restaurants very close by, you are spoiled for choice. The shopping in Venice was fabulous also. We could not fault the staff, they always greeted you by name and were genuinely interested in what you had done that day and were also very keen to offer advice if you asked for it. The breakfasts were wonderful and everything was extremely fresh, especially the gorgeous coffees made to order! It was very cold in Venice in December, so the room was lovely and warm. I would love to return in warmer weather and sit out on the 1st floor terrace. I think this would be a fantastic place to sit and have a drink and watch all the action on the Grand Canal. Highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Junior Suite, canal level. Huge rooms and brilliant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneDearie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
dallas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I had a lovely stay here on my trip to Venice. A water taxi took us right to the waterfront of the hotel near the Rialto Bridge. Mateo is a wonderful chef who cooks you any breakfast item with products from his family's farm and garden. It is exquisite. The evening receptionist David is so nice and friendly, I had a wonderful time sitting in the cafe they have chatting about Italian life. I can't wait to visit again.
p.s. I only rate the sleep quality lower because, as is common in most of Europe, the beds are terribly firm.

Room Tip: some offer a view of the canal and the Rialto bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Located on the Grand Canal you must arrive at this hotel by boat. Our first time to Venice and we wanted it to be special. You are greeted by first names and made to feel very welcome on arrival. This is not a big Hotel (circa 10 rooms) but the style of the place just makes you feel as if you really have arrived in Venice. It costs extra but if you book the suite at Grand Canal level, you have big opening doors out of your room where you can sit drinking champagne with the canal literally 2 feet below you and all the hustle and bustle of the boats going by - an absolute must! This hotel for us was the "way" to stay in Venice - superb!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teeee444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

After the wonderful Foscari Palace last trip profound disappointment at arriving here for my 50th. Very expensive to have hard bed on grand canal next to noisy Rialto water taxi platform Ground floor onto canal means cold and noisy stone floors and sound of furniture being dragged over our heads upstairs. Not like the brochure. Argument over request for tea in evening as no tea/coffee facility in room. Can hear our kids through wall to their room. Ruined planned 50th birthday.

Room Tip: Don't bother unless your idea of a luxury suite is a bathroom so narrow you have to squeeze thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lpofbrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos, UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, it went far too quickly. Arriving tired after our flight we were greeted, by name, by Matteo as soon as we walked to the hotel door. We were shown around, given some handy tips and left to relax. After dinner we sat on the little terrace and watched the Grand Canal, drinking a superb Spritz or two with other guests. Everyone was enchanted.
The room was a blessed relief after exploring Venice in the boiling heat. The air-con was fabulous.
Breakfast was a pleasant, plentiful buffet, or Matteo would cook you eggs in his lovely copper pan.
The staff really set this place apart. Every member of staff knew our name and were always pleased to make you a drink, show you a route, or sort out a good, non-tourist trap restaurant for dinner but the service was never intrusive.
We were quite sad to leave. One of the nicest short stays we have had.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thissceptredisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We recently returned from Venice and our third time at Al Ponte Antico. We have stayed in Venice numerous times in our past at the more famous and luxurious properties, but trust me when I say this is the place! Matteo is the consumate hotelier and has a loyal and courteous staff (Oliver, Rosabel, Armando, etc) who go above and beyond to make you feel like you are their most important guest. I can only reiterate what others have said - rooms are Venetian in style (we like room 108), convenient arrival and departure by water taxi and a close walk to all the sights. I can truly say our favorite all-time memory of Venice is simply sitting on the terrace of Al Ponte Antico enjoying our morning cappucino's and freshly made crepes as Venice awakes. Watching the "rush hour" traffic on the grand canal is fascinating and you literally have a front row seat. It's hard to leave the pretty little terrace to go out and explore Venice, but remember when you return in the late afternoon, the terrace awaits, along with Matteo and a Venetian spritz or a Bellini! We hope you visit this hotel and leave with the same fond memories as we have.

Room Tip: Book a room with the canal view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HomDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Love this hotel! Right on the Grand Canal, a water taxi drops you right at the "doorstep" and the hotel staff greets you. From then on you are greeted by name by every staff member who introduces themselves, you are pampered for anything you want and you have one of the best possible locations for exploring Venice.

This hotel was the home of wealthy venice merchants who spared no expense. The ceilings are original and marvelous, but the hotel has all modern accomdations including the important hot water and a comfortable bed.

Beware there is no elevantor so everyone must go up/down one flight of stairs.

Room Tip: We had the closest room facing the canal and so it was a little noisier than the other rooms but thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraceofGod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#1 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,299 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#10 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,586 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 2,913 reviews
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#6 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing