We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Highlight of Venice!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
jbirdsal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Highlight of Venice!!!!!!”
Reviewed March 28, 2008

My wife and I were on our honeymoon and spent 3 weeks touring Italy. Matteo and this hotel are still the subject of many of our stories. And we stayed in many 4-5 star hotels. This place has it all. Service, location, spacious rooms with a view and gourmet breakfast on the terrace every morning and wine in the evening on the Grand Canal!!! Unbelievable! And, Matteo is the keystone. He is so passionate about his work. It is "his life". Without a doubt when we return to Venice, this is the only place for us to stay.

  • Liked — Matteo
  • Disliked — It was PERFECT!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jbirdsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,142
    76
    20
    9
    7
See reviews for
185
912
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2008

Staying here enhanced our trip to Venice ten fold - helpful and friendly staff, magnificent rooms, fabulous views and a central location.

During our too brief visit, we were treated like royalty by all the friendly and helpful staff. They were more than willing to talk to us about the city and advise us where to go to eat, the best times to visit the sites and provide valuable info on getting around the city.

Breakfast was served in the sumptous upstairs dining room, (with exceptional views of the Grand Canal and Rialto Bridge from the terrace) as were pre and post dinner drinks, which were always welcome before and after we ventured out into the city to explore.

Our bedroom was decorated with luxurious fabrics and was very spacious and comfortable. If brave enough, you can climb out the window and enjoy the view, shared only by the odd pigeon or seagull.

I would quite happily stay here again - am even tempted to give a negative review simply to keep this gem of a hotel to myself!

Thank you to all the staff for making my birthday trip so enchanting and memorable.

  • Liked — location, staff, views
  • Disliked — power shower was lacking some real power
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank purplenoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2008

From the moment we stepped in the door, my wife and I both knew that this was truly a special place.

Matteo - the hotel's owner - and his devoted staff were immediately helpful, and they continued to offer an unprecedented level of service throughout our stay. My wife and I have never experienced a hotel with this level of service before - any wish that we could ask for was immediately granted. We have stayed at hotels that offer superior service (such as the Four Seasons), but nothing has ever come close to the level of service that we received here.

We stayed at the Al Ponte Antico for 3 nights at the beginning of our Italy trip in February 2008.

The hotel itself is beautiful. Matteo just had the common (breakfast & bar) area renovated in time for Carnival, and the result is simply beautiful.

We stayed in the "Classic Double" room 104, which was very nice. The ceiling was very high, with a beautiful chandelier. The room was large. The bathroom had a heated towel rack and a jet tub, perfect for relaxing.

The location was perfect. There is a terrace overlooking the Grand Canal and the Rialto Bridge. In the summer you can have your breakfast outside on the terrace, but in the winter it was just a little too cold to eat outside. As you walk out the front door of the hotel, you are on a very quaint Venetian street, just steps away from some of the main shopping areas of Venice.

Breakfast was superb. Matteo personally cooked us eggs from his Grandmother's farm every morning, and the cappuccinos from his brand-
new hand made espresso machine were outstanding.

Matteo and his staff constantly gave us great suggestions: where to eat, what attractions to see, how much to pay for a Gondola ride, and so much more.

My wife and I have stayed at many hotels. But we both agree that without a doubt, the Al Ponte Antico Hotel is the best hotel we have ever stayed in. As we left the hotel and said our good-byes, we both had a sudden sadness come over us. We were both going to really miss Matteo, his staff, and the Al Ponte Antico hotel. I guess we are just going to have to go back.

  • Liked — The Hospitality
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BuffaloWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2008

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying in this wonderful hotel in February 2008. It enjoys a fantastic central location, is extremely comfortable and furnished and decorated in an appropriately opulent manner. The welcome was amongst the most warm and friendly that I have experienced in any hotel and the justifiably proud owner could not have been more helpful.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank EmacDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2008

This was the end of a 8 day vacation going from Monaco, Paris and on the Venice. We had just spent 2 nights at the Ritz in Paris and Al Ponte Antico made the Ritz shameful for its level of service.

Our service began when we pulled up in the water taxi and they knew our names, helped us with our MANY bags, checked us in all with a huge welcome smile.

The staff made all of our dining recommendations and all of our reservations .... we simply didn't have to think.

The hotel it self was great. Our room was a little bit small but was still very nice ( we also had a fair amount of luggage).

Venice was incredible ! but we found ourselves occasionally retreating back to the hotel to have a beer and talk to Matteo and all of the wonderful staff.

I have stayed at some of the best hotels in the world and I can tell you without exception they staff at this hotel CARES about your stay. They offer WORLD CLASS service.

Matteo has a few books in the window as you exit the building about Venice. We borrowed a book on the way out the door for our last day and as a vow to come back we left a lonely planet Venice book that we had purchased in Paris on the shelf and signed it. We told Matteo we would be back one day to re-claim it...... maybe we will just bring another one. :)

bottom line - this isn't a spa, they don't have a full kitchen, and no "bar" really... but if you want to stay at a world class place wit the best personal service in the world this is your place !

  • Liked — Personal service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bert68ku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2008

Stayed here for 4 nights in Feb. The location, beside the Rialto bridge is superb - everything within easy walking distance. Our room (No. 102) was lovely - high-ceilinged and spacious with chandelier, comfortable couch and armchairs and two beautiful, tall windows that opened onto an unobstructed view of the Grand Canal. The bathroom was small but perfectly adequate.
The hotel has free wireless internet access in all the rooms and the service is, as other reviewers have said, truly special . Matteo and his staff were unfailingly convivial, generous, courteous and thoughtful and made us feel as if nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was delicious - unlimited coffee, a buffet of all kinds of everything, eggs or crepes cooked to order if front of you. Overall, a great place.

  • Liked — Service and location
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Banjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Channel Islands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2008

Perfect place to stay. Venice was beautiful at this time of year and we were especially lucky with the weather - brilliant sunshine every day!
Matteo & his team were the usual excellent hosts and after our 4 night stay I felt we had completely unwound and relaxed.
We stayed in one of the suites with an amazing view of the canal and it was definitely worth paying that little bit more.
The only bad point - we had to leave!

  • Liked — The owners/staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaM15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,865 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 385 in Venice
3,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#4 of 385 in Venice
755 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Property: Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing