We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Unique Boutique Hotel on The Grand Canal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
151 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Charming and Unique Boutique Hotel on The Grand Canal”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We spent 3 enjoyable nights in this small (9 rooms) very Venetian hotel before catching a cruise. A water taxi is the best option from the airport (110 euros, but a great introduction to Venice and land taxis drop you off several blocks away) to the hotel's dock on the Grand Canal. It is impossible not to be won over by the friendly, helpful staff and and the old world elegance of the hotel. We felt as if we were being welcomed into a family home. Every staff member called us by our first names as they gave us a quick tour and took us to our spacious room decorated with antique furniture and fine fabric wallpaper with direct views across the Grand Canal. Our room (109) was at dock level. We couldn't see very far up and down the canal because the adjacent building on our right and room 108 across the hall jut out further towards the water, but we still had a great view.
The king sized bed was "European firm", but not rock hard like some other Italian hotels. The bathroom was not large, but was modern and well-maintained.The shower was small with folding door, but it had a multiple heads and worked quite well. Breakfast on the terrace with panoramic views of the Rialto Bridge and The Grand Canal was a treat. The location is an easy walk to all the main attractions and shopping areas. The owner, Matteo, should be congratulated for assembling such a wonderful, caring staff. Rosalba in the restaurant, Oliver, Robert, Lorenzo and everyone else went out of their way to meet our every need. If you want to experience true Italian hospitality in a one-of-a-kind setting, you will love this hotel.

Room Tip: 108 is a suite with probably the best view, but 103 on the terrace level and our room 109 have decen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2Dox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,126
    76
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
182
901
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This is a lovely small hotel with only eight rooms, kind of like a bed and breakfast. From the moment we arrived, we felt welcomed. Matteo greeted us by name as did all of his staff. David, Thomas, Oliver, Lorenzo and Rosaria (who made the best eggs every morning) were all so friendly and accommodating. Our room was awesome with a wonderful view of the Grande Canal. This stay was the best part of our 40th anniversary celebration.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrisnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We (my wife, son and I) have travelled alot and I have never put a review on tripadvisor until now. We loved our stay at this hotel and can highly recommend it to others, all the staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to assist us. Our room 102 was very spacious, not to mention beautiful with a fabulous view of the Rialto Bridge. It is very much run like a family business where the staff make you feel like part of their family. What really does make the Al Ponte Antico Hotel special, is that it is a small boutique hotel and not the usual standard 5 star larger hotel where you are just a guest. Along with some of the other comments we also wish we had arranged to stay longer than the 2 days booked. Without question we will be back, I'm already missing the fabulous breakfast on the balcony!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darrellskidmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
488 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I booked this hotel based on its rating in Tripadvisor an entire year ahead of time. I was not disappointed in the slightest. I have to say that this was one of my most delightful experiences in any hotel I've ever stayed in, anywhere. We were greeted by a charmingly helpful young man named Oliver who was a delight in every sense of the word. He knew our names when he greeted us at the private dock to the hotel. He was gentle, kind and in all ways the perfect man for this job. He made our stay a happy one. His personality is definitely suited to his work, and he is in every way a gentleman.

The room was more than we expected, and even with three people in the room (we had the room on the main floor next to the breakfast patio), it was more than enough space for us and our luggage. The room was spotlessly clean, and well appointed. Beds were comfortable and large. Pillows were very soft and the mattresses were great. The only thing I can complain about in the room is that the shower is very small, and for a large man at 6 foot 4, I felt a bit cramped, but given space limitations, I see why it is the way it is. It's a small price to pay for this excellent hotel.

We loved the patio where we had breakfast and drinks everyday. What a special place in a very special town. Unfortunately someone has defaced the Rialto Bridge with graffiti, and the view is somewhat marred, but it's a small mark on all of the beauty that is yours to behold as you look out from the patio onto the canal below you. We were in heaven. And with the absolutely attentive and friendly Rosalba to bring you your coffee, what could possibly be better than this? She was a wonderful server and so friendly and kind. The food was delicious and plentiful and my friends adored the coffee, as I'm not a coffee drinker. I loved the crepes and the omelets. Simply heavenly.

The owner, Mateo, was a very kind gentleman who graciously helped us with any logistical needs we had. He knows how to run a hotel, and his gentle nature complements this fine establishment. I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone who delights in old world comfort and charm. You won't be disappointed and you will want to return. I do!

Room Tip: We liked the room on the first floor near the breakfast patio. It was large, and roomy with great l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My 12 year old daughter and I loved every minute of our stay at Al Ponte Antico Hotel. The entire staff was incredibly welcoming and genuine. We were there for only one night and wished we could have stayed longer. It was like staying with a family and not at a hotel. The front patio area on the canal was great to relax and take it all in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOGIRLTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We had a special anniversary trip that included Venice and lucked out in our stay at Al Ponte Antico. Tucked into an alley near the Rialto Bridge (easy to find once you know where it is), we were fortunate to get one of only nine rooms in this special place. The staff -- from the owner to the night clerk -- were incredibly nice and helpful, the room was huge (as was the bathroom) and the "breakfast room" with its ornate banquettes and murano glass chandeliers was beautiful. But I think my favorite thing was sitting on the balcony and watching Venice's "highway" pass below. In the morning you see laundry services, garbage trucks, gondolas, police boats, fishing boats, vaporettos, and private boats, all competing for space near the Rialto. Nighttime the view was equally mesmerizing with the lights of cafes in the distance across the canal. Yes, Venice is expensive but it is worth the cost for the once in a lifetime city in the once in a lifetime hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

It's not often that we want to return to a hotel, but after our week at Hotel Al Ponte Antico 2 years ago we decided that we had to come back.

Arriving by water taxi straight to the landing at the hotel is extremely convenient, as is the location of the hotel, only about a 10 minute walk to Piazza San Marco. Breakfast on the terrace, watching life go by on the Grand Canal and under the Rialto Bridge, is just fabulous! As before, Matteo and his staff were endlessly helpful and informative, and I have no doubt that we will return again one day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zandogran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#3 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Property: Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing