We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique hotel, outstanding service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Last October we stayed for 4 nights at the Al Ponte Antico Hotel. We found this wonderful boutique hotel through Tripadvisor. The hotel is located in an old venetian palace right at
the Grand Canal and has been rejuvenated with a lot of love, taste and attention to detail.
Our room was very cozy and the service was outstanding. The terrace where one can have
breakfast or drinks in the evening offers a splendid view on the famous Rialto bridge and the
always busy Grand Canal. The owners, Matteo and his brother Bruno, both multi-lingual,
gave us such a warm welcome that we felt like coming home. During the entire stay they provided a first class service which made our visit to Venice an extremely pleasant one.
Matteo and Bruno answered all our questions promptly and gave us excellent advice (on
museums, markets, restaurants, shops, boat trips, etc.) going well beyond what a travel
guide book normally offers. One important highlight of the day was the FUNtastic breakfast.
Wonderful coffees, tasty omelets, crepes, fruits, etc., etc. Breakfast in paradise can not be
better. We recommend with great pleasure the Al Ponte Antico to anyone who would like to experience a joyful visit to Venice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Berlin68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

780 - 786 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Antico for 4 nights last weekend and I have to say, both Venice and this hotel have shot right to the top of our list of favourite places.

Firstly, the hotel is positioned fantastically. Right next to the Rialto Bridge, it has fantastic views. Especially with the rare Terrace. Even though it was mid-December we spent every evening sitting outside all wrapped up with a glass of Aperol Spritz (you have to try them!) just watching the world go by.

The room was fantastically decorated, with stunning high ceilings, a fabulous Murano Glass Chandelier and patterned cloth wall coverings. You can see what I mean from the hotel pictures.

The rest of the hotel was just beautiful as well. The dining room / bar was elaborately decorated and, a bit weird I know, but the coolest coffee machine I have ever seen!!

The thing that REALLY makes this hotel special, as you will gather from almost every review here is the service. Matteo, Bruno, Thomas, Rosalita and the rest of the staff are just the friendliest people you will ever meet. From the moment we stepped off the taxi boat from the airport (a great way to enter the city, by the way) to the moment we stepped back on to go back they were nothing but a pleasure to be around. As soon as we arrived Matteo gave us a warm welcome and a great introduction to Venice, recommending a good walk for us to take to get our bearings of the city and a recommendation of a restaurant for the evening.

When we first arrived I wondered if they would be "over friendly" and I'd be worried about being caught chatting every time, but this wasn't the case at all. They got it absolutely spot on. Just enough interaction to be friendly, but never crossing the line of being annoying. And they always appeared genuine, that they really enjoyed talking to everyone, taking an interest in what we had done that day and seen. I am sure they keep guest notes as all the different staff know who you are and what you have been up to, which I thought was a really nice personal touch.

Matteo also clocked us straight away. His restaurant recommendations were right up our street. We are really into our food, but not into stuffy restaurants. He recommended Osteria Le Botte for the first night as a good, simple, typically Venetian place and it was spot on. Again, super friendly staff and great food. The seafood platter to share for starter was delicious. Matteo's other recommendations were also spot on.

Overall, as you can probably tell, we have the most fantastic stay at Hotel Al Ponte Antico and I can safely say if, and when, when we go back to Venice we will most certainly stay here again. It just fits the Venetian lifestyle.

Thanks Matteo, Bruno and the rest of the staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 101, which was at the front of the hotel next to the terrace. In December, it fel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarkStokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

The hotel stays in a true venetian palace with a great view of the Grand Canal and the Rialto bridge. The room is very cozy and the service is the best that a hotel can offer. Thanks a lot for all the staff of Al Ponte Antico. You made our stay in Venice just perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntjeMuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

A beautiful hotel in an excellent location with exceptionally helpful staff. I would strongly recommend to anyone, we had a great time.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrAllardice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

My wife and I arrived at Al Ponte Antico on our honeymoon, booking the Junior Suite to match the occasion. We were not to be disappointed.
We were warmly greeted by Matteo on arrival and he gave us a short tour of his hotel, before showing us to the Suite. It was simply breath-taking with wonderful views from our room onto the bustling Grand Canal & the famous Rialto bridge.
Matteo had also left us a nice chilled bottle of fine Prosecco which was a lovely touch.
The friendliness & warmth from the other members of staff matched Matteo's hospitality. Bruno, Oliver, Thomas & Rosalda greeted us by name on first meeting us and their friendliness was true & genuine. Bruno and Oliver were especially helpful in recommending places to visit in Venice...and the wonderful Rosalda made our breakfast each morning a real joy. The breakfast buffet was extensive and quite simply delicious. It was a little too chilly to take breakfast on the terrace when we visited in November, but the staff still ensured we had a lovely table in the dining area facing out onto the Grand Canal.
Don't hesitate to book this hotel, OK it's a little more expensive than others, but we felt it was worth every single penny for the quite wonderful Venetian experience we had.
Thank you Matteo, Oliver, Bruno, Rosalda and Thomas...you made our honeymoon an un-forgettable experience. Peter and Gemma (Belfast, Northern Ireland)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter_and_Gemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

The only thing more dear than the hotel is feeling that you are so welcome in their special place in Venice. This hotel is very popular and with Matteo and Bruno unwilling to let the hotels popularity get to their head they deliver hospitality as if you were the first and most important customer. Rooms are a piece of art as are the common areas of the hotel. Breakfasts are as good as they get. The only negative is that by writing ANOTHER good review it becomes increasingly difficult to book on short notice to this fabulous spot in such a fabulous City.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dilo-Jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Matteo, Bruno, Oliver and Rosalva all make you feel extremely welcome and pampered at Hotel Al Ponte Antico. This hotel is tucked away down a narrow alley off the main shopping walkway in the sector just North of Rialto Bridge, and is right on the Grand Canal. You can arrive by water taxi to its own private dock, or walk from the nearby Rialto Vaporetto stop. Matteo and Bruno, who own this hotel and several others in Italy, together with Oliver, welcome you with open arms, tell you a bit about the palazzo where you will stay while someone takes your bags to your room, then introduce you to your room and make sure you have everything you need. They are available at any time to provide assistance, advice, very knowledgeable dining or sightseeing guidance, or a drink or beverage of your choice in their charming dining area or patio overlooking the Grand Canal. We stayed in a deluxe room overlooking the canal on the ground floor. The room was very large, clean, and well appointed, as well as beautiful. The breakfast buffet served in their bar sitting area is perfect, and they will cook up eggs or delicious Florentine style crepes to order.

Everything about our 2-night stay was great, with the sole exception that we found the bed far too hard for our comfort and slept badly the first night. Informed of this in the morning, Matteo immediately had our mattresses changed to somewhat softer ones, and we did better the second night. This is a common problem in Italy, where we were told that they consider a hard mattress the sign of a new mattress. This is the only negative, but an important one to consider, since as Matteo himself made clear, getting a good night's rest is most important.

Just to be clear, we absolutely would return to this hotel, but we may bring our own comforter, or at least let them know in advance that we require a softer mattress - good advice at any hotel in Italy.

Room Tip: Splurge for a deluxe if at all possible, one with a canal view, to get the larger, better appointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ECrowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 385 in Venice
1,962 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Locanda Orseolo
Locanda Orseolo
#2 of 385 in Venice
2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 385 in Venice
3,843 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#5 of 385 in Venice
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $287 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing