We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to propose”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2011

From the moment we entered Al Ponte Antico we knew this was a really special boutique hotel. The team were welcoming and knew our names and could not do enough to ensure we enjoyed their Hotel and their City. Our room overlooking the canal was magnificent and close to the terrace offerring a stunning view over the Rialto Bridge. Matteo and Bruno and all the team were perfect hosts and so pleased to help us when we asked about directions, vaporetti etc etc. In a city where tourist restaurants abound they also offered us wise suggestions on restaurants which meant we ate like Venetians not out of towners. This really is a brilliant hotel and I have to say is probably the best I've stayed in; including some big hitters in various cities. So perfect was the view from the terrace I abandoned plans to propose in the Piazza and did it here instead. A special memory of a perfect hotel.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and have a view over the canal - all Ventian life is there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FerdyPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

792 - 798 of 1,340 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2011

No wonder this is on the Top 25 best hotel list! Beautifuly decorated rooms and hotel. The service was absolutely amazing. Wonderfully charming and helpful owners. They really took care of us and had the best tips on local restaurants and places to visit. The location is unbeatable with unforgetable breakfast views from the hotel balcony to the Rialto. Once in a lifetime unforgettable experience for us and I would really love to go back some day.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notrichbutchoosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Al Ponte Antico is a converted 14-century palazzo in the Cannaregio district that is run by a couple of brothers who insist upon personalized service for all the guests. The hotel and its rooms are absolutely gorgeous. Breakfast was the best we had in Italy (especially the made-to-order crepes) and the breakfast terrace overlooking the Grand Canal is stunning.

Cannaregio is not nearly as touristy as San Marco but offers plenty of shops and restaurants. It's a short 10-minute walk to the heart of Piazza San Marco.

Love the Al Ponte Antico!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed at Al Ponte Antico for 3 nights in September. The owner of the hotel warmly greeted us and gave us a tour of the common areas of the small hotel. Decorated in the Venetian style, the dining room is a lovely setting to enjoy the breakfast buffet that included an assortment of pastries, meats and cheeses, fruit and made to order omelets. Cappuccinos and lattes are offered each morning and drinks are served throughout the afternoon and evening which can be enjoyed on the terrace overlooking the Grand Canal. Now for the not-so-good: our room, located directly behind the computer desk in the dining area, was very dark due to insufficient lighting and one small window, the bed and pillows were very hard, the worn blanket was not covered with a top sheet, and the air conditioning was not able to properly cool the room due to its high ceilings. The low ceiling in the bathroom made standing in the tub to shower impossible for a person over 5'7" tall. Finally to the ugly: this hotel is located on the famous Grand Canal with a view of the equally famous Rialto Bridge. The Rialto Bridge is covered with graffiti and has a steady stream of tourists elbowing their way across throughout the day to buy cheap souvenirs. The Grand Canal is Venice's equivalent to Chicago's Eisenhower Expressway. As lifelong urban residents, we prefer a more quiet location and would choose a hotel in an area further from St. Mark's Plaza. If you prefer to be close to St. Mark's this hotel would be an advantage.

Room Tip: Our friends stayed in the room directly across from the bar in the dining room. Their room had a be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chitowngirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Our stay in this hotel was one of the highlights of our anniversary holiday. Bruno, Matteo, Oliver, Armando and Tammaso are outstanding at customer service. If only the big chains could emulate their attitude. We stayed in a small downstairs room, but it was comfortable and welcomming, with towelling dressing gowns and Venetian decorations. The breakfasts were great, especially the scrambled eggs personally prepared by Matteo, and served on the external balcony on the Grand canal with a view of the Rialto Bridge aproximately 150 metres away. And to have all the staff call us by name added to the experience.

Location is good. Make sure you make reservations if you wish to have dinner at any of Oliver's recommendations. To stay at the hotel is not cheap, but it is value for money. We have no reservations about recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ericguy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Truly, a night in the "Jr. Suite" was beyond my means, so (unknown to the wife) I went for broke and booked four nights. We previously stayed at their sister Venetian facility, Locanda Orseolo, so we knew that in addition to the exceptional, friendly and professional staff, there would also be a wonderful buffett breakfast (including chocolate, banana crepes by Matteo). What I didn't realize was how fabulous the "Jr. Suite" (108) actually was. The entire hotel is outstanding, but in that room in particular, I felt as thought I'd been annointed the new Doge of Venice. I hereby declare this to have been the most worthwhile extravagence of my life. Our sincere thanks to Oliver, Armando, Max, Tommaso, Rosalba, Menelio and (of course) Matteo (who's really not that handsome - it's the clothes) for an exceptional experience at the Al Ponte Antico.

Room Tip: If you're in Venice and not staying at the Doge's Palace, there can't be a room better t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gastro_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed in this hotel to round out the last few days of our vacation. The service was impeccable, and the location was great. The rooms were decorated in true Venetian style and thankfully had "air conditioning". The bed was a little hard, but we slept well after walking and sightseeing all day. This boutique hotel only has 9 rooms and we got one of the rooms with a view of the canal. We could see the Rialto Bridge from our window. It was also great to step out of our room and have breakfast available. This hotel has a neat sitting area along the canal and you can just enjoy watching the boat traffic. I definitely recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a great hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMuckey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 385 in Venice
1,961 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Locanda Orseolo
Locanda Orseolo
#2 of 385 in Venice
2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
3,839 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#4 of 385 in Venice
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $287 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing