We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradisio” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Golmud, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Paradisio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed for four nights at the Al Ponte Antico Hotel and were treated as Venetian nobility by the entire staff of the hotel. It is a small boutique hotel located directly on the Grand Canal with a view of the Rialto bridge.The personal attention from the staff, who know everyone by their first names make it seem more like you are staying in someone's private villa. The hotel's location is perfect being close to all of the major sites and not very far from Piazzale San Marco which is a hub of activity. The owner, Matteo, and his staff (Oliviero & Tomas) could not have done more to make our stay exceptional. My husband and I had a very spacious room over the terrace where breakfast is served and right off the gorgeous dining room. Ask the staff to make you one of their refreshing Venetian Spritz cocktails. We highly recommend the Al Ponte Antico and will definitely return to this hotel. Thanks so much for such a memorable stay. You made all of the difference. :)

Room Tip: Room 101 is right on the Grand Canal, a huge room but only has a very small shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trishgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,093
    74
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
177
874
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

A truly welcoming hotel with very friendly and attentive staff. Small hotel with a limited number of rooms in a very central location near the Rialto bridge.
Sumptuous dining room with terrace overlooking the Grand Canal. Beautiful place to enjoy your breakfast, with eggs cooked to your personal taste by the owner Matteo.
Our room was very comfortable, the only slight critiscism would be that the bathroom was quite small for such a large room. Overall an excellent, if premium priced, place to stay for a special romantic occasion.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shentone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

Our visit began with my husband and I being greeted at the taxi dock by the owner. After a quick tour, we were shown our gorgeous room sand our luggage had already been delivered. The room was simply sumptuous with beautiful fabric covered walls and matching fabric throughout. The view from the room was of the Grand Canal, just past the Rialto Bridge. Watching Venice's version of traffic was a fun spectacle each day.

Mateo, the owner, listened carefully to our requests and always more than delivered. We were greeted by name by every staff member. They remembered our preferences and gave good suggestions for dining and sightseeing.

Whenever in Venice, this will be the first choice for where to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2GoAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
592 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

My wife son and I stayed for four nights at the Al Ponte Antico Hotel and were treated as Venetian nobility of the past must have lived. It is called a hotel but the small size and personal attention from the staff make it seem more like you are staying in someone's private home. And that home happens to be on the Grand Canal. The location is ideal being close to all of the major sites and just minutes from the Rialto Bridge. But it is also hidden down a small calle so you have privacy. There is a private canal entrance if you arrive by water taxi. The owner, Matteo, and his staff could not have done more to make our stay exceptional. My wife and I had a very spacious room with a view of Grand Canal. We were right next to the terrace where breakfast is served with a view that epitomizes La Serenissima. We cannot recommend the Al Ponte Antico more highly.

Room Tip: Room 102 has a view of the Grand Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarpeNox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

What a hotel!! The service is absolutely second to none, the room was great, the view of the Rialto bridge and the Grand Canal was spectacular, we could willingly have stayed on the terrace all day and watched Venice at work and at play
Would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Enright74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

Our wonderful stay commenced with arriving by water taxi at the Hotel's private berth to be met by the charming Oliver. We were made to feel welcome from the very beginning.

To have a room opening up onto the Grande Canal with views to the nearby Rialto Bridge was like being in Paradise. All day there was activity on the Canal, from early morning when the tradesmen, etc would go past in their boats laden with building materials or large linen bags for the many hotels. Then all the ferries packed with workers and later on the relaxing gondolas.

The room was large, with beautiful furnishings. The entire Hotel was tastefully decorated. The terrace on the first floor is incredible You can have breakfast there or just wander out and sit any time during the day or night.

One of the recommended restaurants in particular, and about 2 minutes from the Hotel, was excellent. It is Barababao and has lovely efficient but friendly staff, including the Owner. Fish dishes are great and the value very good, including the wines.

There were however some disappointments with the Hotel. WiFi reception was very intermittent and access expired every 24 hours. This was quite annoying. The hot breakfast was brilliant as you could order any style of eggs, including choice of omelettes Also very nice cappucinnos. Unfortunately the choice of fruit was very poor, with one variety only of tinned fruit and a very small selection of whole fruit. Nothing really to have with your cereal. We ended up buying our own fruit at shops. There was also a very limited range of cereals. A better breakfast would be expected of such a high class Hotel. Staff at breakfast were extremely friendly.

The great bar area, where breakfast is held in the mornings is always available. However, despite the fact that there is always someone available to pour you a drink or coffee, you may receive a shock when you pay your room bill at the end. The extras, ie drinks and coffee, mount up and you are not aware of the cost when you have them.

Often the front desk is unattended as the receptionist may be upstairs pouring drinks in the bar or elsewhere. We noticed this when we arrived as the water taxi driver went inside to find someone to help with our bags but it took some time to find someone. The driver was not impressed. Also inconvenient when you return to the Hotel and have to wait for someone to appear so you can retrieve your key.

Our room in general was clean, but the first day we noticed small pieces of glass on the floor and rug. Despite notifying staff there were still pieces there when we departed several days later. Meant wearing shoes the entire time.

We loved the Hotel and would definitely stay again, just that a few minor improvements would improve the Hotel to match the high tariff and the Hotel's rating.

Room Tip: Ground floor, overlooking Canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevoSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

A lovely hotel in an amazing location. You can literally spend hours watching the parade on the grand canal go by. Beautiful Venetian interiors, friendly staff and the amazing terrace balcony are what make this hotel so popular. As mentioned by others the beds are very firm and we couldn't imagine spending more than a night or two sleeping on them. If a quick visit to Venice is your thing then this hotel is definitely worth a try.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Internationalhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,433 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#4 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Property: Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing