We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magical Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Magical Experience”
Reviewed November 13, 2007

And the winner of the most charming, conscientious, hard-working, dedicated hotel owner is ...... Matteo. He made our trip one of the most wonderful ever. To be greeted by him and his staff at the private taxi dock at sunset is to feel as if you are in a James Bond movie.

The breakfast, all coooked personally and individually to one's requirements by Matteo, are outstanding. He and his staff make one feel like the most honoured guests ever, and remembered all our names.

The hotel itself is like a dream, and the views are outstanding. You can see the photos posted by other reviewers, and they're all that and better.

This is one of best stays in Europe I've ever had, and I cannot recommend it too highly.

  • Liked — Pretty much everything
  • Disliked — No complaints at all
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Aerosmithfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,142
    76
    20
    9
    7
See reviews for
185
912
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2007

We stayed at this wondeful little hotel last week for our first visit to Venice . The help and advice we received from Matteo, Oliviero and all the staff was second to none. All the restaurant recommendations were excellent ; the advice on where to walk etc was brilliant. We were very grateful to be right in the centre but in such a calm oasis. They made us feel so welcome instantly - we can not wait to go back.

  • Liked — patio overlooking the canal
  • Disliked — no seating areas
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank didi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 511 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2007

There is no doubt that the staff at this intimate, unique and charming hotel on the Grand Canal offer a service that is second to none. Personally, as a shy and self-conscious English woman, I found Matteo's personal attention over effusive and uncomfortable but I realise that the issue is entirely mine and that Matteo's enthusiasm for attending to the needs of his guests and his passion for his city is both sincere and inspirational. His staff are equally helpful and friendly and welcomed us with genuine attentiveness.

The location of the Al Ponte Antico is perfect and the views of the Rialto Bridge from the terrace are unforgettable. Do not miss the opportunity to linger over a glass of wine and watch the sun set over the Grand Canal. Our room with views of the Grand Canal was beautiful, spacious and clean. Within seconds of stepping out of the hotel you are absorbed into the maze of enchanting alleys and streets and within very easy reach of St Marks Square.

I thoroughly recommend this exquisite hotel and wish you a memorable stay.

  • Liked — The location and intimacy of this small and charming hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jigglypuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2007

We have just returned from Italy and the jewel of the trip was our stay in Venice. Matteo and his staff are truly unique and only add to the beauty of this hotel. I would highly recommend the Jr Suite with windows that open onto to the grand canal. It is mesmerizing to watch Venice go by literally out side your window. Breakfasts on the terrace are amazing. It is hard to believe that Matteo cooks personally for all guests. Venice is loaded with tourists and it was so enjoyable to return to our very private suite on the canal each day. This hotel is going to be difficult to book as word gets out. Matteo has only had the property since April and has plans for renovation. So reserve well in advance!

  • Liked — The view of Grand Canal
  • Disliked — no comment
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Frenchie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stafford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2007

We have just returned from a wonderful experience at the Al Ponte Antico, our first trip to Venice. It was a special trip so we studied numerous hotels and chose this for location and great reviews. Still you never can tell until you arrive but this was everything and more we had hoped for. We felt very lucky to be stopping in a beautiful suite with french windows opening on to the Grand Canal , watching Venetian life pass by. The staff were unbelievable led by Matteo and his personal touch, nothing was too much trouble. He spent lots of time making all feel welcome and he is rightfully proud of the breakfasts he cooks each day , particularly his family's eggs. There are undoubtedly larger and more famous hotels to stay in but we would definitely have this as our first choice again. I do fear now that vacancies will be hard to come by but it is only fair people get to know about this special place.

  • Liked — Views, location and staff
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berty2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2007

Matteo, the owner and his staff have prefected the art of hotel management. They knew and remembered our names and were available every moment to help in our visit to their great city of Venice. They made dinner reservations for us and recommended several places. They provided maps to help us navigate the streets and get from place to place. The breakfasts were to die for, (Italian breakfasts are not like the USA) but Matteo made them individually for us from scratch. The hotel was beautiful with the best location in Venice. I will go back here every time I visit.

  • Liked — Breakfasts and Hotel Location
  • Disliked — No view of Canal from room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Molly769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2007

We stayed at the Al Ponte Antico Hotel for 2 nights in July 2007. The location of the hotel cannot be beat - they have a lovely patio that sits directly above the Grand Canal. It is the perfect place to enjoy breakfast or a drink. The rooms were comfortable, clean and modern.

The true draw to this hotel, however, is the owner and his staff. Matteo loves the city of Venice and wants all of his guests to enjoy the city as much as he does. The staff were always ready to assist with a dinner reservation, directions or even an umbrella. Matteo personally cooked our breakfast and made sure he was present for our arrival and departure. This hotel is all about the people and experiencing Venice the way it should be with the help of locals who love the city!!!!

Dave & Kim (Denver, Colorado)

  • Liked — The Staff and the location.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kabdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,865 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 385 in Venice
3,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#4 of 385 in Venice
755 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ponte Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ponte Antico Hotel

Property: Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Address: Calle dell'Aseo | Cannaregio 5768, 30131 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#4 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ponte Antico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Al Ponte Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Antico Venice
Hotel Al Ponte Antico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing