We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good budget hotel in Venice :)”
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Florida
Ranked #229 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good budget hotel in Venice :)”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed in this hotel as a part of our honeymoon trip. The Hotel Florida served our purposes excellently. The location was super as I had my car parked in Garage San Marco in Piazzale Roma, which was like 5 minutes walk from the hotel. This was great as on out last day we had to leave the hotel early and therefore it was very comfortable to be so close. The staff were all excellent and polite. A big thank you must go to Emmanuele on front desk for having spent time to explain to us which are the best places to visit in Venice and how to get there in the shortest and cheapest way possible. His help was very much appreciated. The breakfast was also very good as upon sitting down the staff came over to the table with a nice basket full of excellent croissants and bread.
Just one comment I would like to make: Make sure you check your hot water system as everytime we needed a shower we were wasting a LOT of water until the hot water became available. Should you sort that out you will even get cheaper water bills as people won't be wasting too much water.
However, we would definitely return back to hotel Florida should we ever go back to Venice :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    251
    202
    48
    33
See reviews for
140
307
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Carrollton, Ohio
Level Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We did as much advanced research as we could regarding where to stay one night on the island. We ended a cruise in Venice and were staying one more day in Venice. We were leaving by train the next morning and looked for a hotel near the station. Based on proximity to the train station, price, access to the Vaporetto, and the abundance of restaurants, this was a great choice. The ratings suggested that this place is only average and that proved to be the case. The re-use of old buildings means that not much is purpose built and has been modified & updated for present use, as in this hotel. The rooms were large enough, older furnishings, bathrooms are raised to accommodate the necessary plumbing. The room were OK clean but not pristine and felt a little grungy. The ladies noted some small gnat-like bugs, don't know what to say about that. While the bathrooms were very small and tight, they were very clean and no problems were noted there. The staff were awesome and did everything they could to make your stay well. When noted that we would be leaving before breakfast service was started, they immediate ask if they could provide us with boxed breakfasts for the train, which we readily accepted. Based on the need to be near the train and on the island, this was an OK option for a single night. If we had stayed multiple days, there would be better options.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramlorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Venice was the last stop of our Italian holiday and we chose Hotel Florida for its location- very near to Santa Lucia train station. I had e-mailed them 1 week prior to our trip to reconfirm bookings but did not receive any reply. Thank goodness our bookings were firm.
The male receptionist was extremely helpful (can't say the same for the girl, though).
The room was dated but very spacious and well-decorated. Cleanliness top notch. However, it lacked some amenities such as a speedy kettle and some cups. Hot water was erratic as well.
Breakfast was at a small room on the ground floor. Pastries, meats and cheese, yoghurt, eggs, fresh juice and of course coffee/ tea. Fairly good breakfast, but the place was a little bit cramped. Waitresses were friendly despite it being busy.
Although located very close to the train station, it was quite a bit of a walk to the bus station for the bus to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nur a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floridaVenezia, Proprietario at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks for the time you've spent reviewing our Hotel.
Let us answer to some of your inaccuracies in depicting our Hotel.
As per the "unreceived" confirmation, we always check and answer ALL the emails we receive from our guests so we can only assume our email ended directly in your email account's spamhole.
Obviusly anyone can have a bad day but let us say that we are really proud of our staff. In fact all our receptionists, male and female, are always willing to solve any problem our guests may have and are always polite expecially toward polite people.
Talking of the staff, they always provide boiled waters (and cups) upon request of our guests so that there's no reason to provide each room with kettle (that could "disappear") and cups.
As per the breakfast room size, we have already written in several previous answers, that we always offer our guests the opportunity to get breakfast served in the room for free to avoid the crowd.
Regarding the Hotel location, let us point out that we are just 5 minutes (walking distance) away from Venice Piazzale Roma (where all the busses to and from the airport leave and arrive). Perhaps our hotel's the among the few closest to the bus terminal here in Venice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Room: dirty, battered, grotty and tattered. Un-swept, un-dusted, broken bits everywhere, ripped and dirty wallpaper, no bedhead on two of the three beds, dirt under beds, hallway very dirty, furniture battered and uncoordinated. Two staircases- no lift- but no help offered. Dining room ridiculously cramped, very grotty and battered, Food not great- lacked freshness. Foyer filthy and stair carpet ingrained with dirt. Our booking, through booking.com, could not be found on hotel system. Complained about poor room, politely, to a receptionist but she was unapologetic, un-smiling and simply said we were lucky to be on the top floor as if we'd been on the first floor the noise overhead would have been annoying... It was so gruesome we stayed out as long as possible: really spoiled our holiday in beautiful Venice.

Room Tip: The rooms on first floor were better- saw them- but not for us, sadly. TIP: see with your eyes- don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Confidentialclerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floridaVenezia, Direttore at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks for the time you've spent reviewing our Hotel even if we really don't know where to start to object your statements.
First of all, let us kindly say that we consider very unfair your behavior as all your complaints have only been made on the day prior to your check-out date.
We always try to do our utmost to accomplish with any client request while in the Hotel. Our task is to help all our guests as we really want them to feel like home. We're always smiling and willing to help when we have cooperative people in front of us...
Unfortunately, there are guests unwilling to get satisfied and in your case our sincere sensation's that we could have done nothing to please you.
We can remember very well that your FIRST complain only regarded the noise of the steps you heard from the upper floor (there're two old people leaving on the upper flat and no one ever complained about the "noise" they make). On that occasion you insisted on having a discount.
About the newly refurbished rooms, let us say that we're really proud of the way our housemaids clean every room of our hotel and, at least judging from the comment you can find and read, especially on the online travel agencies web-sites, our guests are as well.
Our maid follow a strict standard rule to obtain the cleaness our customer pretend and appreciate.
Your room was in fact clean as always (indeed there are no photos you posted that can prove this wrong).
It's true, there was a tear on the wallpaper, but except that we can't really understand how such a fluff could have spoiled your stay in Venice, your lack of cooperation's clear. In fact you should have communicated us the problem from the first day you entered the room as we've two mainteinance men ready to fix such problems.
Besides, you omitted to say (only to promptly insert the photos of the wet wallpaper on Tripadvisor AFTER your leaving) that a water damage due to the water dripping from the upper floor had occurred during your stay. Your prompt cooperation could have avoided things to get worse.
Again, the photo of the chandelier lacking a bulb (!) only prove your lack of cooperation as you could have said us to replace the dead bulb and we would have act consequently.
About breakfast, everyone passing by the Hotel in the early morning, could testify the freshness and would be charmed by our food’s fragrance.
We bake croissants and bread every day ( take into consideration that small hotels usually provide wrapped food), and our salami, ham and cheese freshness’s always appreciated by our guests.
Breakfast room’s a little small but we always offer our guests the opportunity to get breakfast served in the room (no extra costs) instead of queueing but, gain, you made no complain during your staty.
It’s all a matter of lack of cooperation…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had just 1 night before before our cruise. There was a group of 9 so 4 double/twin & 1 single lady, the 4 double rooms were the size of a postage stamp however our single lady friend had a massive room with a king size bed plus a single beautiful painting just like you see in many brochures for Italy we all had a good laugh at the logic of this!!!!! The rooms were small but quite adequate which seems to be the norm in Europe. The only downside was our air con didn't work the receptionist said it was the batteries however after having them changed it still didn't work hence we spent the night being bitten by mossies as we had the window open, if we had been staying longer we would of spoken to reception again & I am sure going on the service we received it would of been rectified. Good hotel, great location, excellent breakfast, clean & friendly staff. There is no lift so travel light. Overall a good stay.

Room Tip: If you have a lot f luggage or have mobility issues request a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This Hotel has of the friendliest receptions we have ever encountered. All the staff that dealt with us were only too pleased to welcome us and deal with all our enquiries. All the back room staff and cleaners were just as friendly ..a true credit to the people of Venice

The Hotel itself was adequate for our needs and in a perfect location for all transportation links (1 minute from the boats, 3 minutes from the train station.

The room was comfortable and adequate for our needs considering the price. I do think that in time it will need a little bit of updating. Wi-fi does not seem to extend to individual rooms which was a little frustrating but it was perfect downstairs.

The only thing we would mention is the cleanliness of the bathroom. Wether the cleaner had not paid close attention to detail or if she used a dirty cloth I don't know but there was a considerable amount of black hair from what we presumed to be the previous occupant. To be fair we didn't raise this as an issue with reception though and I'm more than confident that had we brought it up they would have seen to it immediately.

Overall a very pleasant stay and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I always come back to the same street. It is a quiet place to rest after the crowds and noise of the rest of Venice. The room was clean and the staff helpful. Just out the door is the vaporetto stop to travel any where in Venice. I always come back. There is no need to drag my luggage to a hotel closer to St. Mark and no line to wait in when the train arrives at the station.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larrycollins3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floridaVenezia, Direttore at Hotel Florida, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your experience at the Hotel Florida.
It's a pleasure to know that you had a comfortable stay and that your expectations were met! Our first priority is to take care of every aspect of your stay (cleaness in particular) and we're glad you appreciated our location, one of our strongest points.
As you say we're in a very strategic point as we're close (in terms of walking distance) both to the railway station, the bus terminal and the center of the city.
We would be delighted to welcome you soon again!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#274 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Cannaregio
Universo Nord Hotel
Universo Nord Hotel
#246 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Cannaregio
Dolomiti Hotel
Dolomiti Hotel
#238 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#191 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Cannaregio
Hotel Guerrini
Hotel Guerrini
#209 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Property: Hotel Florida
Address: Calle Priuli Ai Cavaleti Cannaregio 106, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #229 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Florida 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Venice
Florida Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing