We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated”
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Florida
Ranked #244 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed with friends earlier this month. It was my first visit to Venice.
I found the hotel rather cramped, it was a good job that we had left our big suitcases at our main hotel in Torbole, as we would never have got them up the second flight of stairs. There is a sign saying "Bar" right by reception and pointing into the dining room. Despite this, there was no bar. When we queried it, the Receptionist said they had no barman, but he did offer us a bottle of wine (very dry white wine) from behind where the bar would have been. There was wifi in our room, the password to which was given when we arrived.
There is very little space in the dining room at breakfast, and the hotel seemed to have more guests that they are used to as there was not enough space to fit every one in - one group took one look at the full dining hall, and decided to go out for breakfast instead.
The bath had to be run for nigh on 10 minutes before any hint of hot water came through. There was no pressure behind it, so we never even tried using the shower.
The breakfast was plentiful, and stood you in good stead for a day exploring Venice. The Staff were extremely helpful and friendly and gave us clear directions to places (along with a small mini map of Venice).
Would I stay here again? That would depend on who I was with. As stated previously, there is no Bar, so nowhere to sit, relax with a drink (be it a lemonade, Coke or even a tea/coffee) after exploring Venice all day. There arent even any tea/coffee making facilities in the room, so you cant relax there either, and our room only had a single chair, which meant sitting on the bed.

Room Tip: The stairs up to the second floor are narrow and steep, not easy to negotiate if you have more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jakx1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floridaVenezia, Proprietario at Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Sir,
what should i have to say...you're complaining about the BAR in a city like Venice, you choose to stay in a two star hotel, you should have come in the Danieli, over there there is a wonderful roof garden with a bar with a large variety of scotch, long drink any kind of alcool you need....your rating is inappropriate .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 679 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

We just back from stay at this hotel, which is in a brilliant location, so close to train station, and so easy to find. Staff were very helpfull and efficient, and spoke english, and were extremely informative and genuinely interested in their guests requests.
All sights in Venice are easily within walking distance from this hotel, so are the water taxis. Our room was lovely, very spacious and in keeping with Venice. Breakfast was a lovely feast of beautiful Italian meats, cheese, bread and the most wonderful croissants and jam, with the usual cereals, yhogurt, fruit. I preferred this being served, than the usual "self service" line up.

Room Tip: our room was no 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane4pat1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floridaVenezia, Proprietario at Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your appreciation, we all work to let you have a memorable stay in our Hotel in the most beautiful city of the world.
Hope to welcome back you soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon for two nights. The hotel was simple and in a good location to the train station and water taxis.

The room was VERY tiny and had the worst bed of our entire 3 week honeymoon. It felt like we were sleeping on a cot. The hotel sits on an alley which can get very loud at night and a church is very close by where bells ring at 700 am. I think I would have been 20x happier if a better bed would have been placed in the room.

The service of the hotel was marginal. When we had a question the front desk attendant was on his phone and never got off. We asked the front desk to help us make a phone call about one of our tours and he said he couldn't do that for us that we needed to go use our room phone with a service fee.

The breakfast was marginal with fruit, cereal, and bread.

I would not stay here again or recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floridaVenezia, Proprietario at Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Clients,
Thank you for your review, we are sorry you found our room tiny and the bed inside the worst of your honeymoon, we change mattresses every year or at maximum every two year, the room in which you were had the change this year, but i can understand that in honeymoon you would like to have something simply astonishing....the room is a normal size, if you check what our guest use to say, they're usually happy...then ther's the one like you .
Breakfast it's absolutely not marginal but plenty of food except you came after breakfast time, in this case you have to settle of what you find .
Our staff is our strength , we take very much care of the kindness, courtesy and education of our employers , an answer like the one you described it's unacceptable except if the applicant doesn't use the same courtesy and politeness....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

stayed 2 nights at this hotel with 2 friends just over a week ago.staff on reception very pleasant and helpful other staff do not seem to understand a lot of english.room was clean and room for 3 of us to share,but in need of a bit of prettying up.breakfast was plentyful but no english tea only fruit tea and coffee.advertised a bar but when we asked abut it we were told there wasno barperson so no bar.thought this was a little odd as we would have expected the reception staff to take over this job.I`m afraid it would be unlikely for me to stay at this hotel again,

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crazyoap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floridaVenezia, Proprietario at Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear Guet,
We are a two star hotel, we do NOT have a bar.
It seem you choose the wrong solution for your holiday, next time try a four star hotel, there will be different price for sure but they might have a bar open 24h.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is my first time at Hotel Florida and although it was clean it was in need of some updating,maybe a lick of paint etc,the staff were lovely and the breakfast was plentiful but not sure if i would go there again.It advertised a bar but due to lack of a barman it was never open so there was no relaxing in the evening in the hotel if you wanted a drink.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audreycurley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floridaVenezia, Proprietario at Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear Guet,
We are a two star hotel, we do NOT have a bar.
It seem you choose the wrong solution for your holiday, next time try a four star hotel, there will be different price for sure but they might have a bar open 24h.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The best thing abot this hotel is location and staff. Both excellent. Location is very close to St. Lucia railway station and in front of water tram stop Ferrovia which is big communication hub. One stop from Piazza Roma. Room was of a good size, however defenitely requires refreshemnt as the rest of the hotel. We were surprised to have to pay for the whole stay upfront (owner requirement we were told). Wifi worked only very close to the door. Breakfast is basic, only cold stuff (ham, cheese, buns, croissants, jam, cereal, hard boiled eggs, some frutis) - its given on a single plate to each table, not a buffet. There is a shortage of a hot water - shower was possible only in the afternoon. Pressure of water was sometimes so low that shower was not working, only tab. Bed was comfortable, room has been clean. Despite those mentioned above drawbacks we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floridaVenezia, Proprietario at Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear Customer,
Thank you for the time you dedicate us to write your review, we are sorry you find out some displacement even though we didn't had any complain from other customer, anyway we would like to point out as follows :
Wifi, works in all the rooms and in all the common part of the hotel, unlukly sometimes we do have some lack of service from the internet provider but it's just for few hours.
BREAKFAST, it's not a regular buffet, since we do not have big space, but whatever you'll ask you'll have, salami, ham , cheese, bread butter jam, croissant ,muesli, fresh fruit, cakes,cornflakes, bolied eggs, yogurt, two kind of juice, any hot drink you want...saying it's basic mean you need lunch and dinner, but are just an hotel, not a restaurant!
SHOWER , never had any kind of problem with shower during morning, afternoon or evening....

In any case we would like to remind you we are a two stars hotel, with very high standard but always a two star....maybe you were looking for a four star hotel with the price of two....noway !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel contributed a great deal to our enjoyment of our one week stay, which apparently is quite a long time in Venice. All the reception staff were particularly helpful and friendly, lending us books, providing Italian lessons, recommending restaurants and giving us a leaving present etc, etc. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfasts had a good selection and were exactly what you would expect to find in most European hotels. The beds were very comfortable and everything functioned properly in our room. We even had a plug in mosquito repellent.

We found the location good, not only for the train and bus station but also, being further away from the most touristy areas meant better value and service in local restaurants etc.

We would definitely highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul1946_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floridaVenezia, Proprietario at Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear,
All the staff want to thatnk you for the appreciation, we always try to to our best .
We do hope to welcome you soon again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Villa Rosa
Hotel Villa Rosa
#187 of 385 in Venice
530 reviews
Cannaregio
Universo Nord Hotel
Universo Nord Hotel
#263 of 385 in Venice
839 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Guerrini
Hotel Guerrini
#189 of 385 in Venice
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#336 of 385 in Venice
371 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#300 of 385 in Venice
572 reviews
Santa Croce
Casa Sant'Andrea
Casa Sant'Andrea
#205 of 385 in Venice
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Address: Calle Priuli Ai Cavaleti Cannaregio 106, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $56 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Florida 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Venice
Florida Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing