We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be better”
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Florida
Ranked #242 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel is located near train station, which should be convinient for visitors with luggage, as Venice is not the best place to walk with big suitcases.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, the room was clean ad made up every day. The towels were replaced every three days.
Breakfast was very basic, I really missed eggs and vegetables which were usually available in other Italian hotels in the same price category I previously stayed in.
The room, although being clean, was screaming for renovation, it looks like the last time it was renovated in times of the latest doges. The bathroom was so small that it was very difficult to use it.
WiFi and hot water were a real challenge. Hot water was available only a couple of hours - in the morning and in the evening. WiFi didn't work most of the time.
In general, if the hotel will fix WiFi, improve hot water delivery and refresh the rooms it will become a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asu1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floridaVenezia, Proprietario at Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the time you spent to write your review, we really appreciate it. We take in high consideration the client’s feed back that help us to improve our services.
Consideration about our forniture are so personal that would be impossible to write back something, someone appreciate an old venetian style, some other prefer a more modern style.. up to client’s feeling, nontheless as soon as we will succed in getting out from this crisis we’d love to refurbish our forniture
Regarding the wifi, you have been so unluky to stay with us during a loss of the service from the provider vodafone that has been settle in a couple of days so actually we do have a current wifi serivce.
What really surpirse me was the complain about the breakfast, we do have one of the highest standard compared to the two star hotels not only in Venice but in Italy. We serve corissant, bread, butter, jam, chocolate cream, honey,yogurt, muesli, cakes, two kind of juice, hot drinks, salami , ham, cheese, fresh fruit…..we are not allowed to serve eggs, nor boiled or scrambled…regarding vegetables, well maybe in a brunch not at breakfast!
In any case as we initially said…thank you and we hope to welcome you again in our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 674 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

My experience, in this small but confortable hotel, has been very positive.
Very kind and helpful people provides you informations and useful suggestions regarding restaurants and places to visit.
The room was simple in style and furniture, but clean and with the essential needs.
This hotel is near the raylway station and just few minutes walking from the main places to visit in Venice.
The breakfast was good and fresh.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosalba V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floridaVenezia, Proprietario at Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, all the staff is proud of the good job they did, words like yours give us the will to improve and improve our strength to increase our professionally and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Small hotel in a quiet place near the railway station. Cozy clean spacious rooms, "semi-antique" wooden furniture, standard breakfasts, friendly personnel. To SAN Marko Square on foot about 30 min. without hurrying. All was pleasant.

Room Tip: All rooms is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svetlana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floridaVenezia, Proprietario at Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you very much your appreciation help us to improve our will to increase our service , came back soon !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We are an Australian family of 6 that stayed here at end of 2012. The Hotel was right next to the train station, super convenient and very comfortable. Breakfast was great and served in the room adjacent to the reception. Free WiFi and so all in all a very comfortable Hotel. Reception staff were very friendly and just couldn't do enough for their guests. Would definitely recommend this for anybody visiting Venice.

Room Tip: Stairs were a bit steep and narrow and so a bit tricky to get the bags up stairs but this is not unu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floridaVenezia, Proprietario at Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are all happy you appreciate our staff and our hotel.
Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I recently stayed here for 2 nights, after checking the website it looked relatively pleasant. However, upon arriving it looked considerably different. My room was drab, wall paper coming away from the walls and the springs had gone on the bed meaning it sank in the middle. Plus points would be the proximity to the rail and bus stations and the breakfast was quite good.
2 nights was just about bearable but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floridaVenezia, Proprietario at Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the time you spent writing your review, we are sorry you didn't find the hotel as agreable as you thought, we work hard to give to our guest a pleasant stay and a wanderful memory of Venice, customer care satisfaction is our first goal and with this philosophy we take care of our room as well as of the service we provide in all the different departmet such as cleaness, wich is one of our strenght or breakfast, that we improved with salami, cheese, ham, yogurt, fresh fruit over all the normal italian buffet ,our clerk staff is a multilanguage speaking with a high range of courtesy as well professionality .
If you find a small defct in our room please apologize us, we will remedy as fast as we can even though your is one of the very few complain we ever had .

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Ideally located in a quiet street close to the rail station. Clean and tranquil, extremely friendly staff. Excellent continental breakfast included. Some rooms are smaller (it is Venice, after all) but nice nonetheless. Adequately sized flat screen TV and good A/C. Nice and clean bathrooms. We have been returning for years and hope to come again.

Room Tip: ask for the garden side rooms for even quieter experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atlas2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floridaVenezia, Proprietario at Hotel Florida, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you, guests like you help us to grow up and improve our customer care service.
God bless you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

From the bus station to the hotel it was less than 6 minutes on foot, once there a very friendly and helpful reception staff checked us in.
The room was on the first floor with everything we needed for our stay, comfy bed, enough space for luggage, clean bathroom with a full tub.
Breakfast was tasty and plenty,,enough variety for us and the little one.
Reception took time to explain about the new tourist tax and gave a little fare well present to our daughter!
Definatly a hotel to come back to one day!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank comeforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Universo Nord Hotel
Universo Nord Hotel
#261 of 385 in Venice
829 reviews
Cannaregio
Dolomiti Hotel
Dolomiti Hotel
#259 of 385 in Venice
309 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#196 of 385 in Venice
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#317 of 385 in Venice
565 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Cannaregio
Hotel Guerrini
Hotel Guerrini
#197 of 385 in Venice
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Address: Calle Priuli Ai Cavaleti Cannaregio 106, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $65 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Florida 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Venice
Florida Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing