We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly comfortable hotel with character and personal touch”
Review of Hotel Giorgione

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Giorgione
Ranked #108 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The hotel is a short walk either from the Alilaguna boat stop at Fondamente Nuove, or the Ca’ D’Oro water bus. The directions on the hotel website are ok but for ‘foundations‘ read buildings and ignore ‘fields’ (none)

All the front desk personnel were welcoming and friendly and the wait staff pleasant and helpful. No language barriers. Our standard room was on the small side but had a nice feel with high ceilings, tall drapes and old style italianate furniture. The good sized bathroom had his and hers sinks and newish matt pastel tiles. Other details; clean, good heating, firm supportive mattress, shaped clothes hangers. Our suggestions for improvements would be inclusion of tissues in the toiletries and resetting the TV sound (menu locked) to reduce the slight bass resonance.

The breakfast room is a spacious looking interior with restrained continental décor overlooking the courtyard with a fountain. The discrete speakers sound quite good. Hot food consists of bacon, mini sausages, scrambled and boiled eggs. The lounge area and bar areas have good, well- arranged seating. There are colourful Murano glass items in display cabinets throughout. The overall ambience is comfortable and has character.

Strada Nuova, the main street around the corner is less touristy than some with a supermarket, two must- try gelato shops (Grom further down is better) and reasonably priced restaurants and wine bars. We liked La Cantina, Alla Vedova and Trattoria da Giglio. St Mark’s square is 12min walk away and the Rialto area even closer.

Updated forecasts from the Venice tide centre are posted in the lobby where there’s an internet booth and printer. The pool table room is an unexpected inclusion but nicely fitted out with low level pendant lights. Complimentary coffee, tea and biscuits from 2-6pm make for a welcome afternoon return after a day’s sightseeing. We’d stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rtw80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,912)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Giorgione
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

800 - 806 of 1,912 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

Having stayed here before many years ago it was nice to come back and fine that the few changes made had all been to the better. The rooms had become more numerous and the lobby area expanded. The courtyard was also larger than last time although outdoor seating in November is a bit to cold. The hotel is an oasis of charm and atmosphere in part of Venice that is not so bustling as the area near St. Mark's. We stayed for the second time in one of the rooms covering two floors and it really is quite an experience. I can safely say that my third visit will not be the last!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ptm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgiorgione, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Giorgione, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Guest, first of all I would like to thank you for having chosen for the second time the Hotel Giorgione as your home in Venice. I am also very grateful for the lovely remarks you have published regarding our structure and all the improvements we have made during the years. Such comments make us all very proud. Remember that you will always be very welcomed and please do not hesitate to contact our booking department or myself for any enquiry also regarding the best rates dedicated to our direct clients.
Thank you again for your kindness,
Best regards,
Margherita Pasotto
Hotel Brand Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. We found it to be a very good hotel. Well placed, close to busy areas but far away enough from the crowds to be quite peaceful - at least on weekdays which is when we stayed.

Good points:

powerful shower/toilet (ensuite). Easy power/temperature control on the shower.
large mirror and hair dryer in bathroom
professional and polite staff
pool table, free to use on request
extensive buffet breakfast avail until 10am
honesty bar (as main staffed bar open wkends only)
rooms made-up daily
extras provided - such as shower cap and postcards!
lift
free tea/coffee and biscuits every PM
window in room that opened widely - good for ventilation
minibar
there is facility for bags to be stored if you check-out late. Reception asked porter to take our bags at 12 noon and then return them for us at 4. They were happy for use to have afternoon tea and relax in the hotel lounge after checking out that day.

Minor issues:

The shower cubicle was quite small but manageable. No window in bathroom but not major problem.
I did notice a couple of stray hairs in the room when we got there which I had to pick off with a tissue and bin. However, apart from this initial blip the rooms were cleaned to a good standard.
The toilet was dripping from the cistern a little which became a bit annoying by the last day. There was a yellowish stain where the little trickle of water constantly came down, so I assume this has been a long-standing issue.
I also noticed another yellowish stain on the inside of the bathroom door as if something had been spilled down it. I tried to get it off with a wipe but it was stubborn. The bathroom could probably do with a refurb or at least attention to small issues such as those mentioned.
Double bed was actually 2 singles zipped together.

Useful info:

There are toilets downstairs, but they are not well signposted. They are located through the breakfast room and along the corridor. Useful to know!
You must hand your key to reception every time you go out of the hotel - typical of Venice hotels? I do not know! I found it a bit strange but didn't cause a problem.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The hotel is good and has the potential to be better with attention to detail.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussy_fancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgiorgione, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Giorgione, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Customer, on the behalf of all the staff I would like to thank you for having taken the time to write such positive and detailed comments regarding the Hotel Giorgione. This is very important for us in order to constantly improve our structure and the services that we give.
I apologise regarding the hairs you have found, it is something that should never happen and I can assure you that I have seriously discussed this matter with the housekeeper in order for this never to happen again. Regarding the dripping of the toiled, let me please advise you that if you had notified us this problem, we could have called the person in charge of maintenance and he would have solved the problem immediately or moved you into a different room.
In order to satisfy the needs of all customers hotels are used to put together two single mattresses to make a single double or a twin bed. We do have single double mattresses for those who prefer. I say this because I always invite our guests to give notice of any inconvenience or malfunction during their stay, because most of the times these matters can be very easily solved.
The reason why we ask to all our visitors to hand in their key to reception every time they leave the hotel is for security reasons. In case of emergency or fire we know who is in or out the hotel.
I assure you that we will take in good consideration your comments in order to improve furthermore. We are therefore most grateful to you for your time and interest and hope to be able to have another opportunity to show you that your concerns have not been expressed for nothing.
Best regards,
Margherita Pasotto
Hotel Brand Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night break at this hotel and it was located in a perfect position, centrally located close to all amenities, only 5 minute walk to the Ca'dor Vaparetto water bus station. Close to some lovely restaurants and minutes from the Rialto Bridge by Vaparetto.

We had room 103 which was small but adequate for our stay, although I had requested a quite room by e mail previously, this room was ok, but as it was facing the street you could hear shutters closing about 11pm and people in the street early morning.

After saying that, the bed was very comfortable with clean sheets every night. The bathroom was lovely with a powerful shower and fresh towels each day.

Breafast was adequate although a little repetative.

If I were to visit again I would definately stay at this lovely, small hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elle002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgiorgione, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Giorgione, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Mrs Elle, thank you very much for having shared your experience at the Hotel Giorgione.
I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and appreciated our structure and services. I am also glad that you could benefit from the strategic position in which we are located, this makes thing much easier in a city like Venice.
I am very sorry you have been disturbed by the noise of the street. In occasion of your next trip to Venice, we will do our utmost to let you have plenty of choice of our charming rooms overlooking our quite and relaxing garden.
Together with all the staff of the Hotel Giorgione, we hope to welcome you back very soon.
Best regards,
Margherita Pasotto
Hotel Brand Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We had two different rooms (Venice was the beginning and end of our trip). Great area, you can walk easily everywhere, but far enough from St. Mark's to avoid the insane crowds. Easy to get to and from the airport once you get oriented to Venice.

The rooms are great, and anyone who thinks they are too small needs to adjust their expectations. This is Venice, not Amarillo. The breakfast is handy.

The staff is very....Italian....in all the good and bad ways that come to mind.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgiorgione, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Giorgione, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Guest, on the behalf of all the staff of the Hotel Giorgione, I would like to thank you for having published your review regarding your stay in our structure. We are constantly making efforts to improve the hospitality that we offer and good ratings rewards us for the special attention we reserve to all our customers.
Regarding our “Italian” staff, I really do hope that they have contributed in making you feel at ease in our home, and I really do hope to welcome you in occasion of your next trip to Venice.
Best regards,
Margherita Pasotto
Hotel Brand Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Had to make a last minute reservation with Travel Republic after the travel company we booked with went bust. Found this hotel and it turned out a little gem. Staff great, breakfast very good nice little touch coffee/tea biscuits free in the afternoon. Nice to come back to a free cup of tea after buying expensive tea and coffee in the cafe's in Venice. Rooms very clean and nice the only downside of this hotel the room we had , had only a small bathroom but would not downside the rating. Have been to Venice 4 times before and stayed in 4 star hotels. This the best and good place to stay only 300 yards from bus stop.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgiorgione, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Giorgione, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Mr. Tony, on the behalf of the staff of the Hotel Giorgione I would like to express my gratitude for having chosen us for your Venetian holiday and for the positive review you have published.
We are very pleased you have appreciated our structure and the services we offer and the fact you have considered the hotel a “gem” makes us very proud.
We all hope to welcome you back in occasion of your next trip to Venice, please remember that our booking department and website offers special rates to our direct and affectionate clients.
Best regards,
Margherita Pasotto
Hotel Brand Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Giorgione at the end of October 2012 and we loved it! I emailed the hotel the night before for directions to the hotel, and they emailed back promptly with several options. We chose the Alilaguna water bus to Fondamenta Nuove (the second stop from the airport) -- a 5 minute walk to the hotel. It's 27 euro round trip per person -- much more affordable than a water taxi and much more convenient than taking the bus to the Vaparetto. We always travel light when coming to Venice because you WILL have to drag your bags through the streets coming and going. Everything we had rolled easily and wasn't too difficult to carry up the stairs of the footbridges.

The location of the hotel was perfect for us -- easy walking distance to the Rialto Bridge and San Marco and far enough away that it's not in the tourist throng.

The hotel staff was delightful -- always helpful. Anytime we asked for anything, they were more than happy to go out of their way to help us. The complimentary afternoon tea was a nice touch. Breakfast was plentiful-- eggs, meat, cheeses, fruit, pastries, bread, cereal, etc. It was decent, but taste-wise it was nothing special.

When we checked in, we were delighted to be told that we'd been upgraded. We loved our room. It was spacious with beautiful beams on the vaulted ceiling. We had a view of the inner courtyard which is charming. The minibar was convenient because we went shopping at the supermarket just behind the hotel and were able to fit everything we bought in it. The hotel has free wifi in public areas - but since we had a room facing the courtyard, we had no problem using it in our room (we noticed the router is in the courtyard). The only complaint I had about the room was that the pillows were too hard for us.

Overall, we loved it! We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcohen342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgiorgione, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Giorgione, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Guest, it is a great pleasure for me to read your review regarding your stay at the Hotel Giorgione. I have shared your positive comments with all the staff that were very happy to know that you have appreciated their help and the services that they offered you and especially they were very honoured for having contributed in making special your permanence in Venice.
I am also very pleased you have found comfortable the location in which we are situated, finding easy and simple to reach the main attractions being away from the crowds.
We all hope to welcome you back, therefore please consider the Hotel Giorgione as your home in Venice.
Best regards,
Margherita Pasotto
Hotel Brand Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Foscari Palace
Foscari Palace
#87 of 385 in Venice
1,090 reviews
Cannaregio
UNA Hotel Venezia
UNA Hotel Venezia
#38 of 385 in Venice
1,246 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#34 of 385 in Venice
2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#76 of 385 in Venice
896 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
#12 of 385 in Venice
763 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bisanzio
Hotel Bisanzio
#59 of 385 in Venice
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giorgione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giorgione

Address: SS. Apostoli 4587, 30131 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in Venice
#59 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#65 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $115 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giorgione 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Giorgione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giorgione Hotel Venice
Hotel Giorgione Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing