We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfect balance of what one could look for in Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Locanda Vivaldi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Ranked #44 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Perfect balance of what one could look for in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

Location: close to all main tourist attractions in Venice, few minutes to St Marco Square, overlooks one of main walking paths - Riva Degli Schiavoni. Also close to water transport stops - makes travel around Venice and lagoon (Murano, Burano, Lido and others) easy. Good public water transport from railway station and airport for those who want to save on water taxi. Hotel's own water taxi and gondola stop.

Rooms: nice, cozy, quite big as for European city, very clean and well maintained. Also suites, last year we booked one with private balcony. This year we booked double overlooking St Marco basin. Large terrace on the top floor, excellent to watch the basin, Island of S.Giorgio Maggiore, very busy water path, sometimes with big ships, and entrance to the Great Canal.

Services: solid breakfast with good choice of food. Own restaurant open at the evening. Bar - serves also appetizers before restaurant is open. No concierge but the front desk staff great and friendly, they are always ready to give you advice and help to set things. We followed their recommendations several times and we were never disappointed. Staff really makes a difference here.

General: small hotel which gives you all you need plus family feeling and individual treatment. Instead of recommendation I can only say that this was our third stay at Locanda Vivaldi and we intend to be beck next year to this place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piotr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    224
    41
    9
    9
See reviews for
159
476
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

If you're looking for modern, this isn't it. If you're looking for atmosphere and history, you couldn't do better for the price. We were charmed by the staff, thought the breakfast more than ample with many choices, our suite was very comfortable for the 3 of us, and incredibly quiet. Staff went out of their way to make reservations, map out directions, etc. Internet (free) worked perfectly in our rooms. Location ideal, facing the Grand Canal and a short distance from Plaza San Marco. We'll be back and thank you again so much for all you did to make our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, May 6, 2010
Buongiorno!!!

Thank you for your wonderfull review.
I wait to welcome you again soon, ciao!

Roberto

PS: we now have wi-fi in the whole hotel!!! :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

The location is wonderful. Vaporetti stops are within 100 meters, the transport from the airport lands very near and your two bridges from St. Mark's and the Doge's Palace. The staff were very helpful, the room was clean and quiet and we overlooked a canal. We hope to return in a couple of years since two nights aren't nearly enough!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank camplund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, April 19, 2010
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your kind review! I will wait to receive your reservation for your next stay in Venice, ciao!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

We spent 3 nights at the Locanda Vivaldi in March 2010. Our lovely room overlooked the lagoon. It was sufficiently spacious and very comfortable. Beds were turned down at night, and chocolates left on the pillow. We slept amazingly well, and were not disturbed by noise at any time. The weather was very cold during our stay, but our room was warm and cosy, with extra blankets provided. The staff were pleasant and friendly throughout our stay. Breakfast compared very well with that provided in other Italian cities. There is a lovely little bar at the back of the hotel. The reception area is pretty and welcoming. We found that nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who helpfully called to confirm restaurant bookings, and smiled and welcomed us whenever we were in the reception area. Our experience of the staff was entirely positive.

The location of Locanda Vivaldi is fantastic. It is a short walk from St Mark's Square, and there is a water bus stop close by. This means that visitors can access any part of the city with ease, and is particularly useful for exploring. We took a private taxi from and to the airport. The hotel has it's own landing stage, so this is very convenient.

We pre-booked restaurants, including Da Fiore, and the lovely, friendly, Alle Testiere. Both are well worth a visit.

We intend to come back to Locanda Vivaldi. It is a lovely hotel, and entirely enhances Venice's reputation.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Monkeyhumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, April 6, 2010
Buongiorno!!!

thank you for your lovely feedback. I'm very happy to know that you enjoyed the hotel, the staff and the city as well and I look forward to welcome you again here!!!

Just a quick not for all the readers. We opened our restaurant in the rooftop terrace, and also the bar has been moved there. From here you have a wonderfull view of Venice!!! Restaurant and bar will remain here until October or mid-september (depending on the weather conditions).

Warmest regards!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

The location is very central and convenient to be reached.
The hotel is stylish decorated and makes you feel at home.
The hotel staff is extremely helpful and customer focussed.
Pleasant rooms, lots of space and with a nice atmosphere.
We will be back next time when we visit Venice!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryWassenaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
de
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

The location was perfect. The room was much bigger than I expected. I was not expecting robes and slippers for what I paid. The breakfast was much better than expected. Delicious butter.
The room was so quiet I had to open the window to hear the sounds of the city, the bells and the boats. We felt like we were the only people there, except at breakfast. Turn-down service, cleanliness, friendly staff, no complaints.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prettyauntnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, March 30, 2010
Thank you for your kind feedback!
I'm really happy to know tha you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you again soon!

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

We stayed at Locanda Vivaldi for 3 days and had a wonderful time. We found it through Trip Advisor, which is how we found every hotel on our trips. The hotel is less than three minutes walk along the waterfront to San Marco Square, fantastic location. The entrance to the hotel is welcoming and the reception area pleasant, relaxing and with a discrete elegance. There's an excellent choice of international papers to read and the staff are all extremely helpful and friendly .We did pay for a lagoon-view room, and our room (205) opened right onto the Riva degli Schiavoni, the main waterfront walk. The view was amazing. The room is charmingly decorated in a tasteful baroque style and the bathroom is newly renovated in white marble and very clean (included jacuzzi style baths). The breakfast was excellent- plenty of choice, and always eggs plus the usual continental fare. . Excellent pastries. Wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel. Our desire is to return again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tu-quoque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, April 1, 2010
My Dear,

thanks a lot for your kind reply and for the pictures as well!!!
I wait to welcome you here again soon, warmest regards!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Bucintoro
Hotel Bucintoro
#28 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#22 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,493 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Bisanzio
Hotel Bisanzio
#55 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
Castello
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
#33 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,172 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#42 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Locanda Vivaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locanda Vivaldi

Property: Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Address: Riva degli Schiavoni, 4152-53, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#41 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#74 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Locanda Vivaldi 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Vivaldi is a small boutique hotel facing the lagoon, just few steps from Saint Mark's Square. The location is just perfect, the view from the rooms and the rooftop terrace is simply amazing. The atmosphere of the hotel is intimate, we are the right choice for a romantic escape to Venice! And don't forget to enjoy our rooftop Bar & restaurant, you will enjoy a unique view on Saint MArk's Basin, on the Lagoon of Venice and on the life going on in Riva degli Schiavoni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Locanda Vivaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Vivaldi Venice
Locanda Vivaldi Hotel Venice
Vivaldi Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing