We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Locanda Vivaldi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Ranked #44 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night, the hotel was easy to find and from check in we knew we would have a great stay. The bedroom was beautiful and very authentic. We had a great view out of our window over the canal.
We were treated to free Apperitifs in the terrace on arrival, which was a nice touch. :)
Breakfast was enjoyable and set us up for an early morning trying to cram in seeing as much as we possibly could,
We also ate in the terraced restaurant. We were the only ones in the restaurant which gave us the waiters full attention, It was incredibly romantic having dinner with candlelight over looking the canal, just the 2 of us.
We did regret only staying for 1 night, but will definately return again.

One negative - The smell from the boats is quite strong at times, leaving an unpleasent smell when entering the room.

Note - Remember to ask for your passport on check out!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jadeSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your kind review, I'm happy you enjoyed your stay!
And I'm happy you enjoyed our restaurant.

Please remember for your next stay that we now have a private boat, FREE OF CHARGE for all those who book directly with us! This is a big plus, even if the service have some limitation.

I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice, have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    228
    41
    10
    9
See reviews for
165
482
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This small hotel in Venice was perfect for our two night stay. We booked one room that accommodated two adults and two children. It was a tight squeeze but manageable for two nights.
The best part of the room was the small balcony that looked straight out to San Giorgio Maggiore. We sat on our balcony and could watch cruise ships, small boats and people arriving and departing via the nearby dock. It was fantastic.
The concierge/front desk in the hotel was very friendly and made everything absolutely painless.
Would we stay here again - YES!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sclemada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Buongiorno!

Thank you for this very nice review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice!
Please remember that we now have a private boat FREE OF CHARGE for all those who book us directly. Don't miss this opportunity!

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is the actual house that Vivaldi lived in, the walls are padded and covered in silk, the bedrooms are very nice with plenty of Murano glass. The location is superb but it does not really feel like a Hotel.
Breakfast is minimalistic in a covered courtyard, the bar was closed as was the small rooftop restaurant, apparently out of season yet at the same time as Venice Carnival.
Even though the few staff were friendly and helpful there was no room service.

Room Tip: Ask for front facing or one of the side rooms towards the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter745_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Buongiorno,

Thank you for your very nice review.
The breakfast is served in two connecting rooms, one is the one you mentioned and the other one has the view on the small canal. Both of them have a buffet with different things.

The room service is always available during the year.

Also the rooftop is always open (also during Carnival which is winter). If you want to have something served there you just have to ask.

During the wintertime the bar move downstair (due to the weather). It's always open, we never close even one day.

I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice.

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

It was a last moment plan to visit Venice and desparetly wanted to find a good one for the two nights we had planned there. Started with the established chain but didn't find much of a choice on the island. Found Locanda Vivaldi on one of the Venice tourism sites.
To start with, it is a perfect hotel situated close to most of the major tourist attractions there. We had two rooms - one on the second floor and another on the first floor, both facing the Grand Canal. It's also next to a small canal and can be accessed directly in a taxi or using public transport.
Excellent rooms and decor, perfect view throughout the day. Watched the massive cruise ships on the second morning passing by. The breakfast room, the reception and lounge were all tastefully decorated. It all matched up to the expectations and hype of Venice. The rooms are expensive but when I looked around for the other equivalent hotels available, it was worth it.
It was raining the second night and we wanted to dine in. Unfortunately, there was no space available and so can't comment on the rooftop restaurant.
The one low was the WiFi connectivity, which needs to be addressed. Though it's available in the rooms, the signal is not very strong, keeps breaking up and you have to go through the whole process of logging.

Room Tip: Opt for rooms facing the Grand Canal, just for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Buongiorno,

thanks a lot for your very nice review!
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you again here in Venice! Maybe next time you will have the chance to try our roof restaurant.
I'm sorry for the WIFI signal, we are working to fix if. Thank you and have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Our family stayed at the Locanda Vivaldi overnight in August, 2013. We had no reservation and decided to drive to Venice for the night. They accommodated us with no problem, gave us a fantastic room (a bit pricey, admittedly). The hotel is in a terrific location, a very short walk to St Mark's square and all the best of Venice. Incidentally, Venice is wonderful late at night in August, when the many hundreds of tourists are fast asleep.

Breakfast at the Locanda Vivaldi is simple, quiet and elegant. The hotel is kid friendly, too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Please remember that we now have also a FREE boat service for the guests who book directly with us. The service has some limitation.

I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice, have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Locanda Vivaldi is a nice hotel and we had an enjoyable stay. We had a nice room that overlooked the front of the hotel and was a good location for the main interests of Venice.
The highlight of the hotel was the roof top bar and restaurant, we had two rainy nights in Venice and ate their both nights and the food and service was great. The classically decorated rooms were nice but could go for some updates, for example the carpet in our room, while clean had a run going through it and could be replaced.

The water taxi dock was great for the drop off and pick up from water taxis.

Room Tip: Overlooking the front of the hotel is fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BDLfromATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Buongiorno,

Thanks a lot for your very nice review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and our restaurant!

Plase remember that we now have a private boat available FREE OF CHARGE for all the guest who book directly with us. The service has some limitation.

I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice, have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This hotel is superb! I'd looked at a lot of options online and having seen them whilst in Venice, I definitely made the right decision booking this one. This hotel is one of the few in Venice to have a roof terrace and with a view across St Mark's basin, there is none better whilst sipping a Spritz or Bellini in the sunshine. The staff are incredibly helpful, offering restaurant recommendations, providing local knowledge and nothing is too much trouble. We used the hotel boat for our return journey and it's such a luxurious way to travel. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel - it's small enough to be very personal, the decor is true Venetian in style, rooms are a good size, the location is great for ferries and exploring on foot, book now!

Room Tip: We had a superior room (#102) with a view over St Mark's basin. Ours had the largest balcony so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shoegal_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice. Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Bisanzio
Hotel Bisanzio
#58 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 570 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#40 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,074 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#23 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Bucintoro
Hotel Bucintoro
#21 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,172 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#22 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,529 reviews
Castello
Liassidi Palace Hotel
Liassidi Palace Hotel
#65 of 387 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Locanda Vivaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locanda Vivaldi

Property: Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Address: Riva degli Schiavoni, 4152-53, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#41 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#74 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Locanda Vivaldi 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Vivaldi is a small boutique hotel facing the lagoon, just few steps from Saint Mark's Square. The location is just perfect, the view from the rooms and the rooftop terrace is simply amazing. The atmosphere of the hotel is intimate, we are the right choice for a romantic escape to Venice! And don't forget to enjoy our rooftop Bar & restaurant, you will enjoy a unique view on Saint MArk's Basin, on the Lagoon of Venice and on the life going on in Riva degli Schiavoni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Locanda Vivaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Vivaldi Venice
Locanda Vivaldi Hotel Venice
Vivaldi Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing