We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Ranked #62 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Going to Venice for our 30th anniversary was a big deal for us, but we were dithering about hotel choice. A good friend and his wife recommended Locanda Vivaldi -- and then a separate recommendation for this place came at us from another source. That sealed our decision. It turned out to be the ideal choice.
Venice itself was amazing -- with bright sunshine, blue skies and no rain. Every day started by pulling open our curtains and looking out at the wonderful view. After a satisfying breakfast, we'd go out around the city -- for which the hotel is perfectly positioned.
Bed was comfy -- pillows soft -- room very well appointed -- free wi-fi -- and staff was alert, but very discreet. (We never even saw the room cleaners.) Reception staff were extremely helpful.
Our only minor complaint was that the lift didn't work for the first 2 days of our 4 day stay. But, the exercise of climbing 2 flights was good for us -- and lift really appreciated when it was repaired.
We hope to return to Venice as soon as possible -- and look forward to staying at the Locanda Vivaldi. Meanwhile, we wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone who's headed to Venice!

Room Tip: Opt for the room with view -- it's definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us!
I'm sorry for the trouble with the lift, unfortunately a quick fix has not been possible.

I look forward to welcome you again soon here in Venice, thank you and have a nice day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (935)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 935 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

A wonderful little hotel - absolutely the best location, best views, polite staff, clean rooms, decent breakfast... Stayed in room 302, which is a large junior suite with a balcony with authentic furniture and unbeatable views. Exactly what I was looking for, will certainly stay there again!

Room Tip: Room 302- junior suite, amazing views, great size, jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thanks a lot for your very kind review!
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon.

Have a great day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

As me and my fiance got engaged here. Amazing views. Lovely location just a short walk to St Marks Square. Would recommend to anyone. The weather was perfect, a day we will both remember forever. Will definately return.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank KH2691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice.

Have a great day and Merry Christmas!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We spent 6 nights in Venice at the Locanda Vivaldi the first week of November. We had beautiful weather, little crowds and a wonderful hotel. The location is perfect, just steps from St Mark's square and many water bus stops. The view from our room was beautiful. Well worth paying for a view of the basin. The staff were friendly, helpful and always polite. The hotel was extremely clean and well taken care of. Breakfast was included daily and was delicious. There were many choices of pastries, eggs and bacon, yogurt and fruits. A great way to start your day before venturing out into the streets of Venice. We had a wonderful time in the city and coming back to the hotel in the evening was always comfortable and relaxing. It added to the enjoyment of our trip. We intend to return to Venice in the future and will stay at the Locanda Vivaldi Hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the Lagoon. The view is amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thanks a lot for your very kind review!
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcome you again soon here in Venice.

Warmest regards,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

well appointed hotel, great central location - close to the Venice biennale. clean and beautifully decorated rooms, clean bathrooms, decent breakfast spread. it was very nice to stay in a room with a view of the canal. i would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveling-art-viewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review. I'm very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon here in Venice.

Have a nice day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We just returned from a week's stay in Venice and have nothing but good things to say about the Locanda Vivaldi. Our visit was during the first week of November and the weather was beautiful. Crowds were much smaller than during our last visit (two years ago in March) so our entire experience in Venice was great.

After checking in, we were given complimentary drinks (bellinis) in the rooftop restaurant and luckily for us, the restaurant was open for the last night of the season. We thought it was one of the best meals, at a reasonable price for Venice, that we had. I see no reason for anyone to complain about the breakfast buffet: eggs and bacon, all kinds of pastries and breads, fruit, cheeses and cold meats, cereal and yogurt, what more could you ask?! The service was fantastic and everyone was friendly and helpful.

During our last visit, we stayed in another hotel which was pretty awful and it took away from the enjoyment of experience. No disappointments this time. The Locanda Vivaldi is well located on the lagoon, close to a water bus stop (for the airport as well as Venice), near St. Mark's square, etc.

In conclusion, we have nothing but praise for the Locanda Vivaldi.

Room Tip: One of our rooms was on the lagoon and the other rooms were on the canal. The lagoon room of course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us!!! I hope to welcome you again soon here in Venice.

Have a great day,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I can't imagine a more meaningful and historic place to stay in Venezia than on the very grounds where the great Baroque composer and violinist Antonio Lucio Vivaldi lived in the 17th century. Locanda di Vivaldi is classic Venezia and exudes the very essence of this historic region that was once considered the most elegant and refined city in Europe. We had room #206 which had to be the best room in the Locanda. It was a corner location that looked out over the Venetian Lagoon onto the classic architecture of the Church of San Giorgio Maggiore and upward towards Piazza San Marco. A fantastico location to be sure.

The staff was extremely professional, but not overly friendly, and spoke English with a lovely Italian accenta. A church called the Vivaldi Church or the Santa Maria della Visitazione was attached to the Locanda and one evening there was a concert in the church by the Venezia Chamber Orchestra musicians playing Vivaldi and Bach classics which was just phenomenal.

In need of improvement was the breakfast which could have been far better considering the high price of the rooms or at least the rooms facing the Lagoon. One problem we had was it was October and the hotel decided it was Winter so they turned off the A/C in the building even though the temperature was still in the mid-to high 70's during the day. This meant we had to sleep with the windows open which was extremely noisy and humid night and day. The incredible crowd of tourists in Venice, even though it wasn't the tourist season, was unbelievable. I'm glad we visited Venice, and I'm glad we stayed in the Locanda Vivaldi with it's gorgeous view and classic Venetian ambiance, but I doubt I'll be coming back any time soon.

Room Tip: Room 206 is the best room in the Locanda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SheldonHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your review.
I'm sorry that you didn't like the fact that the air conditioning has been turned off, but this is normal. I don't think you will ever find an hotel in Venice with the air conditioning working at mid october!!!

I can understand that we are all different and that for you the temperature was maybe too high. But it was too low for all the other guests. And it was too low since mid September…

Again, I'm sorry if it was not comfortable for you, but your was definitely a "special" request. If you told us in advance that you needed the air conditioning in october (which is more than unusual) we would have advised you that it was not possible at all.

Warmest regards,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Corte Dei Greci Hotel
Corte Dei Greci Hotel
#196 of 387 in Venice
264 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
#134 of 387 in Venice
1,159 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#77 of 387 in Venice
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#52 of 387 in Venice
1,315 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#14 of 387 in Venice
1,625 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 387 in Venice
1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Locanda Vivaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locanda Vivaldi

Address: Riva degli Schiavoni, 4152-53, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#41 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#50 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $192 - $671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Locanda Vivaldi 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Vivaldi is a small boutique hotel facing the lagoon, just few steps from Saint Mark's Square. The location is just perfect, the view from the rooms and the rooftop terrace is simply amazing. The atmosphere of the hotel is intimate, we are the right choice for a romantic escape to Venice! And don't forget to enjoy our rooftop Bar & restaurant, you will enjoy a unique view on Saint MArk's Basin, on the Lagoon of Venice and on the life going on in Riva degli Schiavoni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Locanda Vivaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Vivaldi Venice
Locanda Vivaldi Hotel Venice
Vivaldi Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing