We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great hotel. Except room 210.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Ranked #57 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great location, friendly, helpful staff at front desk, in the wonderful roof top bar and restaurant and the lovely lady in the breakfast room.
Small but everything you need for a base to explore venice.

Now the big BUT room 210

The hotel airconditioning unit is mounted on a steel structure outside above the back window, it was VERY loud, even with the double glazed window & shutters, and went on all night. It would stop for 10 minutes and then just as you think you might be able to drop off it starts again. I have never been so distressed trying to sleep. At 2:10am I went down to reception, the night manager did not seem at all suprised to see me and didn't need to be told what the noise was, he was very helpful and gave me the key to a very lovely room for the rest of the night and we moved to another room in the morning (room 101 has a leaky bath!) The staff could not have been more helpful, but why were we, why is anyone, given this room to try to sleep in?
It is a family joke that I can sleep instantly and through anything, except room 210.

The rest of our stay was perfect.

Room Tip: 202 amazing, 101 quiet, 210 don't accept it.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GIZZIBABE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
I'm sorry that you have not been able to sleep in room 210, but let me say that we sold that room a thousand times since the opening of the hotel and just few people complained about the noise.

Fact is that we are all different, and what is noisy for ma can be music for you (and opposite). There are people who don't like to have a room facing the canal because of the boat noise, there are people who like it. Venetian for example complaint for the noise of the steps (no kiidn') of the people who walk under their windows...
The only solution is to let us know what your preference are, but we need to know them in advance. Otherwise the fact that we assign you the right room is just a question of chance.

Anyway I'm happy we have been able to find you another room at that time in the night (leak has been fixed, thank you!).

We all look forward to welcome you again here in Venice, have a nice day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (897)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 348 of 897 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

This Hotel was luxurious in all respects. The staff was most kind and efficient.
It is ideally located and easy to get to all the sites from there.
The recommendation of a seafood restaurant was out of this world.
Overall it was a 5 star in every way.
Thank you.
Ken & Barbara Wiesner
Sacramento, California

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiesners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon here in Venice.

Have a nice day,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were recommended this hotel by a friend and stayed for a week in early May 2013. It is well situated, with good views over the lagoon. St Mark's square just a few minutes' walk away.
The buffet breakfast was excellent and we ate on the terrace a couple of times with amazing views across to St Giorgi Maggiore. The room was extremely well appointed, comfortable and spacious.
One could spend much more on a hotel in Venice but we felt the Vivaldi offered great value for money. The staff we more than happy to help us plan our days out.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WonkyHorizons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice.

Have a nice day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We knew we chose well when the water bus dropped us off and we were metres away from the doorstep! Room was great (shame we couldn't get the canal view), but they are limited. Service was exceptional, no request to hard and staff went out of the way to assist. Made use of the courtesy taxi to Murano (that stops at the hotels own launch), and their recommendations on some of the quiter areas of Venice. The terrace dinner was exceptional and the restaurant manager fantastic. Close to...Everything!

Room Tip: Book early and get the canal view
Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review!
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon.

Have a nice day,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Everything we could ask for. Great location near St Marks, on the waterfront with it's own taxi dock on the side canal. Great staff and good food. The rooftop restaurant was an excellent place for sundowners and dinner. Our room was tastefully decorated, very comfortable and definitely worth the upgrade to the waterfront room. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you for your very nice review!
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and also our rooftop restaurant.

I hope to welcome you again soon here in Venice. Have a great day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Considering the location, view, quality of room and service – it is still one of the best places in Venice. Even in the city so much oriented towards tourists as Venice it is hard to find a hotel so strategically located, close to main attractions and with the view of the lagoon and entrance to Canale Grande. And friendly and professional staff makes every our visit as reunion with friends. This year change is own restaurant open daily for dinners. Locanda Vivaldi belongs to the chain of three hotels (Santa Chiara and Palazzo Stern, all located in different parts of the city but always at the water), there is a cooperation with benefits to the guests. For instance the chain makes own, homemade, fresh food, including bread, pasta and other products. There is a 60 years old, beautifully restored Venation motorboat, which – on certain conditions allowed by local regulations – might serve hotel clients. And the May-new is the new web page (www.locandavivaldi.it). See photos there, the views are also part of explanation of our returns to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piotr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review!
Once again, it has been a real pleasure to have you here in Venice. I look forward to welcome you again here!

Have a great day,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Hotel location: Perfect! The best in Venice. Close to the main sites (San Marco) and all water buses (including water bus to the airport) and gondolas – literally on your doorstep.

Room: We booked a standard room. Standard rooms overlook either side canal (Rio dei Greci) or the internal courtyard. I asked for the canal view (side view) and was told it was not guaranteed. I asked 2 months before the visit, so if a standard room can have the canal view for the same price I was expecting that the hotel would make more effort to give us this room. However, I do understand that this could not be guaranteed. Overall, the room was clean and pleasant. Pretty smelly when we got there but after opening a window it was well aired and no smell at all. Really small window so the room was pretty dark.

Sockets!!! European plug but it has to be really narrow, otherwise it will not fit, some adapters to UK plug have a wide plug so you would have a problem.

Bathroom: We got the room with the shower with sauna and hydro massages, but unfortunately it didn’t work. We didn’t report it as we were not that bother to use it.

Breakfast: Varied, however it was lacking some tomatoes or cucumber. Scrambled eggs and bacon a bit cold when you have a breakfast after 9:00. Nice service.

Hotel: nice service, clean, nice lobby, remember that you will be charged the local tax after your stay which is €4 per person per night. Overall: would recommend it to friends and family.

From the airport to the hotel: we took the bus ATVO (€6 per person) to Piazzale Roma and then nr 1 water bus (€7 per person). Nr 1 is a great route for sightseeing so highly recommended. Your stop would be called San Marco (San Zaccaria).

From the hotel to the airport: we took a water bus from San Marco (San Zaccaria) straight to the airport, called Alilaguna, route Blue. The cost is €15 per person. It takes about 75 minutes, pretty long, but pretty unusual way to get to the airport, so well worth it.

Water taxi from/to the airport: €110 for up to 4 people.

Gondolas: short trip (approx 40 min) costs €80 (you can negotiate to €60 but will last shorter), longer trip costs €100-€120. Just be prepared that your trip will not last long if you negotiate.

Restaurants: Some restaurants make you pay a service charge plus coperto (approx €2.5 per person) and they expect you to give a tip on top of that. Some restaurants offer ‘No service charge’ dinner.

Masks: there are loads of cheap staff. Made in China masks are plastic and cost below €10. You also can find Made in Venice masks, two types: 1. Hand made and hand painted, made from paper, you can see it is hand made as the back is pretty dirty, usually with the sticker of the venetian manufacturer (around €30); 2. Hand painted and paper machine made, cheaper than hand made.

We stayed 3 nights in Venice so if you have enough time we would recommend Lido Di Venezia. Nice, relaxing place. Drink bar on the beach, nice restaurants. So much different than busy Venice. It was a nice break to relax on the beach. You can have a nice walk in a quiet environment.


Enjoy lovely Venice!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kamila0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Buongiorno!

What a great and detailed review!!!
Thanks a lot for taking the time to write it.

A couple of notes in top of what you wrote:

1) May is one of the busiest period in Venice. That's why we have not been able to give a room on the Canal Side: all were already booked!

2) Sockets: your socket was too big because was a "shuck" plug, not european! They are not the same dimension unfortunately. Anyway we have some adapters at the reception.

3) Cucumber in may? No way!!! I will buy "plastic" for my guests!!! :o) I'm kiddin'. we don't buy them now because we are too off-season and they will not be good enough. But we have tomatoes in the kitchen, just ask the waiter!!!

4) Transfer: we now have a private boat (FREE OF CHARGE!!!) for all the guests who book directly with us. We are not allowed to go anywhere in Venice (we don't have all the license unfortunately), but maybe we will be able to fit your needs.

I think this is everything! Thanks again for your very nice review. I look forward to welcome you soon again here, have a great day!!!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#50 of 384 in Venice
1,266 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#17 of 384 in Venice
1,568 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#81 of 384 in Venice
1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#19 of 384 in Venice
835 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bisanzio
Hotel Bisanzio
#60 of 384 in Venice
726 reviews
Castello
Liassidi Palace Hotel
Liassidi Palace Hotel
#66 of 384 in Venice
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Locanda Vivaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locanda Vivaldi

Address: Riva degli Schiavoni, 4152-53, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#41 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#73 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $185 - $825 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Locanda Vivaldi 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Vivaldi is a small boutique hotel facing the lagoon, just few steps from Saint Mark's Square. The location is just perfect, the view from the rooms and the rooftop terrace is simply amazing. The atmosphere of the hotel is intimate, we are the right choice for a romantic escape to Venice! And don't forget to enjoy our rooftop Bar & restaurant, you will enjoy a unique view on Saint MArk's Basin, on the Lagoon of Venice and on the life going on in Riva degli Schiavoni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Locanda Vivaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Vivaldi Venice
Locanda Vivaldi Hotel Venice
Vivaldi Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing