We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Ranked #54 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Our family of four spent four nights here and really enjoyed it. The four of us squeezed into room 102. The greatest treat of the room was a balcony that looked out on the lagoon. It was such a thrill to look out that window each day at the boats, the water, the buildings, and the swarms of tourists heading to St. Mark's Square. The location was ideal near the encter of everything as well as boat docks. I found the staff helpful and the room clean. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The lagoon side was worht the risk of a little noise.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for the nice review!!!

Have a nice day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    255
    44
    11
    10
See reviews for
181
534
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The hotel is lovely, excellent location. Service was great, they found a wonderful local restaurant for us, which we loved. Terrace on top has beautful views and nice breeze. Very clean and spotless. Would difinitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Buongiorno!

thank you for this very kind review.
I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you soon again here.

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in a fabulous location. The rooms are a bit small but that is Europe! The service was amazing.and the rooms included breakfast daiy. They arranged to take us to the Murano glass factory ( bring your credit cards

Room Tip: I highly recommend this botel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherrytheskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Buongiorno!

thank you for your very nice review.
We all look forward to welcome you again here.
Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel and will definitely be back next year. Hotel in our opinion is in best location to enjoy all that venice has to offer. We stayed in the Superior Lagoon room 206, views are breathtaking. Staff are lovely and although we prefer to do things ourselves, they will organise and help with any trips, tickets, taxi etc. Breakfast was good, would be nice to have more hot options like omelette, poached eggs, pancakes but that is just my personal taste and not a negative.

Room Tip: Choose the superior lagoon room for a fab view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Thank you for the suggestions, we will keep them in mind.
In any case if you have any special request tell us, even if it's not a thing that we usually do maybe we will be able to accomplish the request!

Thank you and have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, NJ
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel really is lovely. We traveled with our whole family. We had a smooth check-in and help with our bags to our 3 rooms. The lobby is very quaint and historic feeling. Front desk staff always very helpful. The location of the hotel is also great with lovely views. Our rooms were large, very clean and nicely decorated. This truly is a lovely, perfect hotel for your stay in Venice. I only have 2 complaints. First, we heard a lot of the outside noise when trying to sleep at night which was annoying. I know the hotel can't do anything about that though. My main complaint was the air-conditioning. We visited in June when it was 98 degrees and humid, and I was 6 months pregnant. After sight-seeing all day, I just wanted to come back to a cold room. They do not allow you to cool the room lower than 21 degrees celcius. This may be more than cool for some, but i was very hot in the room. I didn't sleep well because of it. I found myself getting gelato next door and sitting right next to the AC in the lobby just to get cool. I expect to be comfortable when on vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovecharleston612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank yuou for this very kind review.
I'm sorry that you didn't felt comfortable with the air conditioning. 21 degrees is usually more than adequate for everybody, most of the people set it around 24-26.

We locked the switch at 21 degrees to accomplish the energy save regulation, we have to take care of the environment as well. But we are more than happy to remove the limit if there is a special need like yours.

We all look forward to welcome you soon again here in Venice, thank you and have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahtomedi, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our family of seven checked in midday June 30th after a long day of driving from Tuscany so we were tired and didn't explore the city until the next morning. First thing the next day we wanted to go see Murano and the helpful hotel concierge offered us a free water taxi ride to Murano. The taxi arrived at Murano not at the publilc dock but rather the personal dock of one of the glass factories. In fact a salesman from the company reached into the boat to assist us in getting out and naturally escorted us into his factory for a glass blowing tour and lengthy sales pitch pertaining to many showrooms full of beautiful glass art and glassware. Two hours later we walked out with a "one-of-a-kind" glass vase which had a pricetag of 4,000 Euros for which we paid 2,500 Euros because as non Italians we were exempt from the VAT. Two days later in Venice we came across a similar vase from Murano and the salesperson initiated an offer to sell it to us for 1,850 Euros. It was almost the same vase with different colors. My concern with Locanda Vivaldi was that I felt it was unethical for the consierge to not tell us that in exchange for the free ride we'd be husseled to a specific glass factory and that similar products would be available in Venice at substantially lower prices. Even as the drama unfolded two days later, the hotel staff made no appologies for its role in the scheme. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and the location can't be beat. It is a high-priced operation and as such I think the staff should be more professional and honest. For this reason we will not be returning. Yes, I know there's no such thing as a free lunch; however this experience left a bad taste in my mouth and so I felt compelled to share it with fellow travelers.

Room Tip: Third floor junior suite with terrace facing the Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alpha2pro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Friend,

I'm sorry that you fell defrauded, but let me say that maybe you are wrong!
Glass is not all the same, it look the same but it's not. Two vase that may look exactly the same can have to completely different prices. I'm not say that this is the case, but it can be.

In any case you should complaint with the glass factory about this issue, not with us. We just told you that there was the chance to visit a blowing glass factory in murano. We told you that the service is offered by the glass factory who obviously hope to sell you something (because as you said there are no free lunch).
BUT you are not forced to go there, and once there you are not forced to buy anything.

We cannot know if they have the same products in the city at a lower rate or not!!! We don't have to give any apologize as we don't have any role in this "scheme" (if a scheme exist, because at the end you may be just wrong).

I'm really sad to know that you are giving us the fault of this thing, as you are completely wrong.

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My family of four stayed for four nights in room 102, which sleeps four, because we wanted to enjoy the amazing view of the lagoon from our small terrace. We were there on the night of the Festa del Redentore and got to watch the amazing fire works show from our terrace. Our room was lovely, though a bit small for four, but it was worth it to have the wonderful view. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was great. Mostly, we enjoyed the location and the proximity to all the best sites in Venice. The staff called water taxis for us and they picked us up right on the little canal along side the hotel. Wonderful!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with your children, you could either stay in room 102 or you could also reserve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stanleyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review.
I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and the great view you had on the fireworks!!!

We all look forward to welcome you soon again here, warmest regards.

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#22 of 386 in Venice
1,457 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#50 of 386 in Venice
1,194 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bisanzio
Hotel Bisanzio
#58 of 386 in Venice
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#88 of 386 in Venice
1,659 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#18 of 386 in Venice
751 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bucintoro
Hotel Bucintoro
#21 of 386 in Venice
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Locanda Vivaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locanda Vivaldi

Property: Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Address: Riva degli Schiavoni, 4152-53, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#41 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#74 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Locanda Vivaldi 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Vivaldi is a small boutique hotel facing the lagoon, just few steps from Saint Mark's Square. The location is just perfect, the view from the rooms and the rooftop terrace is simply amazing. The atmosphere of the hotel is intimate, we are the right choice for a romantic escape to Venice! And don't forget to enjoy our rooftop Bar & restaurant, you will enjoy a unique view on Saint MArk's Basin, on the Lagoon of Venice and on the life going on in Riva degli Schiavoni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Locanda Vivaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Vivaldi Venice
Locanda Vivaldi Hotel Venice
Vivaldi Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing