We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but needs refurbishment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Ranked #54 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham England
Level Contributor
156 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Good location but needs refurbishment”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Having read the other reviews, I am afraid that I and my friends have to disagree with some of the praise.
The hotel is an old building on the Grand Canal near the Vaporetto station. As such it is ideally positioned for St Marks Square and transport. There is noise from the large numbers of tourists going from the boats to the centre but this dies down around 9 pm.
However, the rooms although large have small bathrooms which are in some need of refurbishment. The room maid failed to replace shampoo etc on 3 of 4 days and did not replace towels on one day. This was resolved with a word at the desk. The public areas have gone beyond being typical of a Venice palazzio to dowdy and having stayed in other Venice hotels of a similar grade, the hotel is in need of an update whilst maintaining the character.
Breakfast is in 2 small rooms and on the days we were there, the pleasant staff could not keep up with the guests. Tables were uncleared, the bread and other food ran out and the 2 rooms were completely full.
The restaurant is on the top floor and on the 2 occasions we went up there it was empty. There is really no pretence that this is meant to be a quality restaurant as it appears to available only to guests.
There are several other hotels nearby charging the same rates, in the same sort of building that offer a much better facilities and value.
Reception staff were helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Buongiorno,

I'm sorry but I don't agree with the most of the things you wrote (and it seems that also the other reviewers don't!!!).
We don't need a refurbishment, the hotel is about 10 years old and we do maintenance always.

The breakfast rooms are not small, they are VERY big compared to the dimension of our hotel (I remember you that we have only 27 rooms), much bigger than the most of the other hotels here in Venice. It can happen that the breakfast rooms is full, it's normal during the high season periods. But the service is quick and in few minutes you have a table ready for you. The food is replaced instantly, even before that it is finished!!!

Concerning the restaurant, you didn't tried it. How can you judge his qualities?
It is reserved to the guests of our hotels because we want to keep it exclusive.

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    257
    44
    11
    10
See reviews for
182
536
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Beautiful Hotel, very nice location for a first visit.
Close to St. Marks, but far enough away to not feel crushed.
Next time I will stay father away from the maddening crowds.

Room Tip: The rooms to the front were a bit noisier, but being from NYC, noise wasn't an issue for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blottoinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Buongiorno!

I'm very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thanks a lot for this very nice review, have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Suggested by a friend we were more than delighted with this wonderful boutique hotel. We had a room overlooking the Grand Canal, our friends a corner room overlooking both the Canal and a smaller waterway- perhaps a better choice as the front-facing room did get a little noisy due to some enthusiastic tourist. Of course not enough to interfere with the joy of our stay.
The staff were friendly, informative and always welcoming. Asking their suggestion for dinner we enjoyed several Trattorias quite close to the Hotel, delicious!
Situated close to the water-taxi, St. Marks Square, many wonderful galleries and tourist attractions it made our trip to Venice very easy to enjoy. Gracias, we will return!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnette613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thanks to you for your very kind review!
We all look forward to welcome you again here, have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

This boutique hotel is beautifully situated on the Grand Canal and within easy walking distance from St. Marks Square. The staff was friendly, very helpful and spoke perfect English. We wanted a dinner reservation at a certain restaurant; they called many times to make the reservation. The room was a luxury room by any standards - truly Venetian with linen sheets! We had a junior suite that had a heavy "curtain" we could drop to separate the sleeping areas with each having their own TV! The bathroom was huge and had every convenience - from jets for the shower and tub to the ability to switch the electrical outlets from European to US voltage! The breakfast buffet was excellent! All in all, the Locanda Vivaldi is a perfect place to make your stay in Venice all it is suppose to be!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoVTHokieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review!
We all hope to welcome you again here in Venice, have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

From the moment we arrived at Locanda Vivaldi by water taxi (€110 organised at the desk in the arrivals hall to avoid late night haggling) we felt welcome. All the members of staff were unfailingly helpful and friendly, happy to book water taxis, make dinner reservations and answer what must seem like the inevitable tourist questions. We took the courtesy trip to Murano to watch glass blowing – amazingly skilled - felt under no obligation to buy anything, enjoyed the glass museum and then the return journey by water bus via areas of the city we would not otherwise have seen. Our room (209) was Italian in style, - as it should be in Venice - scrupulously clean with a very comfortable bed, crisp white bed linen, very well appointed en-suite shower room and soft, fluffy towels changed every day. The room was tidied while we were at dinner, sweets and a card with the weather forecast for the following day left on our pillows. The breakfast buffet was excellent, extensive and constantly replenished. Temperatures in February can be chilly, but the heating system was easily adjusted to either heat or cool the room.

Locanda Vivaldi is centrally located on Riva Degli Schiavoni, four minutes walk from the Piazza San Marco . We walked to a restaurant near the Rialto in 15 minutes and to another near the Arsenale in five. We tried other good restaurants in the little streets behind the hotel. Opposite is the San Zaccaria water bus stop. Room 209 has a view of the lagoon, overlooks Riva Dei Greci’s traditional Venetian apartments and provides a fascinating glimpse of the comings and goings of the carabinieri from the police station opposite. Fans of Donna Leon’s books will realise that the Questura is further up this canal. At this time of year the streets empty quickly in the evenings and nights were noise free. From around six Venice begins to waken up. Water buses and other boats come and go with varying degrees of noise. That is Venice and the inevitable result of overlooking a pretty canal, the iconic lagoon and being so conveniently close to a vaporetto stop.

Room Tip: A room away from the lagoon or canal might be quieter in the early morning, but would lack the views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank downhillgeoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review. We all hope to welcome you again soon!

Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

would not hesitate to reccomend this small hotel ideally situatedd friendly staff very very clean fresh towels every day and a wonderful breakfast next time in Venice I will hope to stay here

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldgolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thanks a lot for your very kind review!

Have a great day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#20 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#53 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bisanzio
Hotel Bisanzio
#60 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#84 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#26 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bucintoro
Hotel Bucintoro
#21 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Locanda Vivaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locanda Vivaldi

Property: Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Address: Riva degli Schiavoni, 4152-53, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#41 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#74 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Locanda Vivaldi 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Vivaldi is a small boutique hotel facing the lagoon, just few steps from Saint Mark's Square. The location is just perfect, the view from the rooms and the rooftop terrace is simply amazing. The atmosphere of the hotel is intimate, we are the right choice for a romantic escape to Venice! And don't forget to enjoy our rooftop Bar & restaurant, you will enjoy a unique view on Saint MArk's Basin, on the Lagoon of Venice and on the life going on in Riva degli Schiavoni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Locanda Vivaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Vivaldi Venice
Locanda Vivaldi Hotel Venice
Vivaldi Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing