We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Still the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Locanda Vivaldi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Ranked #45 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Still the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

It was our fourth visit to the hotel and although we were offered other places, we find nothing really comparable. Main and important to us features are: excellent location, minutes walk from most of Venice attractions, meters from water transport stops. Great interior and spacious, very well maintained rooms, most with uncomparable view to the Laguna and Canale Grande entrance. And most of all professional, friendly, always helpful staff, who patiently guided us through Venice and Veneto. For all those four years we visited Venice we were never disapointed with their advice. They know the place by heart and they always help. 2011 additions: next door concerts and, following new national regulations in Italy, Internet access through all hotel, free.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Piotr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Buongiorno!

How are you?
It's a pleasure to have you here with us every year.
Thanks a lot for the very kind review. I look forward for your next year's visit!!!

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    236
    42
    10
    10
See reviews for
171
499
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Vivaldi which had been recommended by friends. The roof terrace has amazing views across Venice. Rooms very traditional and breakfast good. Staff are helpful although not over friendly. My room had a lagoon view (lovely) but was on first floor which made it a bit noisy given this hotel is on main tourist thoroughfare along the water right by St Marks. Great location for the river boat buses and very close to the airoprt taxi river boat stop which makes a short break very easy.

Room Tip: get water taxi from airport to hotel 13 euros per
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Dear Friend,

thank you for your review!
All our rooms are fitted with insonorised double glasses and shutters.
For all those who want a super-quiet room I suugest to book a room overlooking on the backside! Just let us know in advance and we will arrange this for you.

Thank you and have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

Wonderful location looking across the lagoon to San Giorgio. Although the waterfront is busy, it quietens down at night. Bedroom very comfortable with nice bathroom. Staff could not have been more helpful. Plenty of restaurants within 5/10 minutes walk plus small rooftop restaurant in the hotel with nice food and possibly the best view in Venice. Second visit and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinia6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Dear Friend,

thanks a lot for your very kind review!!!
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and I'm happy you enjoyed our restaurent on the rooftop terrace!!!

We all wait to welcome you again here in Venice, warmest regards!


Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

The staff was very helpful and the hotel has old world charm. We especially enjoyed the stunning view from the restaurant where we had drinks and a delicious dinner both nights with the grandchildren. The hotel is very well located near St. Marks and the water with all the boats. Breakfast was excellent. We plan to return to this small hotel in the future.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiovannaUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Buongiorno!

thank you for your very kind review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and I'm happy that you want to come back!
We all wait to welcome you again here, warmest regards!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

Really helpful staff, impeccably clean and a superb position looking out on the lagoon and also over the canal. Nicely appointed rooms and bathrooms. Discovered David’s birthday from passport and sent some Prosecco on the house – how nice was that? Just a few minutes from St Marks and a few steps from the vaporetti station. Lovely time and would certainly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenmorris270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
Buongiorno!!!

Thanks a lot for your review. I'm really happy to know that you appreciated our efforts and that you enjoyed your stay.
We all look forward to welcome you again soon in Venice.
Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

5 of us stayed there for a Birthday celebration. Incidentally it was Carnival time. Couldn't ask for better location. Whole parade passed under our window. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Very comfortable bathroom but the jaccuzzi bathtub was damaged and it uncomfortable standing in it.
Most of the concierge/ reception are very polite. Pity about the breakfast which is cooked by the waiter and the waitress who also doubled as porter and housekeeper.
Imagine the result in particular during a very busy Carnival weekend. Badly laid tables, no crockery or cutlery available, hardly any food on the buffet left way before the end of breakfast time. When fianlly our fried eggs arrived way overcooked the waiter said ' little overcooked but never mind'!!!! and he was annoyed that I resorted to the Receptionist to get a decent breakfast.Definetely not their fault though but taht of the management who did not employ more staff to help out

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for the lagoon view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinafromCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
Dear Friend,

I'm sorry for the jacuzzi and the breakfast. Unfortunately we don't always have the time to fix the things that the previous guests break. That is a shame I know! We always try to do our best but sometimes this is not enough.

Concerning the breakfast I assure you that we have enough waiters. We are almost fully booked everyday and not only during the carnival. If the people would not be enough we would receive thousand complaints about the service!!!
Anyway the things that you reported should not happen, we will investigate about them to not do the same mistake again.

I hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the next future, thank you and have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstanz, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

Venice ist a very special and wonderful place and Locando Vivaldi is a wonderful hotel! We stayed the second time in Venice and in the hotel and enjoyed it very very much. Our room was very comfortable and beautiful. We like the Venetian decoration and the spectacular views to the lagune of Venice. If you walk during the day through the narrow streets and through the special world of little canals and bridges it is wonderful to have in the mornings and evenings the atmosphere and the lights of the lagoon (sunrise and sunset). You see all kinds of boats and you have an amazing view to San Giorgio and Santa Maria della Salute. The service of the hotel is excellent and the staff is very friendly, helpful and always in good mood. The hotel is centrally located next to piazza san marco and next to a vaporetto station but you can also easily walk to all places. We can highly recommend this hotel. Grazie mille a tutto il personale!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Locanda Vivaldi, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Grazie Mille to You!

I'm very happy that you enjoyed our beautifull city and the hotel as well.

We will wait to welcome you again here, warmest regards.

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#44 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#23 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bisanzio
Hotel Bisanzio
#56 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Bucintoro
Hotel Bucintoro
#21 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#13 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#55 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Locanda Vivaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locanda Vivaldi

Property: Hotel Locanda Vivaldi
Address: Riva degli Schiavoni, 4152-53, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#41 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#74 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Locanda Vivaldi 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Vivaldi is a small boutique hotel facing the lagoon, just few steps from Saint Mark's Square. The location is just perfect, the view from the rooms and the rooftop terrace is simply amazing. The atmosphere of the hotel is intimate, we are the right choice for a romantic escape to Venice! And don't forget to enjoy our rooftop Bar & restaurant, you will enjoy a unique view on Saint MArk's Basin, on the Lagoon of Venice and on the life going on in Riva degli Schiavoni. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Locanda Vivaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Vivaldi Venice
Locanda Vivaldi Hotel Venice
Vivaldi Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing