We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”
Review of Hotel Abbazia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Abbazia
Ranked #79 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Hong kong
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“good location”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is my first time been to Venice,I think I made a right choice to stay here.when I arrived a train station it was heavy rain,and I got lost to find this hotel even asked for help with the shopper ,they seems didn't know. Luckily we found it as if I get it right it is easy to reach, actually just leave the station and turn left when you see the restaurantthan yuou can see the alley just got inside and walk straight andstop in the middle of the alley as opposite the Chinese restaurant.
As the hotel don't have lift so the staff will help you to bring the luggage up and the breakfast is very simplebut OK and the room is not small and is quite only morning you will hear the bell chime but Italy is not strange. Overall is safe and cosy.Venice is walkable city so even we are far from the tourist site but it is very easy on foot or by water bus. But stay here you don't need to rush to get the waterbus to get the train as we have a heavy luggage,as if raining you can imagine how it was.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zartme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,060
    699
    114
    27
    9
See reviews for
394
917
69
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is a great hotel, near everything in Venice. Don't be put off that it is near the train station. It makes getting in and out of Venice so easy! The staff were amazing. Everyone was so helpful in providing maps, suggestions of restaurants, etc. They were very patient with our requests and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. We felt we had a private tour guide at the ready!
We would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzilou3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Lovely hotel close to vaporette, station and only 1 bridge to go over from the bus station. Breakfast was plentyful and all the staff helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Caution if you have mobility issues as there is no lift

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinxyMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

From the moment we arrived the staff were extremely helpful. We had a family room which was huge by Venice standards and well appointed. Stayed for three nights and would definitely return. Couldn't be closer to the train station which was important for us as kids had to wheel bags. Ate at some wonderful out the way traditional restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliott38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 610 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Booked one deluxe triple room for the night of 25 th December on the hotel website.. We arrived with lots of lugagge because we were on the way to the mountains for a ski holidays. Were able to reach the hotel easily.
For those traveling by train or bus from the airport, the location is perfect. It was our 4th time in Venice so we didn`t mind to stay far from San Marco ( around 40 min on foot) , but for first time visitors perhaps it will be nicer to stay closer to Rialto Bridge and San Marco.
The room was quiet, very spacious, with an updated bathroom and classic venetian style decoration.Free Hi-fi. No elevators.Lots of stairs to reach the top floor, although they kindly helped with the lugagge.
The breakfast was adequate and the stay overall good.
The hotel held the total amount of the room from my card 2 days before arrival. On departure instead of charged the bill from the amount that they have reserved on my card, the receptionist charge again my credit card. I didn `t like this procedure. If the bill was higher probably I will be in trouble with my payments... It was the first of the 4 hotels where I have stayed in Venice that had this kind of policy...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank margarida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed here one night with my 3 young-adult children during our 10-day European holiday. Excellent location very close to train & bus station. Hotel staff was very friendly & helpful. I had accidentally booked a triple room instead of quad but upon arrival, the hotel staff cheerfully helped resolve the issue by giving us a quad room with no hassle. Everyone in the staff was cheerful and friendly. Loved the atmosphere of the hotel: long hallways, staircases, reception room all had a lovely feel. Our room was very clean with comfortable beds and a nice, clean bathroom. Breakfast was good with large selection of breads, cheese, cold meats, coffee/cappuccino machine, juice. Would definitely recommend Hotel Abbazia and would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel-Bug-0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel on location and cost. Location is perfect, non better. Just around the corner from the train station, no bridges to cross with bags, but far enough for no noise. There are plenty of nice places nearby and breakfast is ok. Beds are a good size and staff are friendly.

On the downside you need to be up early to make sure that you have hot water, not what we wanted on our relaxing part of the holiday. This happened 2 out of 3 days that we stayed here. Also, everyday we stayed the church bells woke us at 7:15 and 8:15 without fail. Not the hotels fault but some annoying.

Stay here for the good points and just put up the bad.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingPom031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#108 of 385 in Venice
1,579 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#11 of 385 in Venice
3,640 reviews
Cannaregio
Venice Times Hotel
Venice Times Hotel
#197 of 385 in Venice
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#27 of 385 in Venice
852 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#12 of 385 in Venice
2,010 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#199 of 385 in Venice
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abbazia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbazia

Property: Hotel Abbazia
Address: Calle Priuli dei Cavaletti 68 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Venice
#50 Family Hotel in Venice
#68 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abbazia 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Abbazia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbazia Hotel Venice
Hotel Abbazia Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing