We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Abbazia......Again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Abbazia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Abbazia
Ranked #73 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Trefin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful Abbazia......Again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Third time in this hotel. It's clean, it's convenient and the service is excellent! Matteo and Mirko.....on the front desk deserve a medal, nothing is too much trouble for them and they always make us laugh. Our room was a little more snug than on our two previous occasions but the hotel was full! That's the success of Tripadvisor, I suppose. Shared this gem of a place with too many other travellers.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevfromle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,031
    677
    107
    24
    7
See reviews for
376
889
66
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We recently stayed at the Abbazia for 5 nights while we visited Venice. This hotel was recommended to us by some friends who actually held their wedding there a few years ago. We loved the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Our room was big with decent wifi access. We loved the location away from the San Marco area. It gave us extra opportunity to explore other parts of Venice. In addition the staff provided us with excellent recommendations for restaurants.

The bells of the church next door do ring at 7:30 AM, but then we knew what time it was and could sleep for another short time! The breakfast was included and very generous. An additional feature worth mentioning is that you are literally one block from the train station and maybe two blocks from the bus station, thus making it easy and convenient to travel again.

We recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PVPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Had two rooms booked here in Nov 12 for post cruise stay in Venice with my partner, sister and mother. Hotel is literally a two minute walk from the train station (and about ten minutes from the monorail stop you come to from the cruise port - beware a large bridge you have to take luggage up and over if walking with cases!). Outside of hotel was being refurbished when we stayed so couldn't see the building unfortunately but very atmospheric inside. Lovely central hall with comfy sofas and wifi. Rooms were pleasant if not quite as contemporary/deluxe as the photos on some booking sites make out, perfectly nice though. Staff very friendly indeed, we arrived quite early on arrival day c. 9.30am from our cruise and they said while our rooms wouldn't be ready till the afternoon we could leave our (copious amount of) luggage and were welcome to take breakfast in the restaurant! This was a lovely treat as we had to leave our ship very early and hadn't had chance for breakfast so this was very nice. A selection of ham/cheese/cakes and pastries etc and a wide variety of drinks from a slightly temperamental machine in the corner. We went out for the day and collected our keys in the evening and they had even taken our bags up to our room for us already, I was most impressed. There is a waterbus stop right outside as you are next to the train station but we walked each time in and out of central venice (about a half hour at a leisurely pace) and managed to take a totally different route every time! There are lots of little shops and cafes etc along the main road that runs from near the hotel along the main canal side toward the Rialto bridge including a supermarket where we picked up a few drinks and snacks for the room which was handy.

Overall a great stay and while the rooms are not wildly luxurious, the place has a lovely homely feel to it and the service was top notch - I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one week and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. Great location - so you don't have to lug your suitcase all over Venice! Easy access to vaporetti. Front desk staff is multi-lingual. I heard Italian, English, French, German while I was there. Staff very helpful with directions, restaurant recommendations and reservations. They have a nice lounge area - great for a spritz before going out for the evening. Nice and filling breakfast provided. I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancyjeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

my husband and i went to italy for our honeymoon and booked this hotel based on the t.a. reviews and it did not disappoint. we stayed in venice for 2 nights and it was absolutely perfect for the short trip. we stayed in a standard room, but it was anything but standard...very clean, cute little garden view, decent size. if you get the garden side view, beware of the church bells that ring at very random times, they're pretty loud, but don't last but a minute. i say it's perfect for two nights because the quarters were a bit snug if you had a bunch of luggage and were planning at stay several days. mateo, the guy who helped us get checked into the room at the front desk, was amazing! he took our bags up to our room and had our room ready when we got their (got there at 11:30 and check-in isn't until 2:00). mateo (and the other guy up there) spoke great english and were very helpful. several bars just around the corner...(the irish bar was a lot of fun!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great hotel close to train station down quiet side street. Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean, comfortable rooms. Only drawback is lack of American style showers. Bathrooms are clean and large. A great experience in Venice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is charming, beautiful and old. Our family room was large and roomy with a renovated bathroom. Breakfast was good and location near the railway station was excellent.
Great place to stay in Venice if one has large heavy suitcases.

Room Tip: It is only a 100 metres from the railway station and people have gotten lost getting to the hotel as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissDetox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,433 reviews
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#105 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#34 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Continental Venice
Hotel Continental Venice
#162 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#185 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#218 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abbazia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbazia

Property: Hotel Abbazia
Address: Calle Priuli dei Cavaletti 68 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Venice
#50 Family Hotel in Venice
#68 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abbazia 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Abbazia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbazia Hotel Venice
Hotel Abbazia Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing