We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gorizia a la Valigia
Ranked #147 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was a lovely hotel, which we stayed in for 5 nights in April.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and although we didnt speak much italian and they didnt speak much english, we got through just fine!
The room was large with more than enough storage space, and both the room and bathroom were very clean and tidy.
The breakfast was buffet style which was perfect, but as the dining room is quite small and there are a lot of table and chairs squashed in, when the hotel was busy it was quite difficult to get a table, and when you did eventually grab a table, there was not much space to move....after a few dasy though we got used to it.
The hotel is decorated in an old italian style with gold everywhere and a grand staircase going up the floors.
It was perfectly situated right by one of the small canals and was only 5 minutes walk from St Marcs Square and within walking distance from Rialto and other attractions.
A perfect place to stay in Venice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carina110992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    382
    151
    35
    31
See reviews for
105
430
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in July and have in fact used this hotel on a previous visit (which must say something!)
Ideally situated between Rialto Bridge & San Marco, we found it an ideal spot from which to venture to all corners. With San Marco only being 6/7 minutes walk, this is ideal if you need to pick up a boat to a multitude of places.
We had a superior room which was quite spacious by Venice standards. Think these rooms have been refurbished within last 2/3 years and found them very comfortable. Air con efficient & not too noisy. (needed it in July!). No tea / coffee facilities in room, but as we tend to spend minimum time there, that was not a problem. There are plenty of small cafe/snack bars around the area, so that was never a problem.
Would certainly use again due to central location - and we will definitely return to Venice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Groyne36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and the location was brilliant. Hotel is located between San Marco square and the Rialto Bridge. The decor in the room was very Venetian.
The room was clean however the bed was uncomfortable, too firm, we had a back-pain after first night. There is no tea or coffee facilities at all and the room heater is too noisy and you can't switch it off.
On the positive side: the breakfast was good and location can't be better

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Have just got back from a 5 day trip to venice, and this hotel was perfecty located to explore this beautiful city! Only a few minutes walk from the Rialto bridge and water taxi stop, and with plenty of shops, restaurants and cake/refreshment shops along the way. The hotel was warm, clean, beds were changed every day (they even folded my pajamas up beautifully) the staff very friendly and helpful, and yes the rooms are a bit cosy, but i didnt go to venice to sit in the hotel room, my only gripe is there are no tea or coffee making facilties in the room, but we found a great little cafe about 4 doors down that did takeaways, so we made sure to call in every night, my mum said it was the best coffee she had ever had. I would highly recommend this hotel and wouldnt hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millybobs1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of November for the weekend and it was the ideal location. We had a water taxi from the airport and they dropped us off next to the Rialto Bridge. A short walk up Bembo alley lead us straight onto Calle dei Fabbri, the hotel was on the left hand side. 2 to 3 mins walk. Turning left out of the hotel and just following the streets leads you to the back of St Mark's Square. 5 - 6 mins walk.
We had a standard room but it was plenty big enough for us. The bathroom was also a good size. The shower over the bath does not have a curtain or glass screen so water does splash out but we found if you turn the shower head sideways there is little water on the floor. The hairdryer is a hose with a small pointed top so is not ideal for drying and styling hair especially if you have medium or long hair. So ladies I would suggest taking a travel hairdryer.
We found the staff pleasant and friendly. So would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bowlswidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of November. It is in an excellent location between Rialto Bridge and St Mark Square. We had a superior room. Like most hotels in Venice the room wasn't huge but the decor was very Venetian. Clean sheets every day along with plenty of fresh towels. The breakfast room was a wee bit on the small side but this added to the whole experience. If you book this hotel then when you come out of the airport turn to your left and it's a 7 minute walk to a water bus. It's at the far end and will cost you 15 euros for a trip along the Grand Canal and drop you off at the Rialto stop. The hotel is a 2 minute walk away. Wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Room 27 is fine. Close the shutters at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doonhamer1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

A lovely hotel with a great location,a couple of minutes to Marks square and Rialto Bridge,friendly staff with a sense of humour( tutti fruitti)and also a bit of English.The rooms a bit small but comfortable,the continental breakfast was wonderful all fresh food and plenty of(the red orange juice was very tasty).if going back to Venice would definitely stay her again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomdogWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Ca' San Rocco
Ca' San Rocco
#136 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#193 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
San Marco
Antica Locanda al Gambero
Antica Locanda al Gambero
#138 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Turelli
Ca' Turelli
#224 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#200 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#106 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorizia a la Valigia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorizia a la Valigia

Property: Gorizia a la Valigia
Address: Calle Dei Fabbri San Marco 4696-A | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gorizia a la Valigia 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will lose yourself in the atmosphere of Venice that you have always dreamed of, between San Marco and the Ponte di Rialto, lodged in a splendid, completely renovated seventeenth-century palace. In the middle of the historic center, within walking distance from all the most significant places in the city, the Hotel Gorizia "A La Valigia" offers maximum comfort and the best services for an exclusive and relaxing vacation in one of the most characteristic 3-star hotels in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gorizia a la Valigia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorizia a La Valigia Hotel Venice
Gorizia a La Valigia Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing