We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
Ranked #129 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Ok, so the room was very small,(don't be expecting the ones you see on the website) however, the beds were comfortable, it was clean and the shower was good, towels changed every day. The breakfast room was a little cramped but there was a good choice on offer from the buffet style breakfast.
The central location is brilliant
We almost managed to get a smile from the man on reception when we checked out, he wasn't rude, seemed somewhat curmudgeonly but we found it all quite amusing

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (850)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 850 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

This hotel is very handy to most of the important attractions. Convenient to the Grand Canal, the Rialto Bridge and St. Marks Square and many of the restaurants. The room was small but adequate and clean. It was difficult to close the shower doors to keep the water contained and the hair drier didn't work. The breakfast was great, as were the breakfast staff but the breakfast room was exceptionally small and when it was full it was difficult to move comfortably. Overall, value for money I would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My friend and I stayed at this for 4 nights last week. This is a 3 star hotel approx 5 mins walk from St Mark’s Square, and as such fulfilled our requirements.

The staff. All were helpful, though a couple on reception could have been slightly more welcoming.

Room: Quite small, but as 2 more mature ladies we found the layout excellent as the 2 single beds were head to head along one wall with the cupboard containing the fridge between them. This gave the illusion of being in one’s own small single room. The room was clean and the bathroom immaculate with an excellent shower. Clean towels (2 bath sheets, 2 bath towels and hand towels) were provided each day and the beds were changed the second day.

Large window which when opened fully inwards came across the end of my bed, but didn’t present a problem.

Décor: No built in furniture. Wardrobe, dressing table, chair and luggage rack rather mock rococco but perfectly functional. Excellent lighting – main light, table light and good light at each bed.

Breakfast: Good continental breakfast with choice of cereals, cold meats, cheese, usual breads and sweet pastries. Coffee, teas fruit juices and fruit.

As we both live in country areas visiting busy cities can be noisy at night but there was no street noise from outside.

For 4 nights we got a clean comfortable room in the centre of Venice at a reasonable price.

On a star rating I would give 4 out of 5.

Room Tip: 3rd floor room at back of hotel - small but adequate for short stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bebe0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Centrally located, and good value for Venice. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room comfortable and clean, and breakfast was plentiful and relaxed.
My only (very minor) gripe is that our room was on the 4th floor, and the lift only went up to the 3rd - not a problem during the stay, but arrival and departure with the luggage was a bit of a pain.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 1st/2nd/3rd floor if you don't want to lug your bags up/down stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DragonladyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Hotel is ideally located between San Marco square and Rialto bridge on Grand Canal. Small hotel with uniquely decorated rooms. Bathrooms updated nicely. Staff was friendly. Convenient to water taxis. Ask for a Porter if you have lots of luggage to transport to water taxi. Many excellent restaurants in surrounding area. Be aware of pickpockets in Venice! Recommended for value for the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DDKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Had 3 nights at the Gorizia - Excellent location but the staff were so miserable and unhelpful. I did not see one person smile or say hello. Breakfast was good and was always replenished very quickly.

Room Tip: Room 49 is a brilliant room with a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill55476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was a reasonable hotel. It was well positioned for the main attractions and a good variety of restaurants.
The room was small and dark but very clean and bed was comfy. The toilet was very small, the door could not open fully as it hit the sink, but with a bit of manouvering it was manageable.
We were awoken each morning at 7am to the sound of bells, for us this was an advantage as we were up and out early making the most of our time.
The breakfast was continental with a fair choice and it was well stocked, once we had mastered the coffee machine we were fine.
The staff were all friendly and helpful, although we didn't spend much time in the hotel as we were out most of the day only going back to freshen up and change for dinner.

Room Tip: I don't have any info on other rooms and although ours was small and dark we were not there to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mumsvisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#49 of 387 in Venice
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Paganelli
Hotel Paganelli
#101 of 387 in Venice
970 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#70 of 387 in Venice
797 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#120 of 387 in Venice
2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia

Address: Calle Dei Fabbri San Marco 4696/A, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $110 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will lose yourself in the atmosphere of Venice that you have always dreamed of, between San Marco and the Ponte di Rialto, lodged in a splendid, completely renovated seventeenth-century palace. In the middle of the historic center, within walking distance from all the most significant places in the city, the Hotel Gorizia "A La Valigia" offers maximum comfort and the best services for an exclusive and relaxing vacation in one of the most characteristic 3-star hotels in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorizia a La Valigia Hotel Venice
Gorizia a La Valigia Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing