We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An hotel between Rialto and San Marco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gorizia a la Valigia
Ranked #145 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Palermo, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An hotel between Rialto and San Marco”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Great location and good treatment. The Hotel Gorizia a la Valigia is a small hotel, but managed wisely. It can give to customers everything they need for a pleasant stay in Venice.
Rooms are comfortable and breakfast is good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avolpe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    381
    151
    35
    31
See reviews for
105
430
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The price for this hotel was very reasonable, especially considering that Venice in general is expensive. It was the least expensive hotel of our Italy vacation. Yet we loved that hotel. The greatest asset is its location a very short and pleasant walk to St. Mark's Square (Piazza San Marco) or in the opposite direction slightly farther to the Rialto Bridge--two of the main landmarks of the city. It's very convenient to get to the hotel from the vaporetto (water bus) from the Rialto Bridge stop which you can easily access from anywhere, particularly the train station or the airport. Our room was quite small (typical of European hotels), but furnished tastefully with antique style furniture and a gorgeous Venetian glass chandelier. The service was satisfactory. There was good wifi available free in the rooms without the need for codes, passwords, etc. The provided breakfast was adequate but no more. The room was clean and the sheets were changed on the third day. Plenty of fluffy towels. While certainly not a luxury hotel, it was very pleasant, and we had a small balcony overlooking the narrow street beside the hotel. I would definitely stay at the Gorizia the next time we go to Venice.

Room Tip: I would request a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Been there from 13th to 16th of November for a Wedding & Birthday anniversary and we have found the stay at the hotel as being a great one. We have mentioned to the hotel patrons the reason of our visit and why we have choose their hotel and they have put a prosseco bottle and local biscuits in our room of which we were very well surprised.

The hotel is very well situated between the Rialto Bridge and San Marco Square. You can get very easily around various local attractions and wonder on narrow alleys and go up and down the multitude of bridges.

Breakfast was not a all an English one, but an continental one and very filling and very good, however you could easily guess who were eating the cereals every morning. The breakfast room not very huge and sometime could get a bit crowdy.

Hotel personnel was polite and useful, and the rooms were kept very clean every day.

Our recommendation is that people should go to the hotel and take advantage of the hotel location and the great places for which Venice is famous. If someone would want the hotel to be more than a 3 star hotel than should look somewhere else, possible mainland - Mestre, as this hotel is a great hotel for the stars it has and especially for the old buildings in Venice. The room we have stayed in was not huge, but made us feeling that we have moved back in time couple of hundred years ago and we loved it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamSCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Have just returned from a three night stay, which was a surprise for my partners birthday. I had asked for a room with a view and much to my surprise we had room 66 with our own terrace and view of the bell tower. The room was nicely furnished with padded fabric wall covering, clean and cosy, with a bottle of complementary Prosecco for the birthday boy! Bathroom was clean with fresh towels daily. Breakfast could have been better, coffee machines are not quite what you expect in Venice. The common ways of the hotel were a bit tired as were the two older male reception staff, they had the upside down moon mouths but the girl was really helpful. With the Rialto and San Marco only five minutes away it was a great location and good value.

Room Tip: I can recommend room 66 with the only roof terrace! The bell tower does chime through the night thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
357 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Was supposed to be staying at this hotel during an overnight stop on a cruise. Had a non-refundable room, cruise line changed the night that we would be arriving. Was hoping that the hotel would be kind enough to allow me to change the night of my stay. I was asking for no money back. First hotel contact information provided by many of the hotel booking sites is incorrect. Finally found the correct phone number, available only on the hotel's website and no other, was not initially answered. Than answered by someone who could only tell me to call back the next day. Ended up having to send an email since I had limited access to phones. Message I got back was a very terse. No. We can't do anything. There is a big difference between can't and won't. This was clearly a case of WON'T. Needless to say I did not re-book at that hotel for the rescheduled night in port.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Location is great... Price is ok compare to the rest of the hotels that i saw and i would say totally worth it. It is just around the corner of San Marco, along a quiet lane and there you will see this small cosy hotel. The rooms are ok, not small, not dirty, well maintained... but the bathroom is really bad... the shower area is too small for even an asian girls like me.... once the door is closed, i can hardly move...
Breakfast is included and that is a plus point! The breakfast is considered good and the staffs are helpful enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiza
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My parents and I found the Hotel Gorizia to be welcoming. cosy and well located, just off the main square of San Marco. Although our rooms were quite small they were pleasantly decorated and warm. However, the lift was not working on a couple of days during our stay which was a slight inconvenience - it would have been a real hassle for any elderly guests but fortunately my folks are in very good shape. Breakfast was very good. Staff very nice & helpful. We would have no hesitation in both recommending the Hotel Gorizia and returning there again one day for another stay. Oh, beware of some of the cafes along the perimeter of San Marco's square - view the menu first as we were stung for 29 euros but just three capuccinos but fortunately they were very good ones!

Room Tip: Simply request their best within your price range as they are all located either to the front or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchibiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Ca' San Rocco
Ca' San Rocco
#126 of 386 in Venice
295 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#192 of 386 in Venice
303 reviews
San Marco
Antica Locanda al Gambero
Antica Locanda al Gambero
#133 of 386 in Venice
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#198 of 386 in Venice
974 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Noemi
Hotel Noemi
#201 of 386 in Venice
394 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#106 of 386 in Venice
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorizia a la Valigia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorizia a la Valigia

Property: Gorizia a la Valigia
Address: Calle Dei Fabbri San Marco 4696-A | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gorizia a la Valigia 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will lose yourself in the atmosphere of Venice that you have always dreamed of, between San Marco and the Ponte di Rialto, lodged in a splendid, completely renovated seventeenth-century palace. In the middle of the historic center, within walking distance from all the most significant places in the city, the Hotel Gorizia "A La Valigia" offers maximum comfort and the best services for an exclusive and relaxing vacation in one of the most characteristic 3-star hotels in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gorizia a la Valigia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorizia a La Valigia Hotel Venice
Gorizia a La Valigia Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing