We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb!”
Review of Ca dei Polo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ca dei Polo
Ranked #14 of 474 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Everything about this hotel is excellent:
- location near piazzale roma is the best (it is a torture to carry your luggage through Venice with its numerous bridges, steps, and small, confusing, calettes);
- beauty - it is an outstanding architecture and design, authentic but new and fresh.
- comfort - the room was very nice and cozy and quite. The breackfast was deliciousc.
- price - fair to good for such a service and location.
- for period we visited Venice (mid august) we had free internet and water in the room.
I strongly recommend!

Room Tip: We had a room with a view to a beautiful backyard and it was quite and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 587 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

When you book a room in a foreign country through an online site you really do not know for positive what you are getting. We were thrilled! The room was stunning, and the history of the building was so interesting! Stephano and Maximilian were wonderful hosts. I also loved the location. It's the perfect distance from St Marks Square and the airport. If we had not been the distance from St Marks I would have never seen so many of the beautiful buildings along the canal.

Room Tip: I love having our room face the canal. I would ask for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Good:
- We had a Deluxe King Suite overlooking the Grand Canal which was quite exceptional.
- The room was rather large, complete with couch, table, two chairs, and a mini-fridge.
- The staff provided 2 free bottles of water in our fridge (carbonated or still, we just needed to specify).
- The restroom was nice, as it had a european-style urinal and toilet and an elegant sink.

The Bad:
- Breakfast was absolutely HORRIBLE. I seriously couldn't stand it and that is saying something given that my wife and I had been in several countries and hotels and all of their food was at least edible. If you like regular lunch meat with bread, some tough croissants, dried out cakes, and a fruit basket - this is your gig. If it wasn't for the hardboiled eggs, I wouldn't have eaten anything.
- The shower was okay, although it's only 1/2-way glassed in which means water gets ALL over the floor. The soap/shampoo wasn't that great either, but it's typical for a hotel.
The reception guys are nice, however there is only one staffed at a time and reception closes early (no 24/7) and therefore no wakeup calls.

Would we go back again? Maybe, if all other hotels in Venice had awful breakfasts. That honestly was the most disappointing thing I experienced. Lastly, the location is great with respect to the rail station (<10 min walk) and for getting to the buses that head to the airport (<10 min walk). It's poor with respect to the city centre and St. Mark's Square, as it takes nearly 25 minutes to get there (and even longer if you aren't used to the Venetian maze!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DerKommisar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last summer too. The single room was so comfortable and clean. The backyard could be seen from the window of the room. So it was quiet though it was close to the Venice Central Station. But this hotel is very small. So if everyone knows about this hotel, it would be harder to book rooms. So I don't want everyone to know about this hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank いわん
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

It is a very nice location, very close to P.Le. Roma bus station. Spacious room, newly renovated, with elevator. Staff are vert friendly, especially Stefano, like an old friend or a nice neighbor. Only thing it needs a clear sign on the door to show here is this hotel. Other than that it is excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borjigit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is the best hotel i have stayed during my four-day trip in Italy. The hotel is very conveniently located near the Piazzale Roma where the airport bus stops. Very close to the railway station, too. The hotel is very tastefully decorated with an air of the old-world elegance. I love almost every detail of this hotel, especially the breakfast room with its paintings and elegant furniture. Staff of this hotel were very helpful. Stefano helped with my bag when i arrived and made sure that i am familiar with the facilities and the surrounding area. The lady at the breakfast room made delicious cakes and kindly offered to take pictures for me at the breakfast room and the nice terrace on the third floor. I will definitely recommend this place to my frinds and stay in this hotel again next time when i come to Venice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yuan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Didn't know what to expect on first trip to Venice, but was very impressed overall with this B&B.

The servicing of the room was very well done and the place was spotless. Breakfast was a very good buffet with plenty of choice and the staff covering the breakfast service were very helpful and attentive.

The owner couldn't do enough for us and treated us very well; even though we turned up early, checking in was done in a matter of minutes and we were off exploring. If you want a peaceful sleep I would highly recommend this property and with the public transport network in Venice you're never too far away from the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montjeu8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 385 in Venice
1,947 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#31 of 385 in Venice
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 385 in Venice
3,783 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
2,107 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#88 of 385 in Venice
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca dei Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca dei Polo

Address: Santa Croce 203, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 474 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $114 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant historic building is situated right in the heart of Venice and within easy reach of Piazzale Roma and the railway station.With its beautiful decoration and superb furnishing,and with the confort and warm welcome it provides for its guest, Cà dei Polo is certain to make your stay in Venice truly unforgettable.The building also has a covered roof terrace: the original outside space specially constructed to allow more room in the typical Venetian house . This is a great place to relax after a busy day?s sightseeing.On request , we can provide a private motorboat to take you on a delightful tour of the little islands in the lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ca dei Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing