We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #12 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, amazing service, friendly professional staff, incredible room on the Grand Canal. My husband and I had an amazing 2 days at this beautiful hotel. We recommend a room with the view on the Canale. Will definitely stay there next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matty99_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

905 - 911 of 1,305 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed here on the first night of an extended honeymoon. We decided to change our flights to leave a day earlier and I was rushing around trying to make a reservation at a hotel so we had somewhere to stay on our first night. In my haste I had made it for the day we left the states instead of the day we arrived. Many hotels would say "oh well" you are out your points and money for the night. Not so at the gritti palace, it felt like a true start to our honeymoon, they even let us pick which room we wanted to stay in and walked us up to both. Breakfast was wonderful and the hotel is centrally located. The only strange thing about this hotel is leaving your actual room key at the front desk and picking it up when you come back. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the canal, there is nothing like waking up to the sounds of the gon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rossel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen the Gritti Palace for the first night of your honeymoon and for having shared the adventurous beginning of your journey with this community.

We are grateful to you for having recognized our true concern for customer service and the empathetic attitude of our staff. We are glad having managed to waive the indeed applicable no-show fee.

Given the ever various circumstances, however, this is regretfully not always the case since many aspects are to be evaluated, such as the booked rate type, the hotel’s occupancy, and so on.

As far as the room key is concerned, we do ask our Guests to hand it to the Concierge when leaving the hotel, even for few hours, for their security.

We would be honored to welcoming you back on your future trip to Venice (maybe your wedding anniversary…?) to make you feel even more special.

Yours sincerely,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We visited Venice to celebrate our Ruby wedding and what a visit it turned out to be staying at this amazing hotel.The location is breathtaking overlooking the Grand Canal, the service faultless and everyone so friendly and helpful.We were blessed with glorious sunshine which just added to the beauty of this glorious city.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your rewarding feedback.
Your “WOW” is what we would like to hear from every Guest!

On the other hand we are sorry to read that you believe that there are superior options for dinner. We hope that we will have the pleasure of a return visit so that we may show you we can make much better!

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My husband and I went to celebrate our 45th Wedding Anniversary.

From the time we arrived - by water taxi from Marco Polo Airport - and immediately (as if by magic) a porter appeared to help me off the boat and see to our cases.

The check in staff welcomed us and explained our reservation and then took us to our beautiful room - it was decorated in typical Venetian style with Murano glass lights - the marble bathroom and loads of white fluffy towels and Aqua di Parma toiletries - fantastic.

The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in - and the pillows - they were so good. The bed linen was also superb.

The staff give exceptional service - nothing is too much trouble.

As it was our anniversary a silver bowl of large red roses arrived - there were chocolates - then a bottle of champagne on ice - and there was also a bottle of Merlot - and on the night of our anniversary we had arrived back from the Teatro la Fenice having been to the opera to find a table laid out with a beautiful gateau with the softest (alcholic) sponge with chantilly cream and lots of fresh fruit decoration - it was a huge gateau and it was so wonderful that between my husband and I we managed to eat half of it which we had with some champagne - (we gave the rest to the staff so as not to waste this lovely cake).

It did rain for a couple of days which was a bit of a nuisance - but we did not let this dampen our spirits and the concierge lent us umbrellas.

We would definitely recommend the hotel to all our friends - and we hope to come back again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SanJon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Wow, what an amazing Hotel. Exceptional service and great location. In a nice weather you can just relax in the patio and spend all day. The restaurant is good for breakfast and lunch to seat out side if weather permits. The city has more better options for dinner.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Vasu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

A true 5 star hotel in everyway, staff so welcoming and friendly nothing is too much trouble, they are complete professionals. We had a stunning room with a balcony facing the Grand Canal looking onto the Santa Maria della Salute. We were there celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary February 2014 and have been left with the most wonderful memories of our stay. The decor of the hotel inside is stunning, full of character and very beautiful. Bedroom and bathroom spotless everyday nothing to fault in anyway and gorgeous Acqua di Parma toiletries. We ate in the hotel restaurant, breakfast was fantastic, lunch and dinner excellent, everything we ate was absolutely delicious. The location of the hotel is perfect very easy to walk to everything you would want to see in Venice. Just wish we were still there and will certainly stay here again in the future. Thank you to everyone at the Gritti Palace for the most amazing stay you spoilt us and we are very grateful to you and all of your staff.

Room Tip: Grand Canal Room stunning!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank camjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful. The location was great and is close to St. Marks square. The staff recommended a small restaurant about 5 minutes away and was a great experience. The bar was pricey but the atmosphere is nice if you are looking for a private getaway.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank PDiddyFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#17 of 385 in Venice
1,577 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 385 in Venice
1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#60 of 385 in Venice
1,637 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Campo Santa Maria del Giglio 2467, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Venice
#3 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#9 Business Hotel in Venice
#9 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#13 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $459 - $2,620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gritti Palace, a Luxury Collection Hotel, reopened its doors in 2013 after a significant and handcrafted restoration which has brought the historical palace back to its original grandeur, and introduced new avenues for pleasure and relaxation including The Gritti Epicurean School and the Blu Mediterraneo SPA. A place of exceptional art and elegance, The Gritti Palace is a refined version of its iconic self, where heritage and culture blend with renewed Venetian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gritti Palace Hotel
Gritti Palace Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing