We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special place, Special Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #7 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Special place, Special Hotel”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Gritti Palace for a 3 day birthday treat in January and were impressed. The staff were very friendly particularly front desk and restaurant. We were upgraded to a very large room overlooking the Giglio church with a lovely floor to ceiling modern marble bathroom. We enjoyed the complimentary birthday prosecco. Bed was unusually comfy for Italy. Compared to the Danielli, which we stayed at previously, Gritti is less grand but more homely and less busy with passing tourists. Location is great, near upmarket shops and a 5 minute stroll to Piazza Marco. If you get a chance spend some time watching the world go bar at the hotel bar overlooking the Grand Canal. The restaurant is nice but very expensive and there are better choices elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdamCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,046
    84
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
196
746
28
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed at the Danieli for four days but chose to eat here at the Gritti Palace (part of the same hotel group) on our second evening. Dining at the Danieli was 25% more expensive and the food was not as good as here at the Gritti Palace and no noisy children running around. The dining room is sumptious with silk lining to the room, great lighting and with quality pictures and fittings. However, it was the attitude of the staff that we loved most. They were very welcoming and gave us a great table that looked out across the canal. We shared a chateaubriand (my wife and I) and it was cooked to perfection. If I was coming to Venice again I would stay at the Gritti Palace.

Room Tip: If you like steak then chose the chateaubriand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

One of the best locations in Venice - wonderful having the private terrace to enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner - or just drinks. A great benefit to be able to escape from the crowds and have nothing between you and the Grand Canal. A lovely (if expensive ) breakfast - dinner a little more mixed - wonderful service but the food seemed varaible. One gripe - please turn off or vary the piped music - it stayed the same selection for 4 days at every meal. You escape this on the terrace of course. Bedrooms and bathrooms excpetionally well-appointed and comfortable - as you would expect. Try to secure one that at least is overlooking the side canal - much nicer than facing onto the piazza side of the hotel. Bag a Grand Canal view room or suite if you can afford it! Well worth taking the private taxi service to and from the airport direct to the private jetty of the hotel. Wonderful and welcoming service from the front desk...... and dining waiters.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreatExpectationsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Great base for getting to know Venice. The location is convenient for walking, water bus or water taxi, plus being on the grand canal, it's got great views. The staff was excellent, from reception to concierge, from housekeeping to wait staff. The room was comfortable, warm and welcoming. The 19th century style is beautifully realized, if not my personal favorite. Nice to be in a true 5-star hotel - super comfy bed, towel warmers, floor to ceiling marble bathroom, walk in closet with valet, good wifi, nice range of amenities. Quality everything. It will be a pleasure to return someday.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the Grand Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinFool93436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed here recently and while I echo much of the favourable comment of others, we had a few less than positive experiences. When we disembarked from our water taxi I expected a great welcome with people rushing to greet us but this didn't happen and in fact we had to carry our own bags into the lobby where we were then approached and directed rather indifferently to the check-in desk where the young lady was very pleasant and efficient. The rather unwelcoming feeling was not enhanced, for me anyway, by the letter of welcome in our room from the manager which was addressed only to my husband! The room was a canal view room with of course stunning views and a little balcony. The bed was large and very comfortable and the lighting unlike a lot of hotels was very good. In the early hours of our first night we were unfortunately disturbed by the loud barking of a dog right outside our room and by the calls of its owner chasing it. This was quite an unexpected occurrence in a hotel such as this and although we complained the next day, nobody got in touch or apologised before we checked out. While we were not very impressed by the lunch we had on our first day (soggy sandwiches), we were more than impressed by dinner in the main restaurant. We have stayed and eaten in a lot of the top hotels in Italy and the food here was definitely the best we have experienced. In conclusion, this is a great hotel for a special occasion, in a perfect location in a wonderful city!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seorsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely hotel, your near everything ,food was lovely, staff were more than helpful, if you want to step back in time this is the hotel, the only mod con was the the tele, rooms were warm comfy and CLEAN I would 100% go back

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shell_hollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The only issue that I had with the Hotel is that it puts all the rest to shame...!
This was by far the best hotel I have ever been to. It is grand, yet relaxed. You can wear your tux or your trainers and no one will care one way or the other.

The hotel looks stunning. It has been restored wonderfully paying homage and attention to the original venetian interiors, using a lot of local materials. Fabrics, glasses, floors.

It feels more like a private house than a hotel.

The staff is very well trained, kind and fast. The concierge organised for us a beautiful boat trip. I know Venice quite well and they made sure I went to places I didn't know yet.

I am already planning a trip for next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Siuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
1,803 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
3,481 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#3 of 386 in Venice
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Campo Santa Maria del Giglio 2467, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Venice
#3 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#6 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#9 Business Hotel in Venice
#13 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gritti Palace, a Luxury Collection Hotel, reopened its doors in 2013 after a significant and handcrafted restoration which has brought the historical palace back to its original grandeur, and introduced new avenues for pleasure and relaxation including The Gritti Epicurean School and the Blu Mediterraneo SPA. A place of exceptional art and elegance, The Gritti Palace is a refined version of its iconic self, where heritage and culture blend with renewed Venetian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gritti Palace Hotel
Gritti Palace Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing