We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gritti Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #12 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Superb location right on the Grand canal and opposite the much Canaletto painted Salute church or to give it its correct name 'Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute'. The hotel has a floating pontoon dining area from where you can watch the water traffic go by. Water taxi's will deliver you to the door. Every time I am in Venice I make a point of dining there, lovely meal Rose champagne and a bill to match, what the heck though it's worth it for the view and the atmosphere. Around the corner is Harry's bar. You have to go around the back of the hotel and back to the canal to get to it. The hotel I believe has been updated since I last stayed in it. aircon would be a big plus at certain times of the year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

953 - 959 of 1,325 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Gritti is stunningly beautiful and the staff very gracious and accommodating. We were upgraded as Starwood Preferred members, our room was exquisite and included a complementary bottle of wine and chocolates to welcome us. Perfect location and the place to celebrate life's big moments.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the gritti palace as a surprise for my 21st birthday. We had the most perfect stay. Arriving to the hotels entrance on the canal in a water taxi was an experience in itself. We were greeted by truly amazing staff who couldn't have done more to help us throughout our whole stay. Our room was stunning!! Acqua di Parma toiletries in the room were a lovely extra. Location is perfect, a short walk from st marks square and Rialto, on the canal and designer shops around the corner. We had dinner in the hotels restaurant, I am not a lover of fine dining but they did everything they could to accommodate my fussy eating habits. Food was delicious and service was out of this world. Plenty of choice for breakfast in the mornings. We enjoyed sitting on the terrace having a drink late afternoon after exploring Venice, and also in the evenings after dinner, beautiful settings and very tasty cocktails. During our stay we also had a treatment in the spa, spa staff very professional and so friendly! Everything was perfect.

If we ever return to Venice, which I, sure we will. I wouldn't stay anywhere but the Gritti Palace!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sammi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed in the G.P nine years ago and quite frankly it was great but needed a face lift. Now, nine years later the newly refurbished palace is stunning.
Situated on the grand canal is this beautiful hotel.
Breakfast is superb, service is excellent and the decor is simply out of this world.
Upon arrival there is champagne in your room, aqua de Parma toilettries and robes/slippers to wear after a long journey or walk round the island.
This Hotel is immaculately clean and in a prime location for tourists. Situated ten minutes walk, if that, from st marks square.
We found the drinks in the hotel bar quite pricey but if you know this before you go you won't get a shock! The bar is a must as the decor is very Italian and the hot chocolate is delicious!
Go to Venice and stay in the gritti you won't be disappointed by either.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony looking onto the grand canal. There is only a handful of rooms that ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we wish to thank you for your loyalty and for having disclosed both of your experiences.

We are delighted to read that you have always considered The Gritti Palace a great place, now enhanced by the “out of this world” décor and preservative restoration, which has retained its past charm and atmosphere, however adding all up-to-date comforts. It gives us particularly pleasure to know that your renewed stay lived up to your expectations.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to other discerning travelers and luxury lovers.

We hope that we will have the honor of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Check in was so smooth with sense of easy and luxury. I was escorted to the room. Room orientation was perfect. Dinner reservation was offered.

Service at restaurant was very good while food tasted and presentation was lower than expectation compared to other places in venice.

Breakfast service and buffet line was lovely but hot items ordered per menu were so poor. Pancake was from microwave. Poached egg came on very hard bread.

Housekeeping always smile and finish the room perfectly especially the bathroom. She understood perfectly what time to come in for the service. This type can be called luxury and accommodating service.

Concierge service was professional. They knew every restaurant i wanted to go plus helped to check whether the restaurants opened. Table reservation were every time offered.
Taxi boat were called and not overpriced.

PS. Venice in late October and early November may have high tide and flood in many area

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank UncensoredLips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

We love to make our Guests feel welcomed and special from the moment they arrive to the moment they leave.

Thank you for your recognition and thank you also for having highlighted the areas where, according to your judgment, we need to focus our attention and strive to cater for a better service. Please only allow us to mention that all hot items, available at any time of the day, are done à la minute. We only wish we would have known it during your stay to ameliorate these aspect of your breakfast and show you that we can do so much better!

Flooding indeed occurs especially during winter time. We are really happy to be able to inform you that, thanks to the restoration, the hotel is now safe from flooding and the lowest areas of Venice and provided with footpaths so that nearly every place is accessible. Additionally this phenomenon lasts only few hours a day so the visit to the city is nearly always possible.

We hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our jewel and providing you with a truly unforgettable experience.

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed at the Gritti Palace pre-cruise to the new Royal Princess. I did not want to leave!! The wonderful location, the sumptuous rooms, the accommodating and gracious staff, the divine Club del Doge restaurant.....everything was perfect and we used SPG points for part of our stay.

Arrival: Nothing can quite compare to a private water taxi navigating the way through rush hour traffic and then pulling up to that waiting pier at the Gritti with smiling staff ready to assist you. What a welcome. What a hotel.

Rooms: We had reserved connecting rooms with our teenage children. Divine.....linens, appointments, complimentary fruit assortment (large and wonderfully presented) with accompanying cheese and bottle of wine (this is so welcome after a looooong day of travel!), and a quick call from the front desk to see if everything was in order. OOOHhhhh, I love this place already! Our rooms overlooked a minor canal on the side of the hotel....this was fine! It was so quiet with the odd gondolier passing by and serenading his occupants. To my TA readers, if you do not plan on residing in your room for a great portion of your stay (we happily got lost in Venice several times as I recommend all visitors should :) ), I would opt for the non-canal view.

Club Del Doge Restaurant: Wonderful dishes served by an outstanding team......did I mention the view in the evening....spectacular. To note: our reservation was before sunset. We watched the colours and lights of Venice change while we were dining. Priceless.

WOW. I arrived with high expectations and they were surpassed! This most wonderful hotel in Venice is a destination unto itself. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WEARECANADIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stopped by for a drink at the outside bar after a long way of wandering around Venice. The views of the Grand Canal and San Salute are magnificent and the service is perfect. My 19 euro bellini was delicious. We expected the high prices but there isn't a better place to sit and enjoy the view. Next time, we'd like to stay at the Gritti which was sold out on this trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ywnyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,591 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#77 of 385 in Venice
2,598 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 385 in Venice
1,962 reviews
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Campo Santa Maria del Giglio 2467, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Venice
#3 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#9 Business Hotel in Venice
#9 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#13 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $461 - $1,622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gritti Palace, a Luxury Collection Hotel, reopened its doors in 2013 after a significant and handcrafted restoration which has brought the historical palace back to its original grandeur, and introduced new avenues for pleasure and relaxation including The Gritti Epicurean School and the Blu Mediterraneo SPA. A place of exceptional art and elegance, The Gritti Palace is a refined version of its iconic self, where heritage and culture blend with renewed Venetian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gritti Palace Hotel
Gritti Palace Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing