We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gritti is better than ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #16 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The restoration of the Gritti is amazing. The marble bathrooms are stunning and spacious. Upgraded electronics in the room, and super fast wifi (free for SPG platinum) are terrific. Service in the bar and restaurant are at very high standards. New spa and fitness center are beautiful. The property is fully renewed while maintaining all of the luxury and charm of the antiques and furnishings from the 1700-1800s and many older artifacts on display. Outstanding concierge staff and location can't be beat.

Room Tip: Be sure to email ahead if you are celebrating a special event. The staff has gone out of their way...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travels4workand4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing with us your memories of your recent visit at The Gritti Palace, which I have transmitted with pleasure to all our staff.
I am very happy to learn that you were most satisfied with the “amazing restoration” but I am even happier to read that you had a remarkable souvenir of the service delivered by our staff and appreciated very much our efforts to make your stay a special one.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Gritti Palace.

Yours truly,
Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,278)
There are newer reviews for The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

999 - 1,005 of 1,278 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel is right on the Grand Canal and it is a small boutique hotel in a great location. Our view from our room was magnificent.
The hotel staff were so helpful and friendly. We got to know them since we saw the same faces every day. Some other hotels we stayed in in Venice we never saw the staff twice.
Hotel restaurant is so beautiful and the food was great.
We walked everywhere and this hotel had the best location. Gondola right to the other side of the Grand Canal is right next to the hotel. And St Mark's Square is right around the corner but far enough away to be out of the way of crowds. This out of the 3 hotels we stayed in in Venice was by far my favorite.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Grand Canal. I took so many great shots out of our window.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bohemian63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Before i used my Starwood Points for a Hotel in Venice I checked the Reviews, I had stayed at the Hotel Daniel a year earlier an wanted to try The Gritti Palace. After reading some reviews I started to just book the Hotel Daniel instead. But since they had just finished a complete remodel of the facility i decided to give it a try. I am glad to report that not only is the property remodeled it is better than new with all the new wireless, TV''s, showers etc , but it still retains all of the old qualities that make it special. And to those reviews that say the staff is stuffy and rude is not with i encountered. All i can say is it was the most friendly and efficient staff I have seen in a LONG time. Everyone spoke to you as you passed,they know your name at the front desk, and were glad to help with any request I had. They did a super job. The only negative thing i can say is the bathrooms are small but they are in Venice so what did you expect.. The SPA is nice and the small workout room is nice, I cannot wait to return to this property, It is really close to the water bus and is located in a great area. They even installed triple gasket sound doors and I never hear anything in the halls......Westin did it right on The Gritti Palace. AAA+++++

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank buckFayetteville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for having chosen to experience our renewed Gritti Palace.
I am delighted to read that you were pleased with your choice and consider our hotel a “special place” that still retains all of the old qualities being meanwhile up to date.
I am really grateful for your very kind comments and words of appreciation concerning the staff, rating them the most friendly and efficient you have seen in a long time.
I wish to thank you for cherishing the memory of this visit and for expressing your intention to return to us, hopefully in a near future.
Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights from 10th to 14th Feb. The hotel had only been reopened since the 1st and everywhere looked beautiful. From the moment we stepped out of the water taxi we received the very best of service. The personal checking in system is so much better
than standing at the reception desk - thank you Roberta. Our room was sumptuously decorated, the bed blissfully comfortable and the bathroom very well appointed. All members of staff greeted us wherever we were. The service in Bar Longhi was excellent especially during what turned out to be extreme weather conditions - blizzards of snow and a very high tide (aqua alta) which meant that flood gates needed to be put at all entrances. There was something of a "Blitz spirit" going on which just added to the experience!! The previous quite negative review does not reflect the experience of guests staying in the hotel. We look forward to returning to the hotel which fulfills its aim of " providing a home away from home" .

Room Tip: We had a Venetian room which was lovely. It was on the 2nd floor. It did not have a view but this di...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Gritti with us. Comments from our Guests are always much appreciated.
I am delighted to read that you were most satisfied with the outcome of the recent refined renovation, both decorations as well as comfort, but most of all I am truly pleased in learning that you savored the high quality service delivered by the Gritti’s staff, which is even more important to me. Thank you for treasuring this experience and for mentioning of your intention to returning to your “home away from home”.

Yours sincerely,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Gritti Palace is a wonderful Hotel!
We stayed there just after the reopening, after the Hotel had been reformed and it has been a fantastic experience.
Wonderful rooms, great staff, very friendly and helpful.
I definitelly recommend this Hotel!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecOffice-HtlGritti, General Manager at The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

I wish to thank you for your recent visit and for your kind feedback, which I took pleasure in sharing with all of our staff, as I usually do. I am sure that having been part of the creation of a “fantastic experience” will make them feel proud of their daily duties.
I am truly happy that you enjoyed your stay at The Gritti Palace and I hope I shall have the privilege of welcoming you back to our timeless icon in a not distant future.

Best regards,

Paolo Lorenzoni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

In one of the most spectacular cities in the world sits one of the most spectacular hotels. A former renaissance palace from the 16th century. Original priceless antiques and art everywhere and in rooms. Our room was on the grand canal and had a small Juliet balcony. Quite romantic and astounding view. Restaurant on the grand canal is awesome. Have breakfast there and watch the daily life if the locals on the grand and side canals. Expensive but worth it. An experience like none other.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garyblue99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank marc v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 385 in Venice
1,926 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#17 of 385 in Venice
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#60 of 385 in Venice
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Campo Santa Maria del Giglio 2467, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Venice
#3 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#9 Business Hotel in Venice
#11 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#13 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $521 - $3,094 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gritti Palace, a Luxury Collection Hotel, reopened its doors in 2013 after a significant and handcrafted restoration which has brought the historical palace back to its original grandeur, and introduced new avenues for pleasure and relaxation including The Gritti Epicurean School and the Blu Mediterraneo SPA. A place of exceptional art and elegance, The Gritti Palace is a refined version of its iconic self, where heritage and culture blend with renewed Venetian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gritti Palace Hotel
Gritti Palace Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing