We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value For Money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Carlton Capri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Carlton Capri
Ranked #161 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Value For Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

If you're looking for a hotel in Venice that is near the train station, just 100 meters away from the Grand Canal, great breakfast buffet, clean linen, and courteous staff, we highly recommend this hotel. It also has wireless internet, but at the lobby and dining areas only.

Room Tip: Stay below the 4th floor; elevator is up to the 3rd floor only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bma0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    315
    112
    22
    13
See reviews for
126
345
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

This hotel is only a short walk from the station, and yet tucked away in a quiet backstreet. We were made to feel welcome by all staff, and in particular the ladies serving breakfast. (thank you again). The room was comfortable and adequately furnished, but no kettle!!!! The only real problem we had was the noise of the metal shutters being opened by the morning shift - no need for an alarm at this hotel. I would stay here again, if a kettle (and cups, of course) were provided in the room. This may seem a petty criticism, but Venice can be a very taxing place to negotiate, and a coffee or tea on return after a day out is essential! To the Manager: if cost is an issue, you provide the kettle and I'll bring my own coffee and milk.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MylocathDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

First of all I found it hard to locate the Carlton Capri. No one in any info desk could point me in the correct direction. Yes I could have printed a map from Google but omitted to do so, therefore here goes. If you arrive at Piazza Roma walk towards Hotel Santa Chiara, DO NOT cross the new main bridge across the Grand Canal, walk alongside the right hand side of it and cross the small bridge. After turn immediate right and pass Hotel Walter, Hotel Gardena and the trattoria. Take the fist left after this and walk to the head of the alley way, it's at the top on the left hand side. If you arrive by train, come out of station, turn left and cross the large bridge across the Grand Canal, you will see Carlton on The Grand Hotel, walk past and you will see a narrow passage between Carlton and a salmon coloured building, walk up the passage, via a gate (this is locked at night) and follow it around turning right, it's on the right. The hotel is a delight, not the newest or most modern but clean and comfortable. Rooms were old fashioned but adequate. Staff were attentive and the comp breakfast was a good start to the day. Safe boxes in rooms were free. If you stay under 5 nights you will have to pay a local tax, we forgot and were chased by the reception once we had checked out. All in all a good stay in a vibrant exciting city.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank tjniloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLISHMAN ABROAD
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Booked this due to good reviews on Tripadvisor. My wife and I were not disappointed.
This is a small hotel hidden away in the backstreets but within minutes of the Grande Canal, the bus station, the railway station and Vaporetto stops.
Very quiet location compared with many hotels in the City. The hotel is clean, neat and well turned out. No frills. The bedroom was quite large - despite what some have said in their reports - so it just depends on what room you are given. Bathroom was clean and linen changed everyday. Air conditioned. Bed was really comfortable.
Staff were helpful and courteous. Breakfast was great - as much as you can eat. No kettle in the room but that is my only minor complaint. This hotel was so much cheaper than others and yet it couldn't have been any better.
No hesitation whatsoever in recommending this hotel, given my experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CAPTAINCOOK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Conveniently placed for train/bus and all sites.Our room was lovely and large with a great bathroom, lots of space and extremely clean. The downside being it overlooked the inner courtyard of the hotel,which made it very dark .We did request a balconied room but when asked if it would be possible to change when we arrived,we were told the hotel was full and there was nothing else.Bit disappointing. the breakfast was nice,the ladies who worked in the rooms and the breakfast rooms were lovely and very hard working to please the guests. We went one morning for coffee at the sister hotel The carlton.which seemed very nice.The outside serving waiter was a gem. Would we stay there again? Probibly if we could guarantee a room with some natural light,but not in the same room.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room not a low floor overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delilah83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

So here is my review of this hotel which i dont know how to put across. My intention is for travellers like me who put in a lot of research before planning the perfect vacation and the fact that photographs are misleading!
This hotel's biggest advantage is that it is close to the station so you get down and cross one bridge and a small walk and there you are...I wish someone had told me to carry even a smaller bag although I did carry a small bag coz there is just a lot of dragging to be done and carried over bridges. in case you are the one looking for an experience of the canals be aware there are none around this hotel.

The room given to me was by far the smallest meanest room one could think of and it was stuffy becoz the aircon wasnt working due to some rule in Venice of no aircon. My friends got a bigger room on the same floor and they paid the same amount of money which made me feel very disappointed as i was paying quite a sum for this small mean room.

the front office staff is was non commital.

The elevator goes up to the 2nd floor only and beyond that you still need to carry your bags and for a hotel there isnt a concierge service so be prepared.

Sleep quality - Average as there is a bad mosquito problem everywhere in Venice so be prepared for that too. But after the hectic day of non stop walking, trust me, you would sleep on a park bench.

Bathrooms - Decent size and comfortable for a shower and change.

Breakfast - Mosly eggs and cold cuts along with breakfast rolls, muesli , yoghurt & great coffee ( its great everywhere in Italy ) the service staff are extremely busy but if you smile, they smile back.

I am spoiled for choice wherever i travel so this was quite a stepdown since European hospitality isnt the same as Asian hospitality.

Overall, spend the money coz you will be spending it anyways - anywhere in Italy & have no expectations. This hotel will give you B&B's facility and should not be called a hotel which is misleading. If I were to stay there again, I would rather they give me better rooms (BIGGER PLEASE) at a lower price. If you are interested they have a hotel called Hotel Carlton which is a sister hotel and not the same one.

The location is great - train and bus stations few minutes away - we could catch the #1 vaporetto right next to the station which was the only advantage.

Room Tip: Dont take 3rd floor updwards as you will have to carry your luggage which gets to you after a period...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Delhigirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

We chose Carlton Capri mainly due to its location - Venice train station is almost opposite the hotel, and the bus station is a 7-10 min walk along the hotel side - we took the AVTO bus from the airport.

Our initial thoughts about the hotel and our room was that it is very small - but I am to understand that that's a common with most hotels in the city. That aside, the room was immaculate in its presentation, with soothing white curtains - though not much of a view from the windows.

The bathroom was the best part of the room - it was white, it was spacious (in relation to the room size), with excellent fittings, towels and toiletries. After a beautiful day of roaming in the alleys of Venice, the next best part of my day was soaking in hot water - which is available at all hours.

I would say for all the time you spend outdoors discovering the beautiful city, you would only require a comfortable bed and a neat bathroom - both of which Capri provides well.

The staff at reception was okay - not too friendly and not overtly rude. Breakfast was something we would look forward to, to allow us to walk non-stop till lunch - and it did not disappoint - breads, fruits that you can carry back to your room, ham - it was perfect.

The location is great - train and bus stations few minutes away - we could catch the #1 vaporetto right next to the bus station and for all our boat trips - very convenient.

For us, Capri delivered on all points - though I still feel a little larger rooms would have made it even better - but if you are looking for a hotel that will provide you a no-complaints stay, and a comfortable bed at the end of a tiring day, and great location to avoid hassle of moving with your luggage to reach a hotel from the station.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zimni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Santa Croce
Hotel Gardena
Hotel Gardena
#187 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#118 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#106 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Continental Venice
Hotel Continental Venice
#163 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#84 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton Capri

Property: Hotel Carlton Capri
Address: Santa Croce 595, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#138 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton Capri 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Carlton Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing