We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, just across canal from train station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Carlton Capri
Ranked #173 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, just across canal from train station”
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We just returned from grand European adventure and this hotel was one of the ones I booked us in so we could be near the train station. It was just a 5 minute walk over bridge to station so the location was perfect, but it did NOT feel like we were staying by a train station as this hotel is hidden down Venice's beautiful alleys and canals. We arrived early after traveling from Paris, via Cincinnati and the room was ready.
We took the 3.00 euro bus from airport which dropped us off at bus station and it was a doable walk to hotel, maybe 10 minutes, but we didn't know where hotel was initially so we stopped every 3rd vendor and asked for assist and they were kindly showing us the way.

We also lucked out and a young man bargained to carry our bags for us to hotel and this was a Godsend as sadly we packed heavy for 8 day cruise plus time in Paris and 4 extra days in Venice. So carrying bags for 10 minues would not have been great way to begin vacation. We found the hotel off hidden corridors of Venice and loved its out of the way location, but still mere minutes to trains, Frari ( a must see) and all the other wonderful San Croce sites.

Hotel service was outstanding with directions, help with transfer to ship, where to eat, etc. We stayed in the triple room and it was very nice, also a great breakfast awaited us each morning. I am now hooked on Nutella and cherry jam with my croissants.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aklaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    325
    116
    25
    16
See reviews for
134
360
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Faro, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

This Hotel is located very close to the bus terminal, train station and ferrovia. Close to good restaurants, much cheaper then eating next to Piazza San Marco.

Good Quality/Price for Venice, especially at the Carnival time.

Its a cosy Hotel, the breakfast is good, but basic.

I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyiv
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Close to Piazzale Roma and railway station, out of tourist crowds, good starting point to discover Venice and surroundings.
Pleasant staff, clean rooms, good service.
Rich breakfasts and fantastic sicilian oranges.
Ideal place for quiet romantic weekend.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlexMykhaylyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Rather small room and bathroom but nice and clean. We had a room on the upper floors with balcony. Last floor was not reachable with elevator, but it didn't bother us to take the stairs. A bit noisy when neighbours walked in and out their room or talking in the corridor. Breakfast was ok but not more. Caffe-latte arrived to the table as standard even though we never ordered it or drank it. Better if the service lady asks first. Reception crew was very polite and check-in/out went very fast. Overall a good hotel that we would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carltoncapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedzin
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed here in July 2010 (Redentore). The room was very nice and clean (superior double) and had everything we needed including air conditioning. The bathroom was very nice too.
This is really a lovely and quiet hotel with super location away from tourist areas with very friendly and helpful staff.
It’s very good choice to stay in Venice for a very long time…

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BedzinRafal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

From the moment I walked in to be greeted by the warm and friendly staff to the moment I checked out and left, and absolutely everything in between, there is not one thing that I can criticise this very fine hotel. So much so I have already told my friends about it and I am planning to come again in 2011.

Wow, if this hotel is not in the best location in Venice near the railway station then its second to none! The room was spotlessly clean and magnificently furnished. There was plenty of room for my luggage, and yes I was carrying a fair bit. The bed was so comfortable one couldn't but enjoy a great nights sleep. Breakfast was a delicious buffet of everything you ever wanted to eat in the morning and more. And as for the staff, well nothing was ever a problem and everything was greeted with a smile and a willingness to assist.

Just like Venice is the gem in Italy in my opinion, Hotel Carlton Capri is the gem in Venice.

I highly recommend and can't wait to go back. 6 stars out of 5 in my humble opinion.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelling_boy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Very accessible to the train station. Good location, quiet area. Very helpful staff. Friendly and courteous. Good breakfast selection. Room was clean with a nice bathroom.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broadcaster10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Gardena
Hotel Gardena
#168 of 385 in Venice
421 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#105 of 385 in Venice
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel ai due Fanali
Hotel ai due Fanali
#190 of 385 in Venice
239 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#135 of 385 in Venice
900 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Basilea
Hotel Basilea
#350 of 385 in Venice
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton Capri

Property: Hotel Carlton Capri
Address: Santa Croce 595, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#138 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton Capri 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Carlton Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing