We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera
Ranked #258 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Located on the main land some distance from the Lagoon. The hotel charges 10 Euros for a shuttle bus to an area where you can find a water taxis to Venice. The hotel charges for WiFi after 30 minutes, an unusual practice among hotels offering WiFi. Otherwise, the room is what you would expect from a Holiday Inn, clean and comfortable. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Dale1951,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am very pleased that you found our rooms clean and comfortable. However, it is unfortunate to hear that you were not able to fully enjoy your stay because of charges on transportation and WiFi service. I have forwarded your concern to our hotel management for review. It is our goal to continuously improve our service so we can give you the best hotel experience that you can have.

We look forward to hosting you again when you come to visit the area.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (839)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 839 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2014

The hotel is in a very good position for the business customers. It is right at the exit of the highway. For the leisure customers is not in a great position. The hotel seemed full of international group of tourists visiting Venice. The hotel has a parking lot in front of it for 10 € per day.

I am a platinum member and I felt welcome at the check in. They offered me fruit in the room and gave me free rewards points

The hotel looks tired. The rooms are pretty big with a comfortable bed. The general feeling is of a tired hotel, the furniture are old style and the carpet in the room does not help. Bathroom is comfortable and still looks old. The cleaning was good.

One day internet was not working and when I called the reception to ask about it they said they were not aware of the out of service and they would have call me back. Of course they did not. Meantime internet kept not working.

Breakfast has everything but the hot drinks ( cappuccino, coffee, etc etc) those comes from a machine and they do not taste good at all. Still the general feeling is of an hotel from the 70s.

The restaurant is in the same room of the breakfast. The atmosphere is not the best and it looks pretty pricy ( first dish around 12€ and second up to 25€, desserts 8€). Service was ok and brief. Food ok, not worth the money.

Suggested to stay if you like to get rewards points from ihg, if not you can find better.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank jennyjtourofEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear jennyjtourofEU,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Platinum member and for leaving us a feedback about your recent stay. I apologize for the problems experienced with the Internet connection and if the hotel's interior did not meet your standards. Rest assured your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is and allow us to redeem your faith in our award winning service.

Again, thank you for your comments.

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I booked this hotel, slightly outside Venice, and am convinced it was the best idea. It is a very short bus journey (either 1 or 2 stops depending on which bus you get) into Venice. The hotel sell the travel cards for the bus/water taxi and provide the bus timetable/map etc so was very easy.
I emailed ahead asking for a pool view and Maurizio on the front desk confirmed this via email. as we were at the end of the row of rooms, ours was an odd shaped and much smaller than the others-but we made do and couldn't complain as had asked for the view which we received.
Plenty of food out at breakfast-really was lovely.

Room Tip: Pool view is preferable, but had I known ours would have been smaller due to shape of building/floor...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I booked this hotel through jet 2 web site for my wife's surprise 50th birthday having read all the reviews I was a little bit unsure when reading the negative comments
However we had a fantastic time the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful
The shuttle bus to Venice was a great help we used it daily and found the driver to be very helpful and pleasant
We ate in the restaurant twice and found the food to be very good be careful when ordering as the portions are on the large side
W e found the room to be very clean and well maintained
This is a great hotel for a short trip to Venice I can recommend anyone to stay there

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Derek11199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked this hotel because it was a Holiday Inn, and we expected Holiday Inn standards. Not the case.

Let me first say the rooms are clean and comfortable.

First problem is the location. As others have pointed out, it is isolated and a taxi from the train station (Venice Mestre) will cost $ 16 euro despite the fact it is only a 5 minute ride. If you need a taxi TO the train station the hotel will get you a fixed rate of $ 20 euro. According to them a taxi will be more expensive because taxis in Venice start the meter the moment they get the fare. Is it so hard for this hotel to negotiate a special rate for passengers? You do have the 15 bus from the train station but if you are carrying luggage it is not too practical.

Do not bother with the shuttle either. Take the 15 bus to the train station and then the 2 bus or the train to Venezia S. Lucia.

Staff at the reception desk can vary from very friendly and helpful (like Alfredo) to helpful grumpy (with Franco). The real ripoff is the restaurant. DO NOT BOTHER WITH THE RESTAURANT. They charge you 4 euro per person for cover charge if you choose a cheap plate. When I explained this to the waiter, he went into all sorts of irrelevant explanations to justify it. No apologies, no nothing, Our dessert was just horrible. Holiday Inn, these hotel employees have not read your HR manuals.

Breakfast was not included, neither was internet. Things at the mini bar were more expensive than at our 4 star hotel in Florence.

So, before going to this hotel, you'd better look for a hotel near the Venice Mestre train station. You will save some money and won't feel the regret when you leave this property,

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gmokatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear gmokatz,

Thank you for the candid review of our property as this will guide us in making the right decisions. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we strive to provide service rates that are competitive in the area. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken.

We thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I arrived at the train station Mestre and found out that there was no transport available from Mestre station to the hotel except by foot (almost 3km, it is a pain in the S if you are traveling with your luggage) or taxi of 25 plus euro (only a 5 mins ride).

Apart from this, the hotel is good as it has shuttle (8 euro return) to Venice Piazza de Roma. Room is clean and tidy. Breakfast is average.

NOTE: wifi is only free for 30 mins per person. Afterwards, you will have to pay.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Richard L,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I choose a Hotel in Marghera Mestre - Venice because it was cheaper than choosing one on Venice itself. It was a nice hotel as you would expect of a Holiday Inn, however the breakfast wasn't included... I had to pay 11 eur. for it, but it was definitely worth it! The location isn't that good because you have to walk just right aside of the freeway in order to arrive to the nearest bus stop to get to Venice. (1.20 € bus ticket one way) However, the hotel offers you a private transportation to Venice paying €8 (one way), with a rigid timetable..

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Verocavig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Russott Hotel
#331 of 385 in Venice
662 reviews
Hotel Belvedere
#231 of 385 in Venice
80 reviews
Hotel San Giuliano
#344 of 385 in Venice
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#158 of 385 in Venice
2,132 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#328 of 385 in Venice
362 reviews
Alexander Hotel
#207 of 385 in Venice
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera

Address: Rotonda Romea 2, 30175 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $76 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just at a shuttle ride from San Marco Square, Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera is your best choice to visit Venice. Easy to find and accessible by car from the highway, the hotel is also at walking distance from public transportation, handily linked with Piazzale Roma, Venice Airport and railway station. Enter Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, be surprised by our spacious hall with contemporary décor and discover the vibrant colours of our new rooms. Relax and try the unique experience of our soft duvet and pillow menu, while enjoying a film or a football match on our flat TV screens: all rooms have satellite channels with Sky package. Moreover, stay connected with work or family with our Wifi Internet connection (at a charge). Have a great start with our delicious breakfast and, when it s time to eat, enjoy the appetising Alla Bell Italia restaurant s cuisine: typical Italian and Venetian dishes combined with a cosy atmosphere. Imagine having all the space and tools for your meetings: flexibility, experience and the latest technology equipments. Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera offers 9 meetings rooms with natural daylight up to 170 delegates. Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera offers moreover a shuttle bus to Venice (at a charge), a mini-gym and a secure paying parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera Hotel Venice
Venice Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Marghera
Marghera Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing