We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera
Nearby Hotels
$438
$405
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
$468
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$277
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$545
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$330
$260
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia(Venice)(Great Value!)
$294
$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$394
$323
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Colombina(Venice)(Great Value!)
$332
$303
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$494
$482
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$420
$360
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (895)
Filter reviews
895 results
Traveler rating
84
276
309
131
95
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
276
309
131
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbus stopshuttle bus servicelocal transporteuros returnvenice islandone night stayhotel restaurantmin walkpiazza romabuffet breakfaststayed here for nightsvisiting venicedecent sizewater busescruise shipmarco polo airportrailway station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 895 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I booked this hotel, slightly outside Venice, and am convinced it was the best idea. It is a very short bus journey (either 1 or 2 stops depending on which bus you get) into Venice. The hotel sell the travel cards for the bus/water taxi and provide the bus timetable/map etc so was very easy.
I emailed ahead asking for a pool view and Maurizio on the front desk confirmed this via email. as we were at the end of the row of rooms, ours was an odd shaped and much smaller than the others-but we made do and couldn't complain as had asked for the view which we received.
Plenty of food out at breakfast-really was lovely.

Room Tip: Pool view is preferable, but had I known ours would have been smaller due to shape of building/floor layout-I would not have been bothered with the other view and a bigger room. Road noise not an issue
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I booked this hotel through jet 2 web site for my wife's surprise 50th birthday having read all the reviews I was a little bit unsure when reading the negative comments
However we had a fantastic time the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful
The shuttle bus to Venice was a great help we used it daily and found the driver to be very helpful and pleasant
We ate in the restaurant twice and found the food to be very good be careful when ordering as the portions are on the large side
W e found the room to be very clean and well maintained
This is a great hotel for a short trip to Venice I can recommend anyone to stay there

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Derek11199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked this hotel because it was a Holiday Inn, and we expected Holiday Inn standards. Not the case.

Let me first say the rooms are clean and comfortable.

First problem is the location. As others have pointed out, it is isolated and a taxi from the train station (Venice Mestre) will cost $ 16 euro despite the fact it is only a 5 minute ride. If you need a taxi TO the train station the hotel will get you a fixed rate of $ 20 euro. According to them a taxi will be more expensive because taxis in Venice start the meter the moment they get the fare. Is it so hard for this hotel to negotiate a special rate for passengers? You do have the 15 bus from the train station but if you are carrying luggage it is not too practical.

Do not bother with the shuttle either. Take the 15 bus to the train station and then the 2 bus or the train to Venezia S. Lucia.

Staff at the reception desk can vary from very friendly and helpful (like Alfredo) to helpful grumpy (with Franco). The real ripoff is the restaurant. DO NOT BOTHER WITH THE RESTAURANT. They charge you 4 euro per person for cover charge if you choose a cheap plate. When I explained this to the waiter, he went into all sorts of irrelevant explanations to justify it. No apologies, no nothing, Our dessert was just horrible. Holiday Inn, these hotel employees have not read your HR manuals.

Breakfast was not included, neither was internet. Things at the mini bar were more expensive than at our 4 star hotel in Florence.

So, before going to this hotel, you'd better look for a hotel near the Venice Mestre train station. You will save some money and won't feel the regret when you leave this property,

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gmokatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Dear gmokatz,

Thank you for the candid review of our property as this will guide us in making the right decisions. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we strive to provide service rates that are competitive in the area. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken.

We thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I arrived at the train station Mestre and found out that there was no transport available from Mestre station to the hotel except by foot (almost 3km, it is a pain in the S if you are traveling with your luggage) or taxi of 25 plus euro (only a 5 mins ride).

Apart from this, the hotel is good as it has shuttle (8 euro return) to Venice Piazza de Roma. Room is clean and tidy. Breakfast is average.

NOTE: wifi is only free for 30 mins per person. Afterwards, you will have to pay.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Richard L,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I choose a Hotel in Marghera Mestre - Venice because it was cheaper than choosing one on Venice itself. It was a nice hotel as you would expect of a Holiday Inn, however the breakfast wasn't included... I had to pay 11 eur. for it, but it was definitely worth it! The location isn't that good because you have to walk just right aside of the freeway in order to arrive to the nearest bus stop to get to Venice. (1.20 € bus ticket one way) However, the hotel offers you a private transportation to Venice paying €8 (one way), with a rigid timetable..

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Verocavig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews