We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You could stay here but. . . why?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera
Ranked #262 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“You could stay here but. . . why?”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked this hotel because it was a Holiday Inn, and we expected Holiday Inn standards. Not the case.

Let me first say the rooms are clean and comfortable.

First problem is the location. As others have pointed out, it is isolated and a taxi from the train station (Venice Mestre) will cost $ 16 euro despite the fact it is only a 5 minute ride. If you need a taxi TO the train station the hotel will get you a fixed rate of $ 20 euro. According to them a taxi will be more expensive because taxis in Venice start the meter the moment they get the fare. Is it so hard for this hotel to negotiate a special rate for passengers? You do have the 15 bus from the train station but if you are carrying luggage it is not too practical.

Do not bother with the shuttle either. Take the 15 bus to the train station and then the 2 bus or the train to Venezia S. Lucia.

Staff at the reception desk can vary from very friendly and helpful (like Alfredo) to helpful grumpy (with Franco). The real ripoff is the restaurant. DO NOT BOTHER WITH THE RESTAURANT. They charge you 4 euro per person for cover charge if you choose a cheap plate. When I explained this to the waiter, he went into all sorts of irrelevant explanations to justify it. No apologies, no nothing, Our dessert was just horrible. Holiday Inn, these hotel employees have not read your HR manuals.

Breakfast was not included, neither was internet. Things at the mini bar were more expensive than at our 4 star hotel in Florence.

So, before going to this hotel, you'd better look for a hotel near the Venice Mestre train station. You will save some money and won't feel the regret when you leave this property,

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gmokatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear gmokatz,

Thank you for the candid review of our property as this will guide us in making the right decisions. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we strive to provide service rates that are competitive in the area. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken.

We thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    252
    289
    121
    91
See reviews for
183
339
31
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
HK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I arrived at the train station Mestre and found out that there was no transport available from Mestre station to the hotel except by foot (almost 3km, it is a pain in the S if you are traveling with your luggage) or taxi of 25 plus euro (only a 5 mins ride).

Apart from this, the hotel is good as it has shuttle (8 euro return) to Venice Piazza de Roma. Room is clean and tidy. Breakfast is average.

NOTE: wifi is only free for 30 mins per person. Afterwards, you will have to pay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Richard L,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I choose a Hotel in Marghera Mestre - Venice because it was cheaper than choosing one on Venice itself. It was a nice hotel as you would expect of a Holiday Inn, however the breakfast wasn't included... I had to pay 11 eur. for it, but it was definitely worth it! The location isn't that good because you have to walk just right aside of the freeway in order to arrive to the nearest bus stop to get to Venice. (1.20 € bus ticket one way) However, the hotel offers you a private transportation to Venice paying €8 (one way), with a rigid timetable..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verocavig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

By our experiences with Holiday Inns in the past, this was not one of the better places we have stayed in. The reception staff were not the best we have encountered, telling us at first that we had no booking with them! This ,it appears, was the fault of the company we had booked our cruise with. Our rooms were a little on the small side but comfortable enough, although we found ourselves tripping over our cases, and the bathroom was clean. The restaurant provided a good buffet breakfast, although we felt that the meals served in the evening were a little on the expensive side, so we ate out. One thing we did find was that the bar service was terrible. Every time we wanted to order drinks we had to search the hotel for bar staff!! There was a shuttle service into Venice which we had to pre-book. It was reliable, but cost six euros per person return, something which is free gratis with other companies we have used. Overall it wasn't too bad, but, as I stated in my title, it could have been better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Bob P,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. It is disappointing to know that this occasion was not completely at par with expectations most especially with the level of service received from our bar staff. Please be assured that your comments have been noted and will be forwarded accordingly to consider for improvements needed in our efforts.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

no breakfast included in our room, they wanted 14Euro extra for that per person. rooms are clean, location close to venice, offer a bus ride for 13 euros. if you need cheap and not close to anything but a decent distance to venice then this is fine. Many bus tours stay hear too

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0b_and_lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear R0b_and_lisa,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are glad you liked the room cleanliness and our location. However, it is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Hotel was great - breakfast was good - had a meal in the restaurant - nice meal reasonably priced. Reception staff most unhelpful. Location was ideal. Thr rooms were nice and clean although the hot water was just tepid. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonzaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is your average Holiday Inn that is awaiting a renovation but the staff was friendly for the most part (get to that in a bit). We had no clue where to find the bus stop so we opted for the hotel shuttle which had the most enjoyable driver we've ever met. The rooms are clean and spacious but we didn't test the breakfast as we were in favor of simply getting into Venice as much as possible. The management staff and cleaning staff were wonderful to converse with but beware of any need of an ice machine or to actually use the bar area. The bar has the hours of "when anyone might wander by" in order to get coffee or a drink. You'll also find that there is no ice machine or ice buckets available for your room but they will toss a small bag at you from the bar if they find the time to realize you're standing there. This is not an impoverished area of Mestre but the only door we ever found unlocked was the main entrance which is not a comfortable feeling. Hopefully it was just a fluke and if they do renovate and add a few amenities I would certainly return in the future to try it all over again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Rich G,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I appreciate your compliments regarding our staff being friendly and wonderful to converse with. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#328 of 385 in Venice
356 reviews
Hotel Belvedere
#233 of 385 in Venice
78 reviews
Hotel San Giuliano
#344 of 385 in Venice
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Russott Hotel
#336 of 385 in Venice
654 reviews
Al Piccolo Hotel
#267 of 385 in Venice
61 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#155 of 385 in Venice
2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera

Property: Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera
Address: Rotonda Romea 2, 30175 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just at a shuttle ride from San Marco Square, Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera is your best choice to visit Venice. Easy to find and accessible by car from the highway, the hotel is also at walking distance from public transportation, handily linked with Piazzale Roma, Venice Airport and railway station. Enter Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, be surprised by our spacious hall with contemporary décor and discover the vibrant colours of our new rooms. Relax and try the unique experience of our soft duvet and pillow menu, while enjoying a film or a football match on our flat TV screens: all rooms have satellite channels with Sky package. Moreover, stay connected with work or family with our Wifi Internet connection (at a charge). Have a great start with our delicious breakfast and, when it s time to eat, enjoy the appetising Alla Bell Italia restaurant s cuisine: typical Italian and Venetian dishes combined with a cosy atmosphere. Imagine having all the space and tools for your meetings: flexibility, experience and the latest technology equipments. Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera offers 9 meetings rooms with natural daylight up to 170 delegates. Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera offers moreover a shuttle bus to Venice (at a charge), a mini-gym and a secure paying parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera Hotel Venice
Venice Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Marghera
Marghera Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing