We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXTREMELY SMELLY & MOULDY STENCH”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera
Ranked #244 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our room is on the third floor which unlike the second floor it smells very, very bad.

The smell gets worse as you enter our room which seems to be the source of the smell, it's horrendous. In fact I'm going to reception now to get them to move us as its unbearable. Will possibly post another review if they actually move us.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Adrian-Stowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Adrian-Stowe,

We appreciate your feedback regarding our property.

I am disappointed to learn that your experience was not what you expected. I humbly extend an apology for falling below your standards with regard to the room condition. Our goal is to ensure all of our guests are provided with a clean, comfortable room. Please be assured that cleanliness is of the utmost concern to us and feedback such as yours is taken very seriously.

We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 861 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have stayed in many Holiday Inn´s but never had such a bad experience. The rooms where not very clean, the beds where comfortable and the bathrooms where just a little clean. The staff at the front desk is not very happy and the lady at the restaurant was very rude. All we ordered was a margherita pizza and the lady had the order wrong. When we finally got the pizza, after 45 minutes, she was all upset when my husband asked for ice for our sodas.
The breakfast was horrible, our group was all cramped up in a small room. The waiters never came to pick up the plates from the prior group and we enden up eating on top of other plates.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zazyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Zazyl,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay.

I apologize that the level of cleanliness in your room did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to ensure all of our guests are provided with a clean, comfortable room. Additionally, we are truly sorry for the poor experience and service issues you had during breakfast. We deeply regret that you left with such a negative impression about our hotel.

Your feedback is indeed of utmost importance to us and rest assured that actions will be taken to ensure our guests continue to enjoy superlative levels of service, comfort & security that they expect when staying at our hotel. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I though the location was ok, plenty of shops just up the street, all you need, room clean......BUT issues with fitting through out room loose , broken, about to break, safe battery flat, little thing that do make a difference....
Staff....well ,very rude at reception when enquiring about Wi-Fi, had a bus to shuttle into town, well the driver need to check himself also very rude, and needs to be retasted in driving skills
room 6/10
Welcome 4/10

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrieth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel is well located very close to Venise. The Hotel also provides a shuttle service to Venise at the price of EUR 8 return.

The room was not up to standard for a 4 star hotel. It is comfortable but the window was not properly closing, which means we heard all the noise from the street during the night. The WC door handle was broken and the toilets not properly working. Someone came to check all those issues but did nothing to fix it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raphael111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear review101101,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel. However, I apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. Rest assured that the issues you have raised has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights prior to our cruise and 2 nights after. after some of the poor reviews we were worried however my honest opinion is the hotel was good value, clean and in a good location for travelling into venice (10 mins by shuttle provided by the hotel at a cost of 8euros per person return). We found the reception staff friendly and helpful in the main. Franco & Edith especially so. True the view wasnt much - overlooking the motorway - but as a base to get into the centre of Venice it was great. We didn't eat in the hotel so I can't comment on the food however there was a little pizza restaurant 5 mins from the hotel which was lovely.

Room Tip: rooms at the front face the motorway, we stayed in room 306 and 320 and both were spacious and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imcnamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Aug 1 to 3 2013. The hotel is near to the highway in every direction. 10minutes away from Piazzale Roma. They offer a shuttle service for 8 eur per person return. If you are a family of 4 its cheaper to go with your own vehicle and park your car at Piazalle Roma for 26 eur for the entire day. When we checked in the front desk was busy but the person Alberto helped us and took his time to answer all my questions. He gave us a bigger room than booked as we had a child with us. The room was big and clean. Comfortable beds and clean bathroom. No problem with the noises considering the facts the hotel was busy. Enjoyed my stay there and would book it again if i go back to venice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FHeibges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Checking out today, stayed 3 nights here on a package deal.

Room was nice, had been updated. Comfortable beds, nice linen and air con was great! Not much on tv for English speaking people though but didn't spend much time in the room. Quiet & good size bathroom. Breakfast had a good selection, bread was quite dry but that seems to be the norm in Europe.

We had 3 course menu included in our package each night also, only ate 1 of 3 meals - arrived late the first night & as requested the hotel arranged some fruit and cheese & crackers for us in our room instead. 2nd night we had the meal - so much food! Think we arrived too early as we waited a long long time for our entrees - stick to the 8pm rule for dinner! Risotto was amazing! Mains & desserts were a bit strange. But didn't expect miracles from the restaurant. Edible is probably a fair description. But wouldn't order again.

Friendly staff in all areas & very flexible when we asked to have an extra Venice shuttle transfer instead of our 3rd night dinner so we could get to a show and that was no problem! Much appreciated :) :)

The hotels shuttle transfer service is great and a very reasonable price compared to taxis. Only quip here is the timings, as we would have liked to come back earlier in the afternoon.

All in all great hotel, worth the rates.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Belvedere
#229 of 385 in Venice
80 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#157 of 385 in Venice
2,149 reviews
Hotel San Giuliano
#345 of 385 in Venice
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Russott Hotel
#341 of 385 in Venice
671 reviews
Alexander Hotel
#208 of 385 in Venice
369 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#328 of 385 in Venice
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera

Address: Rotonda Romea 2, 30175 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#99 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $74 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just at a shuttle ride from San Marco Square, Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera is your best choice to visit Venice. Easy to find and accessible by car from the highway, the hotel is also at walking distance from public transportation, handily linked with Piazzale Roma, Venice Airport and railway station. Enter Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, be surprised by our spacious hall with contemporary décor and discover the vibrant colours of our new rooms. Relax and try the unique experience of our soft duvet and pillow menu, while enjoying a film or a football match on our flat TV screens: all rooms have satellite channels with Sky package. Moreover, stay connected with work or family with our Wifi Internet connection (at a charge). Have a great start with our delicious breakfast and, when it s time to eat, enjoy the appetising Alla Bell Italia restaurant s cuisine: typical Italian and Venetian dishes combined with a cosy atmosphere. Imagine having all the space and tools for your meetings: flexibility, experience and the latest technology equipments. Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera offers 9 meetings rooms with natural daylight up to 170 delegates. Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera offers moreover a shuttle bus to Venice (at a charge), a mini-gym and a secure paying parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera Hotel Venice
Venice Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Marghera
Marghera Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing