We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More like a business hotel, shower area covered with mold...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera
Ranked #296 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“More like a business hotel, shower area covered with mold...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Getting to the hotel by bus is a harrowing experience. From the bus stop, you will have to walk about 20 minutes, but you can't fault the physical location. Upon arrival, the check-in was good but something was amiss. On average, the hotel staff weren't very engaging in our requests for directions to bus stops or where to buy a ticket. It seems like you had to drag the answer out of them, except for one individual who clearly takes great pride in his job.

My girlfriend was not impressed with the cleanliness of the bathroom, there was constant mold in the shower area, from the tiles to the ceiling. The ring inside the toilet hadn't been cleaned thoroughly in some time. I understand Venice can be expensive; however, this seems like an episode from 'Hotel Impossible'. I scanned official hotel website and wondered where are pictures of the bathroom.

Lastly, the walls are thin where you can hear the sound of conversations in the next room. The 'complimentary' internet is only 30 minutes, even at the business center. Any more time required, you will need to pay.

Room Tip: Non-chain hotel may be a better option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear T S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the conditions of the room, and your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    227
    260
    116
    80
See reviews for
158
299
29
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I strongly not recommend this hotel. Service is terrible and the most of the attendants are rude. The hotel is so far from Venice and the cost of the transfer service is very expansive. The breakfast is poor and you pay for everything , one day I asked for glass of ice!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Believe or not...... they charged me in 0,50 Euros......I know ,is nothing, but this show how they treat their customers.

Room 306 from 05/20 till 05/24 - Wilson

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilson1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Wilson1952,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

THIS IS A BUSINESS CATEROGY HOTEL BASED OUT OF VENICE.

NOT THE PLACE TO BE FOR A HONEYMOON.TO CATCH A BUS TOO FAR FROM THE CITY , HOTEL STAFF OKEY , STANDARD ROOM WITH NORMAL FACILITIES.

1. room okey
2. price to high as compared to city hotel.
3 ordinary breakfast
4. service also okey types.

the hotel reception is normally types, you will require a taxi to reach n bus station is far off.

Room Tip: not for a holdiay trip surely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaibhav D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Vaibhav D,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Assigned there by CruiseNation for a pre-cruise night. Basic, but comfortable enough. No kettle in room, so you need to search locally, we also looked around for a local pizzeria as dinner. It cost a lot for a taxi from the airport - and Venice is expensive (surprise, surprise), so if you can research local transport before going ... DO!! Number 6 bus route is a few minutes away. A tourist travel card, e.g. 24hrs for E20, or E24 including airport, will pay dividends - provided you know where you're going !! We used the hotel transfer, excellent value and comfort, but that was when we knew where we were!).
I should emphasize .. this place is way above the standard of our allocated return hotel (Smart Holiday, Mestre - but see other review about that ...)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AD5362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear AD5362,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. It is great to know you found the hotel transfer excellent and comfort. We are sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations in your room. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here as one of 3 couples from the UK amongst hundreds of other couples from all over Europe for the Round Table Venice Carnival. Venice is epic during carnival but I have to say the ridiculous cost of transferring into Venice by taxi and back probably outweighed any saving made from staying this far out. The hotel is good value for money and a typical 3 star. If you're just looking for somewhere to get your head down, then this will do. It's clean enough although I have to say the service at the bar was poor. I doubt I'd stay here again when I next visit Venice, I just don't see why you wouldn't stay in Venice itself and save the 50-60 Euros each way in a taxi!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weasel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear weasel75,

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

At first we thought it was a good idea to stay at this hotel since it's nightly rate is cheaper than right in the city centre. It also advertised that there was a shuttle which easily takes guests on the short trip to and from the hotel to the city centre. We actually ended up spending THE MOST on this place than any other locations we stayed at. From the airport, the buses actually already stopped by the time we arrived (~8:30pm) and the taxi ride was indeed the 45euros as the hotel had said. Now, we realize 45euros was a ridiculous amount of money for a 15minute taxi ride! And the shuttle was indeed cheap 8euros RT per person, but you had to reserve in advance, making the return trip inconvenient. The shuttle schedule was infrequent, especially because April was not considered "high time" so a few shuttle runs weren't available yet. The hotel itself was average. The rooms were average, and our room's shower door was a little broken, causing water to leak all over the floor. There was a nice little pizzeria just a 3 minute walk away. This hotel is located right off a busy highway and gas station on the front, and a very quiet residential neighbourhood on the back.

Room Tip: We hear a room in the front was really noisy, but we had a room at the rear of the hotel and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shiryu1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear shiryu1031,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered over the bathroom conditions. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know. I sincerely hope that the next time you are in Venice you will give our hotel another try.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel as part of a cruise package deal. We had a night pre-cruise and a night post cruise. Our room on both occasions was clean, quiet, a very comfy bed and just what we needed for a 1 night stop. We arrived at airport about 10am and immediately got a taxi to the hotel. We were not expecting to be able to check in at this time and thought we would just have to leave our luggage, this didn't happen. The gentleman on reception was most accomodating and extremely pleasant to deal with, he told us there would not be a problem with us getting our room which was ready for us to occupy. This surprised us as previous reviews of this hotel gave us quite a bad vibe as to what we might expect. We personally did not use the restaurant facilities so cannot rate this area, we did use the internet facility which had a set time which was free, which was enough for us. After reading other reviews regarding 1) the location of the hotel - we were a bit concerned but however we didn't feel it was a problem for us . The front of the hotel does have an outlook over a busy thoroughfare, and a petrol station however with instructions we previously read on trip advisor and with additional information from reception we found this easy to navigate from the rear of the hotel which backed out over a green picnic area and private housing and being only a few mins walk to the airport bus stop, and around 7 -8 mins walk to the number 6 bus stop for the trip into Venice. We personally didnt find the location a problem the roads around the hotel to the rear felt safe and not at all threatening in any way, this area is residential with lovely properties! I will post some pics so you can see for yourself, as we feel this hotel has been given some negative reviews in this area, If we had anything to fault it would be the lack of staff in the bar area which appeared to be just manned by 1 person on the evening of our arrival who was also working in the restaurant, the other problem was that the A/C wasn't working and our room was extremely hot, apparently the A/C only gets switched on in summer months. One thing to look out for is that you only get on the number 6 bus, we made this mistake of getting on the 6 / to Panorama which took us on a completely different route , we ended up getting quite lost late at night and took around 90 mins for us to find our bearings, funny now when we think of it but wasn't when it happened. Anyway this hotel was adequate for our needs, we were 1st timers to Venice so weren't looking to spend lots of time in the Hotel, just wanted to put our heads down after a very long day looking around. We had a spacious room, comfy bed, very quiet what more could we have wanted, we could well have stopped in the centre of Venice but probably at 4 times the cost of this hotel

Room Tip: the rooms at front of hotel are facing out onto busy thoroughfare, but we didnt find it very noisy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank its_martini_time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#247 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
2.0 mi away
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#199 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Altieri
Hotel Altieri
#345 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alla Bianca Hotel Trattoria Bar
2.7 mi away
Russott Hotel
Russott Hotel
#336 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
2.4 mi away
Flestariam
Flestariam
#241 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera

Property: Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera
Address: Rotonda Romea 2, 30175 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located just at a shuttle ride from San Marco Square, Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera is your best choice to visit Venice. Easy to find and accessible by car from the highway, the hotel is also at walking distance from public transportation, handily linked with Piazzale Roma, Venice Airport and railway station. Enter Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera, be surprised by our spacious hall with contemporary décor and discover the vibrant colours of our new rooms. Relax and try the unique experience of our soft duvet and pillow menu, while enjoying a film or a football match on our flat TV screens: all rooms have satellite channels with Sky package. Moreover, stay connected with work or family with our Wifi Internet connection (at a charge). Have a great start with our delicious breakfast and, when it s time to eat, enjoy the appetising Alla Bell Italia restaurant s cuisine: typical Italian and Venetian dishes combined with a cosy atmosphere. Imagine having all the space and tools for your meetings: flexibility, experience and the latest technology equipments. Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera offers 9 meetings rooms with natural daylight up to 170 delegates. Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera offers moreover a shuttle bus to Venice (at a charge), a mini-gym and a secure paying parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Venice Mestre Marghera Hotel Venice
Venice Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Marghera
Marghera Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing