We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Hotel Colombina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Colombina
Ranked #51 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed for several days and quite liked the hotel. We didn't have a room facing the canal--would ask for that next time, but the room was quite comfortable. It was a little warm at times so we opened the windows. We enjoyed having a drink in the lounge area each night. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was on par with the other hotels we stayed in while traveling in Europe--hot items, good coffee, variety of fruit and pastries! We travelled by public boat to San Marco and found the hotel without any difficulty. The location is excellent as it is a quick walk to Rialto Bridge and San Marco Square. Friends recommended the hotel and we would also do so.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the canal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,119
    476
    117
    37
    29
See reviews for
327
1,077
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This was our first time in the Colombina and Venice. We have only wonderful things to say about our four days, the Colombina is absolutely perfect for its positioning, its staff, our room and its convenience for everything we wanted to do in Venice. We arrived at the private jetty by private water taxi, well worth the expense, and were greeted by Alessandro at reception; he could not have been more genuinely helpful with advice / recommendations and help with our many queries about how to get here and there. Our room was on the third floor overlooking the canal with the Bridge of Sighs just a few metres away; the sights and sounds of the gondolas going to and fro below us; the sounds of the bells from all around us and the comfort of our room was magical. We loved the little personal touches and care that we were shown by all the staff and can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank awjKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Colombina for 2 nights in April. This is a lovey small boutique hotel in a great location with a lovely atmosphere and helpful friendly staff. The water taxi takes you right up to the door of the hotel (the only way to arrive in our opinion). We had a beautiful room with a balcony, a little bit of noise in the morning from the canal but that is all part of being in Venice. Our room had stunning views along the canal to the Bridge of Sighs. Breakfast offered pastries, cold meats and cheese and a hot plate with eggs, bacon and sausages, more than adequate as we loved to go out and have elevenses at one of the 'stand up' coffee shops which are very reasonable and packed with gorgeous cakes and pastries and coffee to die for.
I have been to Venice 4 times in different hotels and The Colombina certainly ticked all our boxes, I would not hesitate to stay here again and would definitely recommend it. I look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Room 303 or 202 have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scaredcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

To me a 4 star hotel is a hotel that is consistent through out, this is not that hotel. The great reviews that are written thus far are probably by those people who stayed in the main building with the great views. Lot of these reviews don't mention the back/adjacent buildings that have no view and barely a meal that can be classified as bkfast. Chances are you will be making a booking via orbitz or a similar site. To get an experience of great reviews, you must be very specific in what room you want. Unfortunately, we were not aware of this. We were placed in the back of the building. Our bkfast consisted of one type of cheese and ham, there were no hot items, nor pastries; there were occasional ants on the table. The room was warm and since in March hotel is not allowed to turn AC on, we had to sleep with the windows open at which point we were eaten alive by the mosquitos. Over all, the sleep is not restful at all. Between the back alley noise and the birds that sound like someone is stabbing a monkey, pillows that are as flat as a board and bed that's hard as a rock, you will not be rested. The staff is friendly but almost robotic. You have to leave your key at the desk (actual key) every time you step out, which is fine until you get in and there is a family of 10 checking in, so you have to wait. Shower is small, I don't think an average male will able to fit in it. Over all location is good, as most say, close to major sites. No tea or coffee in room and if you are to ask in lobby/bar, you have to pay. This hotel may be great if you get the right room, sadly that is not what we got. If I ever find my way back to Venice, I'll be exploring a different hotel option. P.S. hotel does offer coordinating boat rides, but they don't really advertise it. Note, if you book a private tour - don't expect commentary, its literally just a boat ride on canal.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank r n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert, Louisiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This hotel was in a great location to visit St. Mark Square. It was just a few minutes walk. Gondola rides, shops, cafes, eateries were all in the area. The hotel staff were courteous and attentive. The rooms were typical European style with Venetian décor adding to the experience. The concierge was helpful with arranging tours to Murano and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank april b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights. Excellent service from highly professional and courteous staff and superb location. Our room overlooking the canal was simply wonderful. A substantial buffet breakfast was served in a beautiful dining room (which did however get extremely busy around 9am) and overall, definitely worth a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandra3622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenville, Illinois
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This was my 8th stay at the Hotel Colombina and most of the staff knows me by name. I have been returning to the Colombina for over 12 years because it is all what Venice is about: charm, romance, style, and service. It is a palace on the canal that the Bridge of Sighs is on. If you happen to have a room on the canal side you can view the Bridge of Sighs out the window. The location of this hotel is ideal. You are a 5 minute walk to St Marks Square and a 10 minute walk to the Rialto. At night it is quiet which is nice and appreciated. The rooms are appointed in classic Venetian decor and the bathrooms are marble. The breakfast is lovely, serving both cold and a few hot items. The fresh pastries are incredibly good. This is reason enough to come back to this hotel time and time again. But what really makes it wonderful is the staff. The bell man and housekeeping are very friendly and helpful, But the front staff are just incredible. Alessandro, Marco, and Paolo, just to mention a few, are ready to help you with anything you need. The fact that the accomodations and service have been excellent and consistent over 12 years is proves that this boutique hotel is truly a gem of Venice!

Room Tip: It is worth the extra cost to get a canal view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#29 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,535 reviews
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#35 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colombina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colombina

Property: Hotel Colombina
Address: Calle del Remedio - Castello 4416, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#51 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#59 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Colombina 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colombina is centrally located in the heart of Venice, just a few steps from St. Mark’s Square. The noble Venetian palace which accommodates the hotel faces one of the world’s most famous gondola serenades canal and boasts a breath-taking view on the Bridge of Sighs and the spires of San Marco Basilica. Guests can feel the elegant Venetian atmosphere, surrounded by the quietness of the city, rocked by the serenades of the gondoliers and by all the comforts of a modern hotel situated in one of, if not the most, romantic cities in the world....Locanda Remedio is the dependance of the Colombina, it is rated 3 stars and is located in an annex building just behind the Colombina Palazzo and connected via a private Venetian courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Colombina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombina Hotel Locanda Remedio
Colombina Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing