We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Colombina”
Review of Hotel Colombina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Colombina
Ranked #49 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Hotel Colombina”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Excellent location, hotel is minutes away from St Marks Square. Hotel staff could not do enough for us.
Room was perfect, large bed. Bowl of fruit in the room on arrival.
We got the public river taxi to St Marks but if you fancy splashing out you can get a private taxi straight to the hotel.
Highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We had a canal view room on the fourth floor which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewPJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,149
    487
    120
    37
    30
See reviews for
338
1,100
29
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night during our vacation in Italy. The location is excellent, 2 minutes walk to get to the St Mark' s square. We have stayed at the annex and got a very small room that was extremely disappointing from all aspects: bed size which was even smaller than a queen bed, the view that showed dirty walls and the small bathroom.The staff were nice and helpful. The breakfast was acceptable. I personally do not recommend this hotel especially that it is overpriced for the service you get.

Room Tip: Do not stay at the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ALAK29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Just returned from 3 nights in Venice and many more in other areas of Rome. This hotel was lovely, and the staff were exceptional. It's located near St. Marks Square...but far enough away that it's quiet.

Take the #2 vaporetto (taxi bus) to St. Marks Basillica.(I think it's North), it's 7E/pp with luggage. Be careful, we wasted a LOT of time trying to figure out which one of the #2s it is. Make sure to ask the ticket counter which directly as their are 2 different St Mark's drop offs. You want the one with the Dogges Palace. It should go LEFT off the dock, not RIGHT!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our one night stay at Hotel Colombina was outstanding. The hotel is clean and beautifully decorated with a most kind and helpful staff. It is but a few steps from shops, restaurants and
St. Marks square. Our room (405-ask for it) was clean and looked out over the canal leading under the "Bridge of Sighs" but we were most impressed by the private stairway leading to a private rooftop floral terrace where we enjoyed both after dinner drinks looking over the lights and rooftops of Venice but also breakfast the next morning. This was much more than we hoped for when we booked the room. We would definitely return and stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is ideally placed for a break in Venice. We chose this due to the views, and sure enough, we could see theBridge of Sighs from our bedroom window.

The hotel is elegant and beautifully appointed with first class service.

Just be sure to check the tides, and bring boots as required. Much of Venice was under two feet of water twice a day when we went.

When we revisit Venice, we will choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for one with views of the Bridge of Sighs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albrighton
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a very attractive centrally based hotel, just a short walk from St Marks Square and easy walking distance to the Rialto Bridge. We stayed 4 nights in room 407, tucked away in the roof up a short flight of stairs on the 4th floor. It was roomy and beautifully decorated in a typical Venetian style with a beamed sloping roof. The only complaint was that it was a little on the dark side as there was no overhead light just side and table lamps and the only window was fairly small and in an alcove in the corner of the room also there was no room for a stand up shower in the bathroom and you has sit in the bath and use the shower attachment. For our short stay we didn't mind but would have asked to be moved had we been staying any longer. The rest of the hotel was lovely, very comfortable, it has it's own private landing stage and it was great to arrive and leave from there by private water taxi, very grand!!! The staff were all extremely polite, friendly and very helpful throughout our stay and we would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pipandlolspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our visit to Venice was overly short as it was, so we didn't get much of a chance to explore the hotel beyond our room, but that room itself was a very nice place to wake up to the two mornings we were there.

We asked for a room overlooking the water, and we got it--if you lean out and look to the left, you can see the Bridge of Sighs past 2-3 other small bridges peppered with tourists taking pictures of the more famous bridge. Gondolas pass below you. It feels very Venetian, in the sense that Venice is just as much (if not more so) a tourist attraction than a stand-alone place. We really enjoyed that view. And it was so close to St. Mark's and all its neighboring attractions. Even the Rialto Bridge is a fairly short walk.

The interior of the room was also pleasant, very nicely done. After staying in a smaller room in Paris (5th arr), this room really felt like a place where we could relax, especially with the additional seating and the complimentary fruit bowl. Shutters over the windows helped us keep out or reduce noise while we slept. The bathroom was nice, too. Definitely didn't feel at all cheap. Like the rest of the room, it was very clean.

Finally, the staff was very friendly. My wife and I had more than one experience where someone at the front desk was attentive and genuinely engaged with providing us with excellent service. I never felt like we were an annoyance or an intrusion. I really felt welcomed.

Why not 5 stars? The internet down in the lobby cafe or whatever it was was useless, and in the rooms you have to log in and out with an account that gives you 5 hours during your stay. I didn't enjoy hassling with that. I just want to jump on and off the internet so that I can upload photos, stay in touch with people interested in my travels, and then get going again. Also, as up-to-date as the bathroom is, there is only a very narrow panel to help keep water from going out into the bathroom. I would have preferred a full sliding door or, next best, a full curtain. Instead I felt trapped behind that little panel to avoid splashing water all over the slippery floor, and I still couldn't keep the floor from getting fairly wet. Of course, I did put down the towel meant for the floor, but I tend to prefer to step out on to a dry mat from the shower. Finally, and this is a very small quibble, instructions for us clueless travelers as to how to turn on the towel heater would be nice. Obviously you can just call the front desk to have someone show you, but it is one of the little things that detract from an otherwise very smooth stay.

Most of the detractions are relatively small things, niceties I'd like to see reconsidered. I think if I'd had more time to appreciate any other amenities, and if the Wi-Fi had been less of a hassle, I would go straight for 5 stars. As it is, Hotel Colombina is likely to be our first choice of places to stay if we are able to get back to Venice for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with windows facing west, over the waterway, so you can watch the gondolas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErPr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#32 of 386 in Venice
2,308 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#31 of 386 in Venice
2,009 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#74 of 386 in Venice
985 reviews
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colombina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colombina

Property: Hotel Colombina
Address: Calle del Remedio - Castello 4416, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#51 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#59 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Colombina 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colombina is centrally located in the heart of Venice, just a few steps from St. Mark’s Square. The noble Venetian palace which accommodates the hotel faces one of the world’s most famous gondola serenades canal and boasts a breath-taking view on the Bridge of Sighs and the spires of San Marco Basilica. Guests can feel the elegant Venetian atmosphere, surrounded by the quietness of the city, rocked by the serenades of the gondoliers and by all the comforts of a modern hotel situated in one of, if not the most, romantic cities in the world....Locanda Remedio is the dependance of the Colombina, it is rated 3 stars and is located in an annex building just behind the Colombina Palazzo and connected via a private Venetian courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Colombina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombina Hotel Locanda Remedio
Colombina Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing