We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”
Review of Hotel Colombina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Colombina
Ranked #51 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our one night stay at Hotel Colombina was outstanding. The hotel is clean and beautifully decorated with a most kind and helpful staff. It is but a few steps from shops, restaurants and
St. Marks square. Our room (405-ask for it) was clean and looked out over the canal leading under the "Bridge of Sighs" but we were most impressed by the private stairway leading to a private rooftop floral terrace where we enjoyed both after dinner drinks looking over the lights and rooftops of Venice but also breakfast the next morning. This was much more than we hoped for when we booked the room. We would definitely return and stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,912)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

798 - 804 of 1,912 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is ideally placed for a break in Venice. We chose this due to the views, and sure enough, we could see theBridge of Sighs from our bedroom window.

The hotel is elegant and beautifully appointed with first class service.

Just be sure to check the tides, and bring boots as required. Much of Venice was under two feet of water twice a day when we went.

When we revisit Venice, we will choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for one with views of the Bridge of Sighs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a very attractive centrally based hotel, just a short walk from St Marks Square and easy walking distance to the Rialto Bridge. We stayed 4 nights in room 407, tucked away in the roof up a short flight of stairs on the 4th floor. It was roomy and beautifully decorated in a typical Venetian style with a beamed sloping roof. The only complaint was that it was a little on the dark side as there was no overhead light just side and table lamps and the only window was fairly small and in an alcove in the corner of the room also there was no room for a stand up shower in the bathroom and you has sit in the bath and use the shower attachment. For our short stay we didn't mind but would have asked to be moved had we been staying any longer. The rest of the hotel was lovely, very comfortable, it has it's own private landing stage and it was great to arrive and leave from there by private water taxi, very grand!!! The staff were all extremely polite, friendly and very helpful throughout our stay and we would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pipandlolspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our visit to Venice was overly short as it was, so we didn't get much of a chance to explore the hotel beyond our room, but that room itself was a very nice place to wake up to the two mornings we were there.

We asked for a room overlooking the water, and we got it--if you lean out and look to the left, you can see the Bridge of Sighs past 2-3 other small bridges peppered with tourists taking pictures of the more famous bridge. Gondolas pass below you. It feels very Venetian, in the sense that Venice is just as much (if not more so) a tourist attraction than a stand-alone place. We really enjoyed that view. And it was so close to St. Mark's and all its neighboring attractions. Even the Rialto Bridge is a fairly short walk.

The interior of the room was also pleasant, very nicely done. After staying in a smaller room in Paris (5th arr), this room really felt like a place where we could relax, especially with the additional seating and the complimentary fruit bowl. Shutters over the windows helped us keep out or reduce noise while we slept. The bathroom was nice, too. Definitely didn't feel at all cheap. Like the rest of the room, it was very clean.

Finally, the staff was very friendly. My wife and I had more than one experience where someone at the front desk was attentive and genuinely engaged with providing us with excellent service. I never felt like we were an annoyance or an intrusion. I really felt welcomed.

Why not 5 stars? The internet down in the lobby cafe or whatever it was was useless, and in the rooms you have to log in and out with an account that gives you 5 hours during your stay. I didn't enjoy hassling with that. I just want to jump on and off the internet so that I can upload photos, stay in touch with people interested in my travels, and then get going again. Also, as up-to-date as the bathroom is, there is only a very narrow panel to help keep water from going out into the bathroom. I would have preferred a full sliding door or, next best, a full curtain. Instead I felt trapped behind that little panel to avoid splashing water all over the slippery floor, and I still couldn't keep the floor from getting fairly wet. Of course, I did put down the towel meant for the floor, but I tend to prefer to step out on to a dry mat from the shower. Finally, and this is a very small quibble, instructions for us clueless travelers as to how to turn on the towel heater would be nice. Obviously you can just call the front desk to have someone show you, but it is one of the little things that detract from an otherwise very smooth stay.

Most of the detractions are relatively small things, niceties I'd like to see reconsidered. I think if I'd had more time to appreciate any other amenities, and if the Wi-Fi had been less of a hassle, I would go straight for 5 stars. As it is, Hotel Colombina is likely to be our first choice of places to stay if we are able to get back to Venice for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with windows facing west, over the waterway, so you can watch the gondolas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErPr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed three nights at this hotel during our recent tour of Italy. We booked a general 'annex' room. I was fearing this room would have no view at all, it was behind the hotel through a private courtyard. We stayed on the second floor and had a view of the little courtyard. The room was really over the top, very opulent. I have added some photos. The bathroom did have an incredibly low shower head, my husband is 6'3" and it was difficult. That being said, the room was a decent size and quality (in Italy hotel standards). Breakfast was basic and free, the annex group has their own breakfast area. Room seemed to be in a safe location, it was close to St. Marks square so that was perfect for us to walk around and enjoy the ambiance at night.

A couple things to note...you have to ask for the Wifi upon checking in, they issue it to you at the front desk. They do have a 'safe', you have to leave a deposit to actually use the safe. The staff seemed generally welcoming to use, although one night we did buy a bottle of wine and wanted to drink it in the room and we asked them for a wine opener and a couple wine glasses from the bar. They notified us that we had to return the glasses and if they had any chips at all that we would have to pay for the glasses. This was odd considering we were paying so much to stay at the hotel. The glasses were cheap, nothing special. Also, a couple days a week in the morning they have private taxis that take you to the island of Murano - this was free of charge for us (would confirm again when checking in of the cost). The taxi ride was private for us (no other couples showed up). Important note!! When you arrive on the island of Murano, a couple people will meet you on the deck and tell you that they are 'going to be giving you a tour of the glass blowing factory'. We were totally confused and didn't know if this was part of the plan that the hotel had arranged, turns out these people work at a factory on Murano and pluck unsuspecting visitors, we got a good glimpse of the factory BUT we also had to listen to an hour sales pitch about buying something from the factory (which by the way is insanely priced, I am sure it takes increible talent and patience to make but the salesman tried to sell us on a number of items, many of which started at 500 euros).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AMoodyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here for the carnival , and loved it , am looking to come back. Great location, real close to the square,.stayed with three girlfriends, and had a lovely time,
Be wise, like like locals, don't bother with the restaurants, usually pricy and poor, instead, have lunch out, , hop to the local supermarket, and snack for evening, then walk around with your own wine, stopping in to the restaurants for coffee, and perhaps a desert , thats my plan this trip

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent one night here prior to a cruise. We arrived by private water taxi at the hotels private dock. What a wonderful experience. There was no dragging our luggage down unfamiliar walkways and crossing bridges looking for our hotel. The staff was very helpful and the room had such a gorgeous view. We could look out and see all the gondolas and taxi's going by. We had a beautiful view of the Bridge of Sighs right out our window. Room 402! The hotel's location to San Marco Square was great. Even after traveling all night on airplanes and being tired we were close enough to everything that was a "must see" in Venice that we didn't miss a thing we really wanted to do on our very brief stay. Our room was spotlessly clean and well stocked with everything. Breakfast the next morning was well presented, plentiful and a good variety. Yes the price was high as some reviewers have stated but we felt we got what we paid for. Not all hotels in Venice have their own private dock. We saw many people dragging luggage over the cobblestone streets and bridges. This is a consideration that is very important to someone that may have health/physical issues and is unable to do this themselves. We will definitely stay here again if we are lucky enough to return to Venice.

Room Tip: Room 402 has excellent views of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LCF54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#35 of 385 in Venice
2,468 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#80 of 385 in Venice
1,885 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#121 of 385 in Venice
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#78 of 385 in Venice
1,038 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#89 of 385 in Venice
1,109 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colombina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colombina

Address: Calle del Remedio - Castello 4416, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#50 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#59 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $99 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Colombina 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colombina is centrally located in the heart of Venice, just a few steps from St. Mark’s Square. The noble Venetian palace which accommodates the hotel faces one of the world’s most famous gondola serenades canal and boasts a breath-taking view on the Bridge of Sighs and the spires of San Marco Basilica. Guests can feel the elegant Venetian atmosphere, surrounded by the quietness of the city, rocked by the serenades of the gondoliers and by all the comforts of a modern hotel situated in one of, if not the most, romantic cities in the world....Locanda Remedio is the dependance of the Colombina, it is rated 3 stars and is located in an annex building just behind the Colombina Palazzo and connected via a private Venetian courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Colombina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombina Hotel Locanda Remedio
Colombina Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing