We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and romantic room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Colombina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Colombina
Ranked #50 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great location and romantic room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

The hotel has a traditional venetian feel. From the small reception area, breakfast room, all the way to the rooms we stayed in. The staff was friendly and welcoming. My friends and I loved the room decor and how it was so close to the city center. We paid a very reasonable price for our room and the stay couldn't be better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WEBinHarmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,085
    464
    115
    37
    28
See reviews for
319
1,042
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We arrived at this hotel expecting to get what we paid for considering its in the centre of an amazing city. What we got was a slice of Italy. The staff we're so friendly and welcoming and we were upgraded to an amazing room! Very Italian with everything you could need. I had also requested a view when booking and i got the most amazing view! The breakfast was lovely with plenty of variety and typical European food. Hotel was a few minutes from gorgeous restaurants and st marks square. As if the upgrade and close proximity to the main attractions of Venice weren't enough the staff really make this hotel. Especially Alessandra who went out of his way to be friendly and guide us through the city and arrange our upgrade and help to the room after a long day of travelling. Wouldn't have time to write enough good things about him. Would def recommend this hotel for a trip to Venice.

Room Tip: Request your view with booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Togan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Finding a hotel in Venice which reminds you of the old world charm combined with attentive, personable service is rare. But wait ............ you are in the right place. Book at the Colombina you will be pleasantly surprised. Situated not far from the Bridge of Sighs (in the same canal), a few minutes from San Marco Square, your location is perfect. The decor move you into another era with Murano chandeliers, antique furniture, and cute balconies. There are finer touches with fruit bowls and super pillows, rooms overlooking the canals, with comfortable beds, great service, and a romantic note of the old grandeur of Venice!! The staff is wonderful, they make you feel at home, their cocktails are delectable and overall it is highly recommendable!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner/canal room. Ensure you arrive with a water taxi, it's fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MICZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Had the most amazing time here,staff extremely friendly and couldn't be more helpful.perfect location close to st marks square a 2 minute walk.you can't help but get lost in Venice it's just made up of tight little alley ways.
Took my girlfriend there to pop the question on the famous gondolas which can be arranged at reception of the hotel and to add that little extra grab yourself a bottle of prosseco to enjoy on the ride.only trouble we found was trying to find the hotel once arriving by water bus,we just kept wondering round lost haha.
Get off the water bus at San zaccaria and turn left and you will need to cross over a little bridge,as your on that bridge look to your right and you can see the hotel just in the distance.wish someone had given me this info would of saved 2 hours of looking for it.enjoy

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

The location of this hotel is great! Near St. Marco's, restaurants, shops, right on the canal. But, the hotel is a bit scruffy; needs a spiff up. Our room, 201 was nicer than the hotel common areas. Our kids were in #205 which was under the eaves, view of the service area, dark and dingy.
Breakfast was sub-standard. The service was rather unhelpful except for Thomassino at the front desk. Next time, We'll look for someplace else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ADCBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Good Hotel for Venice, although it has its drawbacks. The hotel is basically an old palace converted to a hotel. It is dated albeit in a period-theme though. It basically FEELS like Renaissance Venice so this can be a good or a bad thing depending on your perspective.

Service - Good, they did everything I asked. Concierge was available late night which was a good thing as I stumbled back through the dark streets. Breakfast was a bit of an issue as the Chef could not seem to get an Omelette done correctly. Highly encourage you to stick with Continental Breakfast and not try the menu items lol.

Price - The Hotel was a good value for its class and caliber.

Rooms - Dated in a period setting way. Old World luxury and feel although that does not always hold up to modern rooms. Bathroom was pretty cool.

Amenities - Breakfast parlor/lounge was interesting, nice for socialization. Internet worked fairly well so long as you sign up for it. The dock seemed interesting although I did not hire any boats to ferry me around so hard to comment.

Location - Good location IF you have some experience with Venice streets. Hard to find otherwise but thats true of anything in Venice, especially things not on the Palace boardwalk or Grand Canal. The street side entrance is understated - I uploaded a picture of it. The canal entrance is more impressive so for your first entry in, you may wish to consider hiring the boat.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor, ideally with a view and windows that can be opened. You will get the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dracop9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel is very handy for St. Marco's Square, the Basilica, the Doge's Palace and the Bell Tower. It's easy to find from the square and there are lots of lovely restaurants on the doorstep which is great as there are no evening meals at the hotel. Situated on the Bridge of Sighs canal, you can enjoy seeing the gondolas go by and if you're lucky hear some singing too as a bonus. The staff are friendly and professional and our upgrade offered by the travel agent gave us a lovely authentic room with walls padded with material and definitely seemed like a palazzo from years gone by. The bathroom was modern and well equipped. The breakfast had a good continental choice and also served bacon and scrambled egg. You should ask about the special trip to Murano Island to see the glass blowers and also a special gondola trip because we were told too late when we'd already been.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the canal side to watch the gondolas go by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dots122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#28 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#25 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#75 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#26 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colombina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colombina

Property: Hotel Colombina
Address: Calle del Remedio - Castello 4416, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#51 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#59 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Colombina 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colombina is centrally located in the heart of Venice, just a few steps from St. Mark’s Square. The noble Venetian palace which accommodates the hotel faces one of the world’s most famous gondola serenades canal and boasts a breath-taking view on the Bridge of Sighs and the spires of San Marco Basilica. Guests can feel the elegant Venetian atmosphere, surrounded by the quietness of the city, rocked by the serenades of the gondoliers and by all the comforts of a modern hotel situated in one of, if not the most, romantic cities in the world....Locanda Remedio is the dependance of the Colombina, it is rated 3 stars and is located in an annex building just behind the Colombina Palazzo and connected via a private Venetian courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Colombina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombina Hotel Locanda Remedio
Colombina Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing