We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Hotel Colombina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Colombina
Ranked #53 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We arrived by private boat-taxi directly to the hotel. The hotel is very well locasted. We were well received. The service was no.1, the room was large, clean and the bed super confortable. The breakfast was o.k. and we especially recommend the boat tour of Venise organise by the hotel.

Room Tip: 403 Was just perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 662Denyse662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,899)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

932 - 938 of 1,899 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

I first stayed at this hotel 30-odd years ago as a student when it was little more than a hostel and went back again on the strength of the website photos and because I knew that its location was ideal for what we wanted to do on holiday.

Boy, it has changed. Its now very comfortable and the staff, particularly the reception staff could not have been more helpful. Their first suggestion was to take a place on a motor launch/water taxi tour that the hotel had arranged for guests and that was a great way to be introduced to the city and find one's bearings. They also made wonderful suggestions (and reservations) for restaurants that you would never normally find or get into.

The location is just off the beaten path yet on the same canal as the Bridge of Sighs (our window looked out over the canal towards the Bridge) so its just behind the Doge's Palace and an exceedingly short walk to St Mark's. Really you would have difficulty finding somewhere better placed that is not besieged by hoards of tourists as soon as you step outside the door.

The room was a really good size and it was very clean (which I do not say surprised but just as a comment). I've no hesitation in recommending the Colombina highly.

Room Tip: We asked for a room overlooking the canal. It cost more but was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selkie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have stayed for 2 nights and 3 days and we were very impressed ,very nice and clean rooms , I love the hotel rooms with hard wood floor ,make us feel more comfortable to stay. perfect location and staff were very helpful. We highly recommend Hotel Colombina .

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Shauna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at the colombina hotel recently for a 4 night break and wasn,t disapointed, from the time of booking the hotel e mailed us to let us know location and information about the hotel that certainly made us feel we had made the right choice, we booked a canal view room which for the extra amount was well worth it,we were lucky enough to have room 203 which had a lovely balcony overlooking the canal, the room was imaculately clean and had nice decor, the breakfast was certainly adaquate no full english but plenty to eat! on the whole we had a lovely stay and would certainly book to stay here again.

Room Tip: pay a bit more and have a canal view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in a deluxe canal view room. The room was bigger than we expected (after reading all the reviews). It was spacious and we got a welcome fruit basket with fresh fruits.

Our room was clean and the staff is very friendly and gave great recommendations on restaurants. It's at a great location less than 5 mins away from San Marco square.

The breakfast was included and better than we expected. The coffee is soo good and the chocolate croissants were one of the best I've ever had.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book months in advance - we booked 3 months in advance and got discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

we were originally meant to stay in the sister hotel to this but due to a power failure we were transferred to this hotel. The hotel provided a private water taxi to take my wife and I to the hotel and we were delivered to the waterfront entrance, within sight of the bridge of sighs. What a bonus. The staff were courteous, friendly and an asset to the hotel, offering advise without any oversell.
The room was very nicely laid out and each evening when we came back from wandering around Venice, there was a card telling us what the weather was going to be the next day plus two sweets to enjoy. Sometimes its the little touches that make things better.
The mini bar was well stocked and didn't appear to have the super high prices that you sometimes dread in hotels.
There was free WiFi which was a nice touch but you do need to ask for it
The location of the hotel, literally just down from the bridge of sighs and a hop skip and jump from St marks square makes it ideal for visiting the big tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Very quaint hotel with a great breakfast. Our room was in the annex and was quite nice, OUr friends looked at aoom in the regular part of the hotel and said that was not as nice. Very close to St. Mark's.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#34 of 385 in Venice
2,441 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#121 of 385 in Venice
2,205 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#81 of 385 in Venice
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#79 of 385 in Venice
1,035 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#88 of 385 in Venice
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colombina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colombina

Address: Calle del Remedio - Castello 4416, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#50 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#59 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $103 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Colombina 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colombina is centrally located in the heart of Venice, just a few steps from St. Mark’s Square. The noble Venetian palace which accommodates the hotel faces one of the world’s most famous gondola serenades canal and boasts a breath-taking view on the Bridge of Sighs and the spires of San Marco Basilica. Guests can feel the elegant Venetian atmosphere, surrounded by the quietness of the city, rocked by the serenades of the gondoliers and by all the comforts of a modern hotel situated in one of, if not the most, romantic cities in the world....Locanda Remedio is the dependance of the Colombina, it is rated 3 stars and is located in an annex building just behind the Colombina Palazzo and connected via a private Venetian courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Splitty, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Colombina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombina Hotel Locanda Remedio
Colombina Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing